We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resting on its laurels .Eat somewhere else”
Review of La Lozerette

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cocures
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Lozerette
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocures
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“resting on its laurels .Eat somewhere else”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

we stayed two nights including a Tuesday night when the restaurant is open only to residents and only for a fixed menu. The dinner was gracelessly served and truly dreadful.The second night we gave it a second chance and were only barely more satisfied. Pity because itais a charming dining room but our impression was that that theer was little culinary skill in the kitchen and the menus were dull, dishes poorly executed and prices simply too high. We were two couples both of whom spend many months a year in Provence and the Auvergne in our secondary homes .
The bedrooms were small but comfortable and clean though not particularly charming.
Disappointing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digby190408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    64
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
112
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brentwood
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed here for 1 night on a monday, it had about 20 people staying there, it would appear that most stay there for the walking. it is in a very, very quiet village , no other hotels / restaurants or bars.

room was very small, clean and a small balcony. we had dinner in the restaurant, they have 3 menus, all very alike, just differant tariffs, and the choice limited, but that may ensure that what they have is fresh. But the wine list is very extensive by comparison. food and service was very good, and the cheese board was one of the best.

the Hotel was a bit out of our way, but friendly and good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: ask for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Having decided on a whim to head to France for a week, exploring the Massif Central, we looked around for options just outside Florac, so we could explore the Cevennes.

We arrived at the hotel and they could not have been more welcoming - despite no reservation they were able to find us a room for four nights, and we loved every minute. The service is second to none and the food was absolutely delicious, without fail - and the most impressive wine list we had seen! The cheeseboard was the stuff that dreams are made of!

All the staff were unfailingly polite and friendly, always willing to help and offer advice - and French lessons! We will definitely be returning, I hope sooner rather than later. First Class.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the back with the balcony overlooking the little town - gorgeous views u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Smart, comfortable country hotel presided over by the redoubtable Pierette Agulhon, whose family have run the business for three generations.

The rooms are comfortable and cosy with decent showers and copious cushions, but the main attraction is the salubrious restaurant where fine meals are served amid much 'ceremonial' shuffling of plates and glasses. Goats cheese, and cheese in general, seems to crop up frequently in the cooking, and there's a magnificent cheese board to tantalise you for dessert. Sadly, the splendid 'fromages' are only served to you in modest portions.

My only real complaint would be the rather mean breakfast... A 2 Euro supplement is payable if you want to augment the standard ration of toast with anything as fanciful as a bowl of cereal. Everywhere else we've ever stayed in France, cornflakes are a basic entitlement rather than a chargeable luxury! It also seems a little bizarre that orders for breakfast coffee are taken the night before. On the plus side, the selection of breakfast jams is excellent.

The hotel has a pleasant garden across the road, with tables, chairs and a topiary donkey. A few yards further up the road is a short steep path up to a lovely viewpoint overlooking a river gorge.

La Lozerette is set in fine walking country made famous by Robert Louis Stevenson, and offers its own four or five-night rambling packages. The walk to the west down the river to the charming nearby town of Florac is recommended, as is the long but rewarding ridge walk from Le-Pont-de-Montvert along the GR70.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

La Lozerette is a very well run small hotel in a village just outside Florac. We were made to feel very welcome by Mme Agulhon. Our well-equipped family room was a decent size with a sofa bed for our son and a pleasant balcony overlooking Cocures.

The restaurant is deservedly popular, and the staff were very helpful and patient in their explanations of the menu and extensive wine list. The excellent cheeseboard was a particular highlight.

Breakfast was similarly efficient and pleasant - including a choice of three different types of hot chocolate which we had to pre-order the night before.

A really nice stay - a typical French provincial hotel at its best. We hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very pleasant village hotel a few minutes drive from Florac. Very small room 'The Stevenson' but quite adequate, very clean for an overnight stay and a little balcony for a sunset/sunrise view to the hills. The dinner was quite superb, service terrific especially from 'Miranda' who was spot on. The wine list very extensive, if little pricey, but some fine wines to select from. We treated ourselves to an Alain Chabanord Alouette 2007 (apologies if the spelling not perfect) and relished every sip.

Great to have safe car parking at the rear. Only slight downside was the breakfast, sparse at 10 euros pp, but the honey was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent a wonderful few days walking in The Cevennes (but not with a donkey). We felt very looked after by Pierette's attentive & impressive staff team in her characterful little hotel. Our room was compact but comfortable. The food was excellent & outstandingly supported by Pierette's carefully chosen wine list that will suit all tastes & pockets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badge60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocures
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Parc
Grand Hotel Du Parc
#3 of 3 in Florac
138 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
#1 of 8 in Meyrueis
224 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Tarn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#2 of 8 in Meyrueis
476 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Les Vignes Rouges
Hotel Les Vignes Rouges
#1 of 1 in Ispagnac
35 reviews
20.4 mi away
Manoir de Montesquiou
Manoir de Montesquiou
#1 of 1 in La Malene
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lozerette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lozerette

Property: La Lozerette
Address: 48400 Cocures, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Cocures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Cévennes La Lozerette is in harmony with nature and participates in the Charter of Sustainable Tourism. This attractive house will give you a pleasant surprise with the refinement and comfort of its rooms, all designed to create a warm atmosphere in tune with nature. For three generations, this residence has been offering travellers a warm welcome and hospitality during their stays for relaxation and discovery. Insn't it true that good adresses always have a family ? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lozerette Cocures
La Lozerette Lozere/Cocures, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing