We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little restaurant.”
Review of Les Calicots

Les Calicots
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Fabrezan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very good dinner here whilst on holiday. The service and the wines on offer were also very good (we subsequently bought a case of the red wine from a nearby wine co-operative). Although the dishes were well presented in a contemporary style, the food was also provided in good quantities (not always the case). The interior is very nicely laid out with a semi-covered area to the rear and a well landscaped courtyard which all provides a very attractive setting, although from the street you would hardly notice it was there. It seems to be run by a husband and wife (husband is the chef) and we enjoyed the meal so much that we went again a week later, on the last night before the end of our holiday,....and had another good meal! If we were in the area again we would certainly return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GomezandMorticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    60
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant with very good food”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This little place takes some finding! Hidden in the back streets of Fabrezan near the church (but reasonably sign posted). We go every year and it never disappoints. It has now extended the terrace at the back in an extremely attractive restoration of what seems to be an old farm house in chic rustic style.
Their menu at €20 Euros including a great melon salad and a confit de canard is just an exampe of their very traditionally french cuisine. If you want to spend a bit more (but never much) do try their foie gras.
The wines are all local and very well priced.
Do not go here if you are in a hurry. This is a family restaurant: that is its charm, but the staff both in the kitchen and on the floor is limited. Take your time and enjoy slow food!
3 course Lunch for 2 including wine and coffee €60. Not bad.
You can turn up most lunch times but you must book in the evening

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralee
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

the atmosphere was great and the meal was made with the freshest ingredients. The service was very good and the waitress was very friendly. There were lots of french people eating there which I thought was a good sign

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank martha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Loved the atmosphere and the food that was cooked from scratch. My daughter had steak and salad which was cooked to perfection and I had a pasta dish which was succulent

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aislingmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boutenac, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu in a lovely restaurant”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stumbled on Les Calicots one night when it was pouring down rain and we wanted a night out with friends who were visiting. We headed off in one direction but our restaurant of choice was closed. Wandering around the small roads we came to Fabrezan and followed the signs to this lovely little restaurant that boasts a fine menu with new tastes and beautiful presentation. Service was excellent, much patience with our fractured French. Highly recommend this charming restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Calicots also viewed

 
Fabrezan, Aude
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude
 

Been to Les Calicots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing