We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a quiet area”
Review of Dormy House

Dormy House
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a quiet area”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel and found both the hotel and the situation in top. The restaurant is very good and has a magnificent view over the cliffs and the ocean.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneSofieBille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    151
    70
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cuisine and view”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Everything was just good. We had a seat next to the window and enjoyed the view all the time! Eat was fresh and agreeable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went to Dormy House last Friday night (20th April 2012) on the strength of the recommendation in our Footprint Guidebook, which suggested that the restaurant offered fine dining, accompanied by spectacular views onto the coast of Etretat. The perfect combination, we thought, for the last night of our Easter break. It is true that the restaurant, which enjoys a commanding position on the edge of the Etretat cliffs, offers spectacular views if you are lucky enough to be seated in one of the four or five tables directly overlooking the bay (we were not, although we did have a "window seat", looking onto part of the bay in one direction and the town in the other).

As to fine dining, the prices certainly suggest that it should be. The menus corroborate this: there is a choice of three "gourmet" menus, starting at 48 euros (the Maupassant option) and climbing to 75 or so euros (the "degustation" option), with a menu in between at around 58 euros. Some of the reviews on this website tend to support this view. Do not be deceived. Appearances can be extremely misleading.

We opted for the four course Maupassant menu, which gave us an entree, main course, cheese and dessert. I started with oysters, followed this with a main course of a feuillete of lobster and prawn, and finished with cheese and a tarte tatin. My wife had fish soup, monkfish, cheese (with salad) and the dome de chocolat for dessert.

The quality of the food was, almost without exception, a massive disappointment. None of the dishes came anywhere close to "fine dining" standard. Even the oysters, which are difficult to get wrong, were gritty and ordinary. My wife's fish soup was a straightforward bisque without any fish pieces. Both main courses were poorly presented (the impression being of food shoved on the plate, rather than anything else) and suffered from a severe lack of seasoning. The lobster was chewy and had not been properly prepared. The puddings were extremely bland and would have disgraced a humble bistrot. All in all, a huge letdown.

The service was generally very poor. We were not asked to try the wine and our glasses were only topped up on one occasion (I would expect both to be a matter of course in a restaurant of this alleged "quality"). In addition, we had to wait 45 minutes for our cheese to arrive after the main course and only then once we had prompted the waiting staff, when it was possible to catch their generally averted eyes. As for the cheese itself, the waitress had no idea what the cheeses were (aside from the obvious trio of Camembert, Livarot and Pont L'Eveque) or how to serve them, dropping the knife whilst she was doing so. Quite frankly, it was embarrassing.

The meal for two came to the grand total of 175 euros (including a bottle of wine, two champagne aperitifs and coffee). When I expressed my disappointment to the waiting staff and told them I was not prepared to pay that sum, they did not seek to apologise or offer any explanation; however, they immediately agreed to remove the aperitifs and coffee from the final total. Their readiness to do so suggested to me that they were not unused to this type of complaint and lacked either the will or inclination to defend the indefensible.

The Hotel Dormy has a superb location which deserves a first rate chef. At present, however, the standard of the food and service is an embarrassment to that location. The emphasis appears to be on "bums on seats" with quality and service hardly entering the equation. Like many hotel restaurants, it would appear that it can get away with it because the guests staying in the hotel (which we were not) are a captive market.

However seductive the views from the restaurant, I have no hesitation in urging you to dine elswhere in Etretat. On our other night in the town, we had a very good bistrot style meal at Le Clos Lupin at a much lower price. Go there and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmcphar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a surprise!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great place to chill out... very nice appointed rooms with a nice sea view. The only set back is service during dinner as France is considered goument gastronomy destination.
Otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome DORMY”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Went to the DORMY house for lunch, and I am kind of speechless both about the quality of food and views..
In my experience gnerally panoramic restaurants do not offer very good food, but the DORMY is different......
Awesome views and awesome food...
Had a typical three course French meal and rounded it off with a selection od cheese and coffee..... Splendid
The weather was good and it added to the whole experience. After the meal we went. Out for a walk to the cliffs of eterat, and it offered the perfect postcard views that you would associate Normandy with..
Vertical cliffs meeting the sea and a rolling green golf course on the other side...breathtakingly beautiful..
I guess regular ferry/ cruise liner tourist to le havre would have to make a huge effort to come here, but in my opinion- they would be suitably rewarded by the treat that awaits them
On a personal note - I am a vegetarian (no sea food too) and the restaurant made a very nice effort to accommodate me.
Cheers

  • Visited November 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dormy House also viewed

Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing