We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice setting.”
Review of A Mandria Di Pigna

A Mandria Di Pigna
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Pigna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $78
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mougins
Level Contributor
301 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A nice setting.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The waiter showed us to our table and immediately brought us an aperetif and some roasted almonds whilst we perused the menu ,a good touch.The two Corsican specialities we ordered -wild boar and ewe, were a bit the same .They both appeared in two huge white bowls ,far too much for one person and were of a rather dryish stew,not quite what we expected. The local cheeses were good and we were offered a digestif .All in all we thought it was rather expensive for what it was .Quite a few infants crying ,not the restaurant's fault of course, but a bit off-putting when you are dining in a smart restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    57
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Great location”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A new-ish restaurant on the outskirts of the village of Pigna (worth a trip in itself )
Lunches are mostly lighter dishes and salads. Evening meals are either local Corsican specialities or grills. In both cases the food is very good with a special word for some excellent desserts.
The staff are friendly and service is good.
There is a pleasant outdoor area with views across the valley to the mountains and the village of Corbara.
On the evening we ate at the restaurant there was live Corsican music from local musicians which really added to the atmosphere.
This was the best food we had during our week in nearby Algajola.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Calm and friendly resting spot”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After scampering around Pigna to see the spectacular sights from each small lane (they are too small to be called roads), Mandria di Pigna was the perfect spot for a cool drink and food (as needed). The back patio is open air, looking over a farm-like setting where we could see the local cemetery off on a distant hillside. What made this a special spot was the gracious dining room (both indoor and outdoor) with elegant place settings and helpful servers. Worth your stop!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bensmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a pretty rural setting”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a lovely meal here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The menu is Corsican with a twist - we had a delicious herb tart and there is a good selection of delicious stews and grills. Unlike most other places to eat it does not have a panoramic view as it is situated in a valley as you enter the village but it still has a pretty hillside view across to the convent on the opposite hill. Some nights there is music provided.Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Mandria Di Pigna also viewed

Pigna, Haute-Corse
Lavatoggio, Haute-Corse
 
Pigna, Haute-Corse
Ile Rousse, Haute-Corse
 

Been to A Mandria Di Pigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing