We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunset view with decent food”

Sunset Ammoudi Taverna
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset view with decent food”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The restaurant is located right at the water front on the western tip of Oia. You can reach the restaurant by walking down a very long flight of stairs littered with donkey excrement, or take a taxi down to Amoudi harbor. We arrived at 7:45pm, which gave us time to settle in and prepare to take in the sunset. Fantastic view! The restaurant is also nicely located right next to the crystal clear water.

We were a party of 4. As per the waiter's recommendation, we ordered grilled squid, grilled octopus, lobster spaghetti (for 2), large shrimps (1 piece per person) and grilled red snapper. We also ordered a nice bottle of white to go with the food. Total cost of dinner was 225 Euros.

The grilled squid and octopus were quite good, as was the red snapper. The lobster spaghetti was very average. Pasta was slightly overcooked, and the lobster was way overcooked. The lobster was also not fresh (probably frozen) so the texture was a bit powdery.

Lots of cats were strolling around the tables beckoning customers to feed them. If you're a cat person, then this is a plus. Else, this could be an annoyance.

At the end of dinner, our waiter treated us to a after-dinner liquor made from gun tree - which was a very interesting experience!

Otherwise, a very enjoyable dinner with good vibe in the restaurant. Go for the view, but lower your expectations of the food by a notch and you'll be happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    374
    149
    79
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great scenic restaurant at harbour, superb lamb on Easter Sunday”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had lunch at the Sunset Tavern on Easter Sunday. As many other restaurants in Santorini the Sunset Tavern was serving roasted lamb. The lamb was incredibly tasty and very reasonably priced. The restaurant was full with families celebrating Easter Sunday, a great atmosphere.
The Sunset Tavern is famous for its fresh fish, but we could not resist the traditional lamb. we will have to come back to try some fish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WJ_AMSTERDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great to have fantastic seafood and a perfect view”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and a baby boy went there for lunch and ordered only fish soup (forgot the name of menu...but fish they used was Scorpion) and a bread, and this was more than enough for us to understand that this restaurant is serving a fantastic seafood.
Staffs were very kind and they have very high service mind set.
The view from the restaurant is perfect as well....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekK923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“seriously the most awesome lobster pasta!!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

At first I was a bit skeptical about this place because I know that just because some restaurants are featured in tv shows (this was featured in giada de laurentis and oprah ate here as well) it doesn't exactly mean the food is that good. Sometimes it is just all hype. Let me tell you that this place deserves all the good reviews just for lobster spaghetti alone!!! I can't explain how fresh my gigantic lobster was and how good my pasta tasted with that light, creamy sauce with the taste of fresh oranges and herbs. Combined with the lobster the pasta was just perfect (and HUGE). The fried zucchini balls are another great dish (stuffed with feta cheese and mint). The grilled sea bream is another winner. Oh and of course and I should not forget to mention this restaurant is right by the bay with a perfect sunset view:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gaby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb - What to expect apart from "FRESH seafood" and "PERFECT taste"”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went to Sunset for 3 meals (2 lunch and 1 dinner) during 4 nights stay in Santorini. With this statement, I think it's already tell you the reason why we keep going to the same place during our stay in Santorini....

They offer you a very fresh seafood with a very good taste. I really recommend Mussel in red wine sauces and also Lobster Spaghetti.

The service is very friendly and very relax...

It meets our requirement and we really like it... even better than some 3 Michelin star in Paris.... If you are in Santorini, DON'T MISS a chance to visit this place!! You may also book a table at Sunset to watch the sunset in Santorini as well.

Cheers!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robynaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Ammoudi Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Ammoudi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing