We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super view!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Hector Luxury Cave

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oia, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
devoted2t...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this one.”
Reviewed June 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Using the adjective "luxury" is ambitious in describing this apartment.  While the view is breathtaking, breath is what needs to be taken after climbing the incredibly steep stairs to the tiny portico at the front door.
The "cave" is the size of a smallish studio, so the dollar to square metre ratio for the rental is quite high. What however, does one get for this?
Certainly the aforementioned view: tremendous! However, there is a lack of privacy both from neighbours and the streams of tourists thronging along the pathway, who want to take pictures of you enjoying your 6m2 of balcony at the top of those steps. The spa pool (capacity 2) allows excellent views over the Caldera and it's hard to work up the motivation to get out and visit anything else, so great if you want an absolutely do nothing break. It's close to the popular sunset view, but don't be so foolish as to try to leave for the first hour after sunset, when the pathways resemble the Mecca pilgrimmage. There are no laundry facilities, not even a line on which to hang hand washed clothes and evidently no laundry in Oia, we were told.
Having come from a week in Positano, at a marvellous apartment in the heart of the village, I expected more than was offered at "Hector luxury cave", especially for a considerably higher rental.
The air conditioner was noisy (think small truck) and the emergency exit light was intrusive at night (we suggested the owner install a blind in the bedroom to address this). There are rudimentary facilities (sandwich maker and microwave) to prepare food.
The husband and wife housekeeping team are fantastic, lovely people for whom nothing is too much trouble.
While it was good, I did have reservations but this might have been more about the crowds and less about minor irritations with the apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Wayne,

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback that we learn from and use to improve.

I must admit I am surprised as this is the first comment regarding all those issues we have ever received (after 6 years of operation).

I can assure you that 28 steps to get to the Hector Luxury Cave is probably the minimum number of steps needed to get to most of the houses located in the old part of Oia Village caldera cliffs. This area is considered to be by most of our guests as one of the best to stay while in the island.

The Hector Luxury Cave is a 35 square meters (indoor) and this is clearly mentioned on the description of the property. A 35 square meters open plan totally renovated space in the heart of Oia Village, with an indoor and outdoor 100% private pool for 2 persons, is considerably large comparing to any honeymoon suite in a 5 star hotel in this area where the dollar to square meter ratio is considerably higher.

Oia Village is popular for its architectural uniqueness as houses are built one on top of the other. Despite this fact the Hector Luxury Cave offers undisputedly one of the highest levels of privacy in the area.

There is no laundry machine in-house something that by mistake you expected as it is not mentioned anywhere. You were very upset for that reason right after check in that is why we gave you the choice to fully refund you and find you another property that would meet your standards but you denied. Still we offered a cleaning service on a daily basis and door to door laundry service which you made use of free of any charge.

Having started this business with a strong feeling of hospitality, rest assured that my team and I will double our efforts to keep providing an exceptional holiday experience to our guests.

Best Regards

Giannis

Owner/Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loukia P
Alimos, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super view!”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recommend this vacation rental to everybody! It's heaven on earth! Best view of the world! It was the best gift I be ever done to myself!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissant...
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Best place ever!Center of oia,beautiful sunset,really kind and helpful host,gave very good advice.Relly recommend this place for your holidays!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimos R
Piraeus, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Day dreaming place to stay”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Amazing location, one of a kind view. Indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi just kicked up a notch our stay with my girlfriend. There are plenty of activities close by and Ioannis can propose some great cruises to join!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing