We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monet's Etratat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dormy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dormy House
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Monet's Etratat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel has the best view of the amazing cliff formations that Monet painted in his Manneport series and our large cheerfully decorated room had a clear view of the northern cliffs, in all lights of the day. A short walk from the garden gave access to the southern cliffs and the golf course. Breakfast has to cater for all nationalities and we thought good value with a large choice of continental, cold meats and fully cooked which included eggs and bacon. The view from all parts of the hotel is spectacular and the hydrangeas in the garden were in full bloom. A truly beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the northern cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    403
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
111
666
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Wonderful people working here ! Very caring . The view to kill for . Chef in Hotel the Dormy House for my opinion one of the best in this reigione . Highly recomend you to stay here for 5-6 days . Above one of best golf . Near by bakery .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kontin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here as a treat at the end of our holiday. We took a room views of the sea, cliffs and town. The decoration of the room is a touch traditional but it and the bed and bathroom were all spacious and comfortable.

The views were amazing and what makes the hotel worth the price. We had the best seats in the town for the Bastille day fireworks from the balcony.

Service in the bar garden was good, although the drinks are pricey - I guess you're paying for those views!

Again breakfast was pricey but a good buffet selection and nice to eat it on the terrace.

Access to the town is a few minutes down the coast path, which the hotel has its own entrance onto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was staying there during first week of May 2013 and it was very memorable experience! Hotel rates aren't cheap, but that is one of the best properties around. You are basically paying for staying at the best location. So if its romantic escape that is the place to be!
Nice atmosphere, nice restaurant, high level of service. Hotel is not new but was very well maintained. Bed was comfortable and bed linen was excellent. There is only one wish, it would be nice if they had a pool.
And sea view is amazing.
Will definitely get back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tx5880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Last stayed at Dormy house about 25 years ago. It's still an AMAZING location for a hotel, overlooking the English Channel and the chalk cliffs painted by Monet. Our room and bath were very large, with a sea & village views. It's worth a few extra Euros to get the view. The bed was very comfortable and the in-room wi-fi worked well. We also had a delicious dinner in the restaurant (with especially tasty fish soup). If in the area, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great Location but make sure you have a room with seaview. Our balcony however was almost unusable due constant water dripping from upstairs ( not rain...) Hotel rates high, but rooms by no means deluxe. Pay per view ! Breakfast overpriced. Good parking but Long way to Hotel with heavy luggage. Nice short walk down to village. Les falaises are just spectacular.

Room Tip: must have room with view - even if it costs quite a bit more - but that's what you came here for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterswiss31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent long week-end at this hotel! Ideal location, just a few minutes walk from the beach and the village. The staff is helpful and the restaurant serves good food. The view from our room was magical and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: "Directoire" rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMKA96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etretat
0.5 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Detective Hotel
Detective Hotel
#2 of 14 in Etretat
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
8.3 mi away
Le Grand Pavois Hotel
Le Grand Pavois Hotel
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy House

Property: Hotel Dormy House
Address: Route du Havre | BP2, 76790 Etretat, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Etretat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dormy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dormy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing