We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium for the location”

Sunset Ammoudi Taverna
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Glos
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Premium for the location”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We'd read the reviews before going to Amoudi Bay, so sort of knew what to expect. The reality..... Absolutely lovely location well worth visiting (we quad biked it there) but food quite average once you've allowed for the premium afforded to 'fresh fish'.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roseytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    352
    136
    76
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Disappointed and let down”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

You would think that a restaurant calling itself a fish taverna would know how to cook seafood - yes? Well unfortunately this restaurant blames the over-cooking of seafood on the fact that it is frozen, not fresh. When we commented on the fact that the octopus and the shrimps were inedible the waiter responded 'but Michael Jordan had this last week and he liked it'. We also had a 1.3kg grouper fish to feed 3 in our party but unfortunately there wasn't sufficient meat on the fish and we were rather unsatisfied. The service was mediocre with one of the starters not arriving at all. When we asked for the manager we were told he was cooking and couldn't come to the table.

We paid our bill and left with a feeling of being let down. My advice is to avoid this over-priced and over-rated restaurant. Keep walking through Sunset and find yourself at a table in Dimitris restaurant where you will receive honest advice on the quality of the produce and it will be cooked to perfection for a fraction of the cost at Sunset.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oh my god oh my god”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

it was a such fantastic place with a beautiul view and the service was fast and very gentle congrats

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARHS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad food, overpriced, ripoff menu”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The waiter will try to sell you an overpriced fish by the kilo and insist its what everyone gets ($120).

The spaghetti with seafood was not fresh and taste like nothing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gakkar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Watch the Sunset first”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We decided that rather than watch the Sunset at the top of the hill where most of the crowds go, we would go to the Sunset taverna located at the bottom of the hill in Ammoudi Bay and watch the Sunset while having a meal. With a name like Sunset taverna, what better place could there be? Well actually, you don't see the Sunset from the restaurant, it is cut off by the rocks.

That said its definitely worth having a meal there after you have watched the Sunset elsewhere, or before of course. For the main course the menu is priced per Kilo, and looks incredibly expensive, but when you work out what the per person cost is, it is very good value. The food was excellent, and we even had the opportunity to choose our fish. The staff were very helpful, and we had a great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Ammoudi Taverna also viewed

 
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Sunset Ammoudi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing