We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Hotel Dormy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dormy House
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and did not disappoint. We only stayed one night so did not ask for a Directoire room as last time. We had a decent view of the sea from the second floor of the new block. If you are staying longer a better room with balconies in the original building is worth it for the pleasure of sitting there with the french windows open enjoying the view. The restaurant meal was good and the restaurant more spacious now. Service, as before, is excellent and friendly. I just like the atmosphere and comfort of this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the most expensive room you can afford to get the best possible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeckledHen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Pros:
1. Huge parking space. If you're French driver -- you don't care, of course, since you can squeeze your rig almost everywhere. OK, I'm not a French driver :) and this was a pleasant surprise for me.
2. Friendly and helpful staff. They even know your room number, just looking at you (how do they do it?).
3. Great location. Absolutely. Etretat is alright by itself, but their location is just perfect: on the hill at the sea in the pine wood.
4. Great restaurant. Insane view, great cuisine, nice wine. If you stay at the hotel -- all your restaurant bills will be just added to your room bill at the checkout.
5. Rooms are nice, well-furnished and very clean. Our was with a "garden view" -- it was very good, but we're thinking about booking seaview next time :)
6. Reasonable price for the value we've got.

Cons:

Well...eh... when you're dining in the town you have to walk up the hill to get to your room. That's the only one I could think of :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Large bathroom,too. Balcony large enough to sit on and soak in the spectacular view of the sea.

Only negative was the wifi. Nearly unusable in the room and unbearably slow in public areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsternlicht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

As part of the planning we deliberately booked this hotel for the last couple of nights of our 2 week holiday touring France as we knew it would make a very relaxing end to the holiday regardless of the weather. Once again the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful - and one of them actually recoginsed us from our last visit! No mean feat when the place seems to have all rooms booked each time we are there.
The room was on the third floor in the block overlooking the garden with a sea view and was wonderfully clean and comfortable with minibar, wi-fi and room service you could stay and never move out of the room.
Whilst the food can seem a little pricey it reflects the quality and the menu at 28€ is a very fair price and the quality was the same as the more expensive a la carte items - we tried both, had to really, we were there for 2 days :)
What is also worth mentioning is the 10% discount on the room rate when you eat with them; for us this meant that breakfast was in effect a couple of euros not 16.50€.
To conclude, we have booked again for the end of our next break at the end of summer and won't regret one centime of the cost.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with a sea view are a reasonable bet with a great sea view - do ask about access as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank impsomewhaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I came back again with my wife this spring to this excellent hotel, and I can say that I still stand by the previous review I made in 2007. We did not dine at the restaurant, since I was not impressed by it last time. We could not connect to the wi-fi from our room, this is a feature that was not offered back in 2007. We did not bother with the techy stuff since we are only there for 1 night and did not want to waste our time with trivial details. I will come back again. I noticed also that the quality of the provided toiletries is of a much better quality.

Room Tip: This time I have room 51, the view of Etretat and the cliffs is very good, but room 54, which I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takotak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is a top class hotel for Etretat. Best place to be in order to enjoy the view from your room in the evening with a nice glass of champagne or wine.... up the hill in front of the Chapel Notre dame de la garde and the cliffs

Room Tip: We had room 77 - 2nd floor end of hall left handside - This room was really the best ever fro me in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valouveuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel overlooking the cliffs and the town - as another reviewer mentioned, the views alone are worth the stay. I would agree. We reserved late and had to 'settle' for a suite and but are so glad we did. It was spacious, well-appointed, had a large bathroom and two (not one) balconies: one overlooking the city/beach of Etretat and the other looking out over the entry courtyard. If we return to Etretat, we will want to book that same room. Dinner was just 'ok', but again, the views afforded in the dining room kind of made up for it. We ventured into Etretat for dinner the second night of our stay and had an excellent meal. Unlike other reviewers, we found the breakfast to be outstanding - it offered a lot of choice. Overall: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etretat
0.5 mi away
Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair
0.3 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Detective Hotel
Detective Hotel
#3 of 14 in Etretat
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy House

Address: 2 route du Havre | Bp2, 76790 Etretat, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
#1 Romantic Hotel in Etretat
Price Range: $142 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dormy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dormy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing