We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joy means this restaurant for her rating and not the Sunset Cafe”

Sunset Ammoudi Taverna
Ranked #20 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Joy means this restaurant for her rating and not the Sunset Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Excellent fish and crustacia. A little expensive maybe but we did have the lobster and it was delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Idontbelieveit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    337
    130
    74
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wasted a dinner on this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Our hotel told us this was a great restaraunt, so I ignored my tripadvisor an decided to give it a try! I decided to walk the stairs and please, if you decide to go here, just drive! Their is poop all over the stairs from the donkeys and it is such a long walk! But when we got to the restaraunt, the waiter were very rude, ignored us 90% of the time.. The food was gross.. And way too expensive! Way way too expensive! And I'm all for spending money on food! But I was extremely mad leaving here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaylaTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Adorable spot. Everything else is just mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Came here in June 2012, had great service because I was with all of my girlfriends. All we got were drinks and they insisted that they were all on the house. I came here again in sept 2012 on my way to swim in amoudi bay and found poor/ too busy for you type of service. The food was blah. Wasn't impressed. The location is adorable , as it is right on the port in amoudi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid - Granada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming place on Amoudi´s quay with excellent fresh fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although the restaurant is really crowded, there are tables in all possible corners and it seems really touristy, the place is great.

I would not define it as a romantic place, however it was wonderful dinning by the sea, our table was literally on the edge of the quay. The place is packed with couples, groups of friends, families with children, not only tourists but also a lot of Greek people, and still the service is very good.
I found very honest that when I ordered fished, which goes by the kilogram, the weighted it and told me how much it would be before cooking it. Although this is a silly anecdote, it shows you that they are trustworthy and that they care about the service they provide. The fish was extremely fresh and the food was great.

As for price, well fresh seafood is always pricier than other things, but still I was not expensive for the quality it has.
Overall the experience was great and I think is one of the places not to be missed in Oia for the charm it has, and also for the extremely good fresh fish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place although seemed a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ended up here while looking for Tis Pandoras as reviewed on here. The location is excellent and very romantic. We had the lobster spaghetti and it was delicious, however, the price for this was 95 euros which was to share which seemed a bit expensive but could not fault the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Ammoudi Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Ammoudi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing