We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detective Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Detective Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed overnight at this hotel and found it very convenient for exploring the town and its unique cliff side areas. We stayed in the Sherlock Holmes room and it was very charming....my only negative would be if you are staying for a longer period of time.....there is absolutely no storage in the room or closet to keep anything in.....the owners obviously take great pride in their establishment and it is reflected in the cleanliness and charm of the hotel. Parking is available very reasonably in a garage next door.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurolady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    190
    55
    23
    6
See reviews for
59
261
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Friendly, informative and highly original. Our car was saftely stored in a garage next door (for 5 euros if there's space) and the rooms are clean, basic, but very amusing. We stayed in the Columbo room, and there was a brown mac in the wardrobe, a humidor on the bedside table and a cusion with a bloodhound on it....! all other rooms apeared equally equipped for each character.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvelines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in late April 09. We were greeted by the lady behind the desk with a big smile and she was even kind enough to find a space somewhere in the garden for our bikes.

The hotel is very quaint and authentic as it seems to be in what used to be a big house with a large indoor wooden staircase that leads from the ground floor though the hotel. The room we had booked was the Sherlock Holmes Room. It's a decent sized room for two with a HUGE bed! I understand each room is decorated within the detective/investigative theme and it works really really well. Ours was excellent, especially when I realised there was a 'hidden' bathroom. HOW COOL!!!

The other fantastic thing about this hotel is the café/lounge/bar on the ground floor where there are heaps of books (including many detective stories/comics) about everything and even board games which you can use for free (within the café's premises) while sipping a cup of tea of a refreshment (which you pay for - reasonably priced). It makes for a great place to chill out in between outings or even at night. Also the hotel has free wireless internet.

The owner's are adorable and will happily chat to you energetically. The entousiasm they show towards their hotel is endearing and uplifting.

I have only two 'negative' things to say:
-->The rooms are very close together and the walls are thin. So sleep-ins can be a bit noisy...
--> one should be able to get internet access from the café but it didn't seem to work and we could only get the signal from the 'breakfast room' which is much less cosy.

Apart from that I can assuredly say that the hotel was a big part in our trip being so pleasant. It's only 3 min walking distance from the beach and closed to all amenities and shops! We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterflygirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Nothing phenomenal about this hotel, at first glance, but was not at all disappointed. Very clean and decently sized rooms, tiny bathroom (but suited me just fine) and a very nice lounge with a bar and good collection of books and board games to keep yourself occupied. Felt like a safe place for a solo woman traveler, and Noel, the manager/owner was very helpful. Buffet breakfast was great - fresh croissants, baguettes, breads, cold cuts, juices, tea, coffee, et al. Paid 118 Euro for two nights (excluding breakfast) which was very reasonable. There is no assigned parking, but they arranged for a spot in the neighbouring garage (owned by the manager's friend) for 5 Euro per day. Within half a minutes walk from the cliffs / beach, and with Le Havre, Honfleur within 25 miles driving distance, I thought this hotel was an ideal base for the budget traveler not expecting too many frills / opulence.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeandLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Etretat hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassadeur Hotel
Ambassadeur Hotel
#6 of 14 in Etretat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre Etretat
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
Hotel Le Rayon Vert
#5 of 14 in Etretat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Windsor Hotel
New Windsor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Etretat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detective Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detective Hotel

Property: Detective Hotel
Address: 6 avenue George V, 76790 Etretat, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Etretat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Etretat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Detective Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mystery of the hotel The chairs were comfortable well be the most welcoming host, a vague apprehension pincer visitors who took the risk to book a room at Hotel Detective . Dim light , dark corridors and creaking floors . Wall , a steel plate shredded shot rocket launcher sets the tone in a setting worthy of a film noir. The country of Arsene Lupin , the ghosts lurking . Miss Marple and Sherlock Holmes Charlie 's Angels Ladies, all the great names of literature the crime series have left here trace of their passage and even hidden in some room some bumps and smaller surveys that must be resolved before you can rest soundly . So open the eye and play finesse ! And needless to slip away , the handcuffs are never far away and the boss is an old fingerprint expert of the Institute of Criminal Research of the National Gendarmerie . Credit text Seine-Maritime Mag # 86 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Detective Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing