We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical wedding”
Review of Domaine des Clos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine des Clos
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Our two extended families and numerous friends based ourselves at the Domaine des Clos for our daughter's wedding in Arles. The Domaine Des Clos was perfect - lots of really well appointed apartments for family staying for the week and delightful gardens and orchards to wander in. Each apartment was individually decorated in different but always chique provencal style. B&B accommodation for our weekend guests was equally tasteful. Breakfasts were delicious - the various bread with homemade jams were to die for! Most evenings we ate outside in one of the covered areas - perfect for communal family dining. But on one evening we booked ourselves 'en famille' to for one of Sandrine's provencal evening meals - what a treat!
The lead-up to any wedding is inevitably stressful, but Sandrine and David went out of their way to ensure ours was as stress-less as possible, attending to all our needs and requests, including letting us pick olive twigs from the olive groves for serviette decorations! Nothing, but nothing, was too much trouble. The beautician organised by Sandrine, though a bit pricey, expertly painted our nails while a local hairdresser came and performed his coiffure magic superbly outside under one of the covered areas - how romantic is that?
My daughter and son-in-law had the wedding of their dreams - helped in no small measure by the picturesque Domaine des Clos and the professional, attentive hosts Sandrine and David.

Room Tip: Rooms with air conditioning or on the ground floor are best in the heat of August!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Domaine des Clos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 201 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

Coming from Melbourne, Australia one could only hope that the accommodation was good and the service was of a good standard, after such long travels. We had NOTHING to worry about. This mas is ideal for families (single parent, two teenage kids) - we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived, we were greeted with a warm and friendly smile from all staff, and even lillte Daisy the soccer playing dog was happy to see us. The rooms we stayed in were ideal, and the shared living/reading room was wonderful for quiet reflection or time to use the WIFI. Breakfasts in the large dining room were perfect for us with a great selection of foods...Sandrine and David were wonderful, wonderful hosts, and their teenage children well mannered and interested in understanding the Australian lifestyle. Location is excellent - you MUST have a car, but it is easy to get around for day trips - anywhere from Avignon, to the north, or south to the coast. We couldn't have asked for better weather 26-28 C every day in early October, and NO MOSQUITOES. We swam in the pool each day. Garden setting is superb, with orchards and olive trees surrounding the property. We had wonderful chats with other guests from all over the world.
My 15 yo son wants to return next year and work there!!! That's a pretty good rap!! Merci a Sandrine et David, et bon chance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmullins5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent a week self-catering in the Pigonnnier apartment and it ticked all the boxes for us. The setting was beautiful; Sandrine and David were welcoming and professional in their approach. We particularly enjoyed the Monday evening meal in the dining room where many families of different nationalities sat down to eat a lovely meal together. We were surprised by some of the more critical reviews as we really enjoyed our stay here. Better cooking knives would have been good and a communal washing machine would have been great but this is quite picky ! We found it an excellent base for exploring the area, visiting Avignon ( Fabulous), Nimes, Arles and the Pont du Gard from here. Both Avignon and Nimes can be reached by train from Tarascon and this took the strain out of the driving/ parking in unfamiliar towns. The Carrefour in Beaucaire provided more than adequate for everday shopping. We did not experience any more problems with mosquitos here than in other places in the area - if anything it was worse in other places. We'd happily go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midtermers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

After travelling through Provence, visiting one village and city after another, it was a wonderful break to settle in and not move. Our room was clean and spacious, the hosts were gracious, helpful and unintrusive and the grounds were spectacular. The kitchen area was well-equipped for light meals and shopping for groceries was conveniently nearby. Breakfast was generous and presented in a welcoming manner that encouraged interaction among guests. The pool was beautiful and especially welcome after hot days of touring. We could come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDF049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have been to quite a few mosquito infected areas but have quite never experienced what we have experienced here. Zanzibar, India, Egypt, Tanzania, Maldives, Mauritius and Sri Lanka have nothing on these local Mosquitos!! It is impossible to lie by the pool as there are Mosquitos constantly attacking you even in the middle of the day.

What's odd is we stayed at another Mas on the other side of Tarascon and it was not nearly as bad?!

Our first impressions were very positive. The Mas looks lovely from the exterior and the gardens well taken care of. The 4 bed apartment had good space, however they still have a leaky toilet that we had to keep adjusting, no sharp knives and a toaster that would seriously test any ones version of health and safety. I don't think it would take much, but a little care can easily allow the apartment to be suitable to the Mas.

The apartment has a little terrace area at the rear where you can eat, unfortunately there is a strong sewage smell, so between that and the Mosquitos it was not pleasant to say the least!

We are quite an active family and brought our bikes so e could cycle around the neighbouring farmlands which we think is quite lovely with small easy going roads. However, the towns nearby are certainly not what you imagine as typical of Provence, they are not pretty and look/feel rundown.

I must admit, the last thing we expected was to be complaining about Mosquitos......surely we can't be the only ones to have experienced this here?!

We feel terrible as the owners are lovely, but quite simply this is the last time we are coming to this area and most certainly not back to Domaine DES Clos. Apologies.....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orchards46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have spent 1 week there in May with our child and the appartment was nicely decorated but lack of care of "little details like:
- the shower curtain too short in 1 bathroom & no "water plastic or glass protection" in the 2nd one, so both bathrooms were fluded everytime we having a shower... :-(
- Bath towels not drying because the appartment is humid. (old stones building)
- No security inside the Domaine. No closed parking. Gate accessing inside the Domaine open 24hours, no camera, no alarm (?)... just a booklet inside the appartment explaining we have to close ourselves inside the bedrooms at night in case of robbery.
- the dog of the family is very nice but always entering the appartment to ask for food if you letting the entrance door (which is the only access to the garden...) open.
- The lady is very nice but her husband bothered us talking about his "rich friends" blablabla at breakfast... he seems nice but he is talking too much and is not aware he can bother customers.
Apart all that, the place is pleasant, quiet, charming, well maintained, clean. There is even a service of "beauty" on order. (manucure, pedicure, massages, waxing etc...) Nice shop also with good products from the area and very good homemade jams! :-)
Beware that le "Domaine des Clos" is a beautiful Mas in the middle of the vineyards but that Beaucaire, Tarascon and the cities around are ugly and not secure.
The Domaine is not situated in Provence but in Gard region!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elisavalentina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Sandrine and David, along with their lovely family and hilarious dog Daisy, were the most gracious hosts providing a warm welcoming stay in their gorgeous converted winery. An absolute must for any group traveling with children as delicious meals could be enjoyed whilst the kids remained occupied with table tennis, table football, petanque and the pool in very safe surrounds. Many thanks for the wonderful memories that this Australian family will have forever! Seek out Sandrine's home made Rhubarb jam on the breakfast table - absolutely to die for!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank TLTWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaucaire
13.1 mi away
Hostellerie Le Castellas
4.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
Hotel Restaurant Robinson
#2 of 4 in Beaucaire
15 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant l'Oliveraie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
Logis Les Vignes Blanches
#4 of 4 in Beaucaire
148 reviews
10.3 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#5 of 36 in Nimes
342 reviews
10.0 mi away
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Clos

Address: Domaine des clos 911 Chemin du Mas de la Tour, 30300 Beaucaire, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Beaucaire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaucaire
Price Range: $129 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine des Clos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a country home which offers the perfect blend of the charms of yesteryear and the comforts of today. Each room is individually decorated and stylishly furnished in a vibrant homage to the colours of the South. All bedrooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned. They each have an en suite bathroom with a hair dryer and a variety of toiletry products. The rooms have a flat screen TV and free WiFi access. Personal safe. For your comfort: there is a living room and a small kitchen at the guests' disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domaine des Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Clos Beaucaire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing