We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea view balcony expensive, but worth it.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Etretat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant le Corsaire
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'm cheap and wanted to stay in The Detective or the Salamandre, both look really cool. Wife loves the ocean views and I (stupidly?) asked her which of the 3 she preferred. So we booked two nights on a seaview balcony for 412eur, ouch!

Arrived around 1400h on a Friday afternoon in July. First note - there's not much parking in Etretat! Hotel has a little 15min loading area just outside which was empty for us, good thing, too. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful; I did all the check-in in French, then my wife arrived with a bag and the receptionist whipped out some perfect English - like good enough English I suspect it was her first language! That was good to know. Anyway, she also hooked me up with a good map & areas to hunt for a free parking space. After two laps of the town (no fun in a giant Honda Odyssey with tourists wandering blindly in the street taking pictures and shopping and trying hard to get run over) I scored a free spot! Pay parking was only good for 5 hours, and there were parking inspectors everywhere.

Back to the hotel - our room was AWESOME! Big balcony, room for 2-3 chairs out there. Views of both arches. Big 4-poster bed with those white netting things draped all over it. giant jacuzzi tub (which was really loud). Comfortable pull-out couch for junior.

I have to admit, I immensely enjoyed watching the last hour of the Tour de France in the room, sipping a glass of wine and glancing out the window at the arch from time to time; very cool.

Breakfast was a minimal continental, nothing special to say, huge cup of coffee.

Check-out was easy at the desk, not so easy with the car; had to double-park for the upload, as all the spaces in the 15 min zone were occupied, and for a lot longer than 15 min!

If you go, try for room 14; according to the fire escape blueprints, it's the biggest room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant le Corsaire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

I want expecting much to be honest. At 80€ a night for a double looking over the town not the sea. It had 2 stars and don't feature much in searches. But I was desperate and had to book. Lovely clean room with a surprisingly nice view over the town. All recently renovated with wonderful hot showers. Breakfast is yr usual croissant and coffee.

I arrived minus an iPhone charger so Nathan on the desk kindly went home and got his. What a great guy. If you want to know about buses or trains from fieppe let me know as I found no info on the web

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Charming hotel with local flavor. We booked 2 rooms, one with sea view (window, 3rd floor), that we stayed in, and one with sea view (balcony, 2nd floor) that our friends stayed in (only one balcony was available when I booked). Our room was just fine and cute but theirs was beautiful with the balcony and fancier bed. But the important thing is that in either case you can open the window to get the fresh sea air and really loud crashing of waves, which for us means great sleep. And an amazing view of the cliffs. Only problem was you couldn't open the windows until after dark because of gnats outside the window--I guess gnats go to bed at dusk. Oh, and the fancy jetted bathtub does a loud 5-minute self-clean cycle whenever it feels like it (before, during or after your shower). The very nice young man who checked us in explained that it did this after use, but I assumed that meant after using the jetted tub, not the shower. Like all hotels in Europe I missed having a top sheet, wash cloths and a curtain or wall around the shower/tub to keep in the spray, but ultimately not a big deal. Note to people with limited mobility: you will have to walk and carry bags up/down multiple flights of stairs--no elevator. Make sure you get wifi instructions before the desk people leave for the night. The very pleasant lady at the desk during the day didn't speak English but she used a translation tool on the web so it was not an issue when my rusty French failed. Great breakfast included with our booking---typical croissants, baguette, butter, jam, juice and coffee.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, with balcony. Room on the 3rd floor with just a dormer window was really warm i...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC_in_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank patrilo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Kaddar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank AlbericBarbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: je n'ai pas logé dans cet hôtel.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andrem461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etretat hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Falaises
Hotel des Falaises
#7 of 14 in Etretat
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Residence Manoir De La Salamandre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant le Corsaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant le Corsaire

Address: Front de Mer, 76790 Etretat, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Price Range: $151 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 17 chambres dont 11 ont une vue sur mer et les falaises d'Etretat, situé au milieu de la baie, à proximité du Casino. vous bénéficierez d'une vue exceptionnelle sur la falaise d'aval et sa célèbre aiguille ainsi que sur la falaise d'amont et sa chapelle des marins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing