We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to the location, 4 stars”
Review of Hotel Dormy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dormy House
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were not disappointed by the location - perched on a hilltop overlooking the chalk cliffs of Etretat. Plenty of parking was an added bonus. As we played golf, being able to walk to the course was super. The reception staff were friendly. Our room, a superior view room, was quiet enough and well furnished - in fact, too much furniture was in the room, making it a little hard to get around at times. The bathroom was modern, but small and a little strange with an open shower which made everything wet if you didn't watch out. The wi fi did not work in our room despite many efforts on our behalf. We could either sit at the reception or in the bar (sometimes). The garden was a wonderful place to sit after a day of sightseeing ... really great. All in all, the hotel is constrained by its age - they make the best of it and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZurichKashew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've been to many many hotels and I was so surprised by the extreme kindness of the total team; from reception to breakfast, to dinner, to... They are so extremely kind

The room with view on the sea and rocks is nice and rooms are clean. Rooms are in the style of the hotel and quite typical

Hotel is little walk to the beach and has got great view.

A little more variety of fruit and availability of furniture would be nice for the breakfast. Quite small place for breakfast and disposal of tables and food when you are sitting outside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000eric000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location is great, very close to the beach,and the view from the terrace is beautiful.
The staff is very friendly. The bedroom was big and clean. Free parking.
I would recommand this hotel for the view and the location. But I would not recommand to have breakfats there, it is quite expensive for industrial bread and cheese and yogurts from the supermarket, we expected at least a home made cakes and fresh juices.... The only nice thing for the breakfast is the view from the terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Without doubt, the most spectacular view in Etratat. Service levels and friendliness of staff, commendable. Facilities, rooms, cleanliness, no complaints. However, the elegant restaurant with a view on the coastline to die for, did not live up to my expectations. For the capital outlay, the food was slightly under par. We had a seafood plate where the crustaceans were, to say the least, a bit on the watery and tasteless side. Our main courses again comprised of fish and could have been enhanced by freshness and a little creativity on the presentation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djcfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Pros:
Excellent location with view overlooking Etretat and its cliffs
Easy access to the town
Free parking
Cons:
The facility has seen better days,bedroom is small,bathroom exiguous,toilet an afterthought.
The restaurant has the view but little else to recommend.Staff is on edge and impersonal,food is bland and overpriced.For instance the seafood platter included shrimps that were soggy and disintegrating.
The low point is the wifi that is supposed to work in the rooms but actually does not,an infuriating experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel has a great location with beautiful views over Etretat and the ocean. All rooms have ocean views and are relatively large, although with pretty basic decor. The restaurant also provides great views but the food and service are poor. I would stay at this hotel again but dine somewhere in the town instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daneintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Monet's famous Impressionist paintings brought us to Etretat, and this was obviously the hotel to stay at. Sited above the town, it is perfectly situated with wonderful views. In fact the hotel consists of three separate buildings which look as if they were constructed at different times. We were in one of the newer ones, whilst the main dining room was in the original building. A separate dining room, in our building, was used for breakfast. We were slightly disappointed not to have our own balcony but nevertheless from our bedroom window we had the same view as the rooms with balconies. The room itself was very clean and comfortable although not enormous. Round the back there was a big lawn with deck-chairs.

We only stayed one night and can recommend dinner in the hotel. The standard was high, with several different menu options. Service was very efficient although neither myself or my wife could understand a single word from our waitress, and unlike others on our week's tour of Normandy, she made no effort to break into English to help us out. As for breakfast, that was fine, with plenty to choose from the buffet. If it had been warmer we could have eaten it on the terrace in front.

However, the highlight of the stay was the walk on the cliffs. I recommend that in the afternoon you ascend the west cliff and go as far as the second headland. You will see the two arches that Monet painted, and also the afternoon sun on the town, the beach and the east cliff. The following morning we ascended the east cliff and saw the morning sun on the west cliff. I hasten to add that we were very lucky with the sunshine!

Room Tip: Demand a room with a view, otherwise there is not much point in staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etretat
0.5 mi away
Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair
0.3 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Detective Hotel
Detective Hotel
#3 of 14 in Etretat
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy House

Address: 2 route du Havre | Bp2, 76790 Etretat, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Etretat
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Etretat
Price Range: $142 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy House 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dormy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dormy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing