We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go.....”
Review of Seagull Restaurant

Seagull Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 95 Restaurants in Oia
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go.....”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

....or if you're like us and didn't do your research, then help others with an honest review.

We made the mistake of not exploring Oia further, before grabbing a table at 'Seagull as it was getting late. Big mistake. Considered moving on before we ordered, but decided a simple meal couldn't be that difficult. Big mistake #2.

Great view, prices look ok by Oia standards but virtually every part of the meal, service, and ambience was sub standard. Tacky table lamps, miniaturised tables & chairs more suitable for an early child learning centre, drably presented mains, Octopus made like rubber when it doesn't need to be, and the only restaurant dinner that had no complimentary dessert.

If you got this far, you'd say no too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    27
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The view is nice, similar to a lot of places on the same strip. We arrived just before sunset so it was quiet as it faces east. The price of the beers was reasonable, the food was not. My husband ordered the sausage appetizer (5€ for 1) I had the pork souvlaki. It was undercooked meal. The pork was undercooked and it came with a 1/8 cup of rice (if that) and a few cold fries. We also ordered pita bread that came coated in salt.
If you're just having a beer and want a nice view, this place will do. Otherwise, avoid it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views, great food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A choice of two terraces; good, varied menu and friendly staff. The perfect place to while away a few hours over lunch or dinner. I had the anchovies, which were fresh and delicious and when we returned later the same day for drinks we were greeted like old friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123Bree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband stopped by here for an afternoon drink. I had a glass of house wine and he had a large Mythos beer. Lower prices than you would find in the same area. The service was great, and the restaurant was not overcrowded as many of the others in Oia tend to be. Nice patio with great views. I would recommend for a laid back experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alirom27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views matched with great food!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hidden gem overlooking the sea with some great bonus photo opportunities. We had a very nice lunch - best Greek salad we have had all trip with some some amazing stuffed vine leaves. Couldn't fault the food or the service. Would definitely visit again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhys K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seagull Restaurant also viewed

 
Santorini, Cyclades
Oia, Santorini
 

Been to Seagull Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing