We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place to stay while touring Normandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I so much want to give the chateau 5 stars, but I just can't. Driving down the old-world drive and pulling up in front of the centuries old chateau, I thought we had picked the perfect home base for our family of four while touring the D-Day beaches. Check in was easy, but hauling our suitcases up the narrow spiral staircase to the third floor tower family room was not. Don't get me wrong, I love the tower stairs, it just might be great to get some help from someone working at the chateau to bring everything up to our room. Speaking of our room, it is a charming room with a four post bed, a table with chairs set under a small tower window and a second small room with two twin beds and a spacious sky light window that opens up to the beautiful grounds of the property. That said, the bedding was extremely old and very tired. The large bed was comfortable enough, but the musty smell was not very comforting. As mentioned in other posts, there are spider webs and dead (and live) bugs in the window sills and corners of the room. The floor coverings placed over the tile floor have seen better days, and I decided to wear flip flops around the room. The kids' room was a bit dirtier than ours. The pink pillows that my son immediately moved off his bed where very old and dusty. They should not have been on the bed or in the room for that matter. The bathroom was cute, but not very practical. The sunken tub with shower head was hard to use without getting the bathroom all wet. While the website says there is wireless, there is not wireless in the tower. Our breakfast was not on time (we were trying to make an early D-Day tour time), and it seemed that it might have been sitting out all night-croissants a bit stale. We did have a wonderful experience at the restaurant! The food was great and our waitress made our night! She did not speak English, but between my sons' French and Google translator, we learned and laughed a lot while enjoying our dinner. If it were not for our restaurant experience, my service rating would be a 1. The chateau has so much potential! I hope the owners will read these posts and make a few needed service and facility changes (without taking away the historic, chateau charm-really a good clean and new bedding would be a great start) and then, this could easily be a five star chateau!

Room Tip: Ask to see available rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idontwant2gohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 129 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had a lovely stay here. We weren't sure what we were going to get when we drove through the town but as soon as we came to the turning and went down the track we could sense that this was going to be a gem and one of the oldest places we've stayed in.
We had one of the little rooms at the top of the chateau and we went through a crooked passageway to get to our bathroom in the tower. A very sweet bathroom indeed with a view out to the courtyard. The restaurant was fantastic! We had such a good meal which we're still talking about now. The pain perdu was the best we've ever had! And the service was first class. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

My husband and I found Hotel Chateau d'Agneaux online when we were planning a trip to Paris and Normandy last year. The experience was wonderful - Normandy is beautiful, and has such a fascinating history. The hotel itself is really cool - You are staying in a castle! Our room was spacious, with beautiful, unique details. There are free bikes, which you can ride down a lovely path by the river (my husband proposed in a particularly scenic spot by the river) and there are lots of delightful animals out grazing. The restaurant was very good - we were the only ones there, so it was definitely romantic. We had dinner and then breakfast the next day. The staff was very nice and extremely accommodating. I've been meaning to share my review since I visited over a year ago, but just hadn't gotten around to it.

I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants a unique experience in a peaceful setting. It isn't too close to a booming metropolis, so if you are looking for a lot of action, this probably isn't your place. But it was one of the better hotel experiences I've had anywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffanyjamielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We booked a room for 7 nights, on arrival we were met by this beautiful chateau, at that point we thought that we had made a good choice . We went to the reception to book in but there was nobody at the desk, after walking over gravel to the restaurant we found a waiter who was very helpful and pointed us in the right direction to a office next to the restaurant.
When we entered the office it was empty and we waited for approx 15 minutes before the owner arrived, he took our booking details and spent about another 10 minutes finding a room for us?.
The owner then took us to the chateau and up a winding staircase, the further we got the more dangerous it became, we came to the last section of the stairs and there was no handrail which was a struggle when carrying a suitcase, health and safety does not appear to exist in this establishment.
Now lets come to room number 7, we entered the room and the owner proudly shown us round the dusty and dirty bedroom, he then took us through to the bathroom which also was dirty and full of flys, there were dead ones on the floor and live ones on the windows, we expressed our concerns and were led to believe that the rooms would be cleaned, this never happened, also there were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, this at times was very inconvenient as you had to walk over to the restaurant for any drinks.
We visited the restaurant on two occasions, once for dinner which was excellent and once for breakfast which was terrible and not what we had pre-odered, we tried to explain to the waitress that we had ordered champagne and oysters but ended up with ham,cheese and toast, both of the meals were very expensive.
After three days we decided that enough was enough, we approached the owner and told him we were checking out, he said that would have to pay for another three days, he somehow thought he was doing us a favour?, after a lengthy discussion we agreed on five days in total, however we refused to pay for the breakfast.
After the five days were up we moved on to another hotel which was far superior and a lot cheaper.
Chateau d'Agneaux could be a fantastic hotel, it needs more facilities a complete refurb and some love and attention, also there was no lounge bar area where you could relax with a bottle of wine etc.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuddlyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The tower room was up 3 flights of uneven circular stairs--a definite safety hazard. The room itself was dark and dirty with spider webs and flies throughout and no decoration except old wallpaper and nails. It amy have been OK in the 19th centurey. The small bathroomhad a sunken tub that was difficult to get into and use. The staff was not helful; impertinent and hard to find. They ddidn't seem to care about clients. The restaurant on the other hand had excellent fod.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrusselsTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

The good:
- Beautiful buildings and grounds. The view from our windows was very nice. The buildings themselves are worthy of a photo shoot.
- The staff - ...was very nice and cared very much for their property and guests.
- The food - ...was good in the restaurant.
- Free wireless internet in most buildings (but not in "the tower").

The not so good:
- Almost no English
- Bizarre check-in process - Despite having a reservation and arriving at 5:00 PM, they would not let us check in till the one English-speaker arrived at 6:30. One of our group spoke French but that did not suffice. The girl seemed so afraid of making a mistake, she made us wait till her colleague arrived.
- Not all rooms are worth it. We saw three rooms which were iffy till we said, "Show us your best room". It was very large and comfortable with great views but some of the first three rooms were rather bare, simple and dark. A little depressing actually. But the difference in cost between the rooms was neglible (<50 euros) so our advice is to get the best room available.

Overall:
It was a very pleasurable and memorable stay. I don't think I'll forget it and I'd recommend it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scotthornsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We found the whole exprience very enjoyable and food to die for. The owner a true french gentleman did not speak a word of english ,but hey I dont see many not speaking my mother tongue language Hindi too !!!!

St Lo which is not far from the Chateu is a bustling town with a few cafes around the rotunda.

I do hope the new owners keep the character and the charm as we may be visting again.

Lastly I would give an arm and leg to be on the holy and sacred day the 6th of June and not whinge about the curtains

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agneaux
3.0 mi away
Chateau de la Roque
Chateau de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Hebecrevon
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Saint Lo Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
#4 of 8 in Saint-Lo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
#2 of 8 in Saint-Lo
198 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Saint Lo La Chevalerie
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Cremaillere
Hotel La Cremaillere
#6 of 8 in Saint-Lo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux

Address: Avenue Sainte Marie, 50180 Agneaux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Agneaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agneaux
Price Range: $123 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurants du Chateau d'Agneaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing