We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place for newlyweds - nicest view from romantic terrace - unique and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Corniche
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have stayed there just to relax from a stressful time before.
It was our first trip to Corse, but surely not our last one!
The road leading from Bastia to the Hotel was adventurous, with many curves and a bit dangerous, especially with oncoming traffic. But finally reaching our destination, the "Hotel la Corniche”, we found a perfect place of solitude and idyll.
As newlyweds on our honeymoon we chose this hotel because of its romantic setting in the mountains with the absolutely stunning panoramic view on the sea. It’s worth getting up early in the morning to enjoy the sunrise and the perfect solitude and calmness, before the other guests arrive to have their breakfast on the terrace.
The breakfast was always plentiful (a choice of nice French cheese, mamelades, fresh fruits, yoghurts, crereals, honey) and an excellent service, serving fresh coffee and bread (bread rolls, croissant, sweet bread).
As it was just the beginning of our honeymoon, we did not do any activities on our 4-day stay. For us it was sufficient to stay around the hotel (very nice pool!) and the very small village San Martino de Lota. In this village there is not really anything to do, not even a small shop. We were therefore forced to eat what the hotel restaurant offered (the cuisine was delicious, but expensive). An alternative was the pizzeria in the village (15 minute walk from the hotel), with very nice pizza, which was more affordable for us.
For us it was the perfect, romantic start for our honeymoon. After 4 days of perfect relaxation and excellent food we continued our journey to the southern part of the island. With “Hotel La Corniche” as a start, it became a perfect holiday!

Room Tip: One should know that the rooms with the fantastic seaview are also the rooms right above the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lette_Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 305 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel is located up the winding road on a hillside overlooking the sea, just a short drive (in distance but plenty of bends) from the port of Bastia.

We arrived much later in the evning than we expected due to a late ferry but we were rushed into the restaurant but then allowed to have whatever we wanted from the menu even though most people were eating desserts - very accomodating.

The view from our room was wonderful - try and make sure you have a room at the front.
The food was very good and a comparable price to all the other good restaurants we visted on the island. Cured meat (charcuterie) was particulalrly good.

Rooms were slightly more basic than we expected for the price but we soon realised everywhere seems a little pricey in July/August.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevs_and_Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Great place, stunning view, good restaurant, friendly service... But extremely narrow room and beds :-(
Bedsheets and towels are old and worn !

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier-B1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

NIce restaurant / hotel with more than a dozen of rooms. Good wine list, French cooking, decent quality, nice view from the very nice terrace, nice service, not overpriced, .... no complaints. Will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Our first trip to this hotel was in 2002. We arrived at night having driven from our ferry at Calvi. We had no idea what to expect. We had a lovely room with balcony and were pleasantly surprised to awake to a lovely sunny day and a stunning view looking down over the village and vivid blue sea beyond. The room was spacious and clean with an en-suite bathroom. Breakfast , and indeed all the meals that we had at the hotel, was served on the terrace. All the meals were very good although a bit limited on half board. The a la carte menu was very extensive and the restaurant was well patronised by people not staying at the hotel. The staff and owners were always very efficient, friendly and helpful. We had the option to eat from time to time at the family owned pizza restaurant, a short walk away in the village. The service here was equally good.
We chose this hotel for a quiet, peaceful, get away from it all holiday and we weren't disappointed. We've returned on two further occasions since 2002.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickTotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed two nights. When we booked I asked about Air con but was told that at 300 metres above sea level it was not required. Well the room was very hot. So we opened the windows and as the terrace of the restaurant is just below , we did not get to sleep until after 12.30 because of a late night group. The air con would have fixed this. It was the only hotel that we stayed in Corsica that did not have it.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food was excellent. However you were treated rather like second class citizens for not being a la carte.The Maitre d never spoke to us once !
It may be a family run hotel but there was very little charm from them. I am fluent in French so that cannot have been the reason.
A great shame as this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victorGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The hotel is very comfortable and quite charming, with stunning views out over the sea, with all the mod cons though the WiFi was unreliable except in the lounge downstairs. The village is about 7km up narrow roads into the mountains north of Bastia, but downtown Bastia is less than half an hour away. There’s a bit of hiking in the area, but it’s better to drive down to the coast and farther out Cap Corse for really good walking. The family that runs the place were reasonably friendly. The restaurant is advertised as gourmet and does put on the airs – not to my taste, particularly, but likely attractive to real gourmets.The room price was right, in the off season at least. It’s the small village atmosphere and the view out over the sea that make this place special.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San-Martino-di-Lota
26.3 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
485 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Brando
Hotel Castel Brando
#1 of 1 in Brando
593 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Ostella
Hotel Ostella
#2 of 23 in Bastia
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Rossa
Hotel Casa Rossa
#11 of 18 in Ile Rousse
41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Corsica Hotels Bastia Centre
26.1 mi away
L'Escale Cote Sud
L'Escale Cote Sud
#4 of 18 in Ile Rousse
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Corniche

Address: Hameau de Castagneto, 20200 San-Martino-di-Lota, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > San-Martino-di-Lota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San-Martino-di-Lota
Price Range: $74 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Corniche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Corniche
Hotel Restaurant La Corniche Corsica/San-Martino-Di-Lota, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing