We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding place to get away in Maconaisse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau d'Ige

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau d'Ige
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ige
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to get away in Maconaisse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Yes the previous reviews are spot on. This place is awesome. Be prepared to climb a few stairs because there is no elevator but the place screams of charm and old world elegance. The beautiful gardens and back patio are a great way to start your evening off right Feel like a king or noble guest of old when you stay here. The owner is very friendy and checks in to assure you are enjoying your stay. Comfortable queen beds with plugs in bathroom for your electronics. The Wifi here is slow and unreliable however. Stay and eat here for dinner and have one of the best meals in France

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    102
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
60
251
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, Ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our room was spacious and very quiet, and equipped with modern amenities despite its thirteenth-century origin. The grounds have been developed into extensive gardens in the informal English style, with many relaxing nooks where guests can pass the time in privacy. The kitchen is quite ambitious, and dinners are a formal experience. The menu focuses on regional specialties of a high caliber, attracting guests from many countries. Despite signage in the adjacent town, we found the Chateau a bit difficult to find by car. Perhaps not a place to bring the kids, but for us a perfect place to recuperate from a week of rather strenuous bicycling in Provence.

Room Tip: we stayed in the main tower next to the kitchen building, and found it very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudige, Front Office Manager at Chateau d'Ige, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your good review of our hotel.

Like we are located in a little village, the château is difficult to find, and we had a sign missing when you came last time. We have fixed that and we also send acces map with our booking confirmation.

We hope to see you again soon.

Yours faithfully.

Sandrine Fournier
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This chateau and gardens is just as lovely as it can be. Located a tiny village in the Maconnais vineyards, it is nevertheless an easy drive from Macon. The Voie Verte and many pretty hilltop villages abound in the region, as well as the Roche de Solutre. The inn itself is a wonderful quiet retreat, with an excellent restaurant, and comfortable, well appointed rooms. Ours was in a tower, up the spiral staircase! We stayed two nights, and could have enjoyed one more. Our first morning at breakfast in the garden, the owner's father (I think) presented me with a fragrant fresh-picked bouquet of herbs. I kept it all through our trip, and even back home. Unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of spending last weekend at Chateau d'Igé as the guests of friends. There was a last minute problem in that the person who was to look after our children fell ill. Madame Faucon the owner/manager immediately found a solution. She gave us a room with a lounge and she arranged to put 2 beds in the lounge for our children. That was typical of the lengths to which she and her staff go to please guests and make them feel at home.
The hotel is situated in a lovely part of Burgundy, is quiet and has magnificent grounds. The food is SUPERB. You must eat at the hotel and nowhere else! The nearby town of Cluny is well wortth visiting.
This was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable weekends we have had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here with our two Granchildren aged 8 and 4. We had a Tower room with an upstairs room for the children. The stairs are a bit steep to the upper room but nobody managed to fall down them !

The Hotel and Gardens are interesting and well maintained. I think other reviewers have painted a good picture of what to expect so I will add nothing.

The Restaurant is excellent and we were thoughtfully seated in a smal circular room just off of the main Restaurant area. it was excellent as the children could chatter without disturbing other diners yet one still felt part of the main area. The menu was first class and the waiter was knowledgeable on wine.


The internet service is Free and moreover it is a fast connection and you do not have to be a Technical Guru to log on.

The Hotel is not cheap but offers value for money.

One small thing that impressed me was that the Hotel gets one of the staff to clean the windscreens of the Guests cars, so in the morning you set off minus the accumulated Fly Squat !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

In the southern portion of Burgundy you will find this llarge chateau in Ige that is absolutely lovely. We staid in one suite the first night and a different suite the second night, which gave us the opportunity to sample different rooms. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed (a little eclectic). The rooms were not air conditioned but the windows are large and even in the heat of August the nights were cool. The grounds would keep me coming back. The garden is absolutely lovely and we spent hours in lounge chairs sipping wine and reading books. The restaurant is lovely and expensive. I was a little disappointed in the menu selections but dinner was excellent and I don't think there is anywhere else in Ige to eat. Ige is surrounded by vineyards and interruped only by a lovely forest. You can spend your day going from wine tasting to wine tasting. We brought a bottle of wine back to the chateau and staff provided us with an ice bucket full of ice and lovely wine glasses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for our first night in Burgundy and were so impressed that we decided to come back on our homeward journey. It is just as the pictures show - a 13 Century chateau with moat, bridge and secluded garden, situated in a sleepy village surrounded by vineyards.
We were given a different suite, both up towers, each time. These consisted of a large double bedroom and a single room for our 18 year old son, up a short flight of stairs. Both were delightfully decorated, well-equipped and funished. The second suite had a door hidden in the wall with stairs leading up the tower to the second bedroom.
On our first visit the weather was balmy enough for dinner in the garden. On the second visit, it was cooler and guests took cocktails in the garden and then moved inside to the stone walled, timbered-ceiling dining room. On both occasions we took the half-board menu which appears to change daily (except for the amuses-bouches and the deserts) – four quality courses and petit fours. The cheese selection from the trolley and the deserts were particularly memorable.
Breakfast, in the garden, included freshly squeezed orange-juice, fresh fruit salad and copies of the Times (even if a day old).
The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly and most spoke good English. The manageress, who keeps everything running smoothly is particularly charming. All in all, this is a great place to stay. It’s not cheap, but if you take half-board and stick to the less exotic wines, it is excellent value, redolent with character and history (one of the fist chateaux to be attacked during the Revolution). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilldweller042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ige
4.0 mi away
Chateau de Besseuil
Chateau de Besseuil
#1 of 1 in Clesse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
15.5 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
17.1 mi away
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Carrion Cuisine Hotel and Spa
10.9 mi away
Auberge du Paradis
Auberge du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Amour-Bellevue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.2 mi away
Chateau de la Barge
Chateau de la Barge
#2 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Ige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Ige

Property: Chateau d'Ige
Address: 252 rue du Chateau, 71960 Ige, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Ige
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ige
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau d'Ige 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In southern Burgundy, a region rich in history, dotted with Romanesque chapels, the four-star restaurant of the Château d'Igé is there to welcome you.The 13th-century feudal château, built under the reign of King Saint Louis, is surrounded by tranquil gardens with thriving vegetation.Françoise Faivre, the owner and manager, welcomes you with the highly professional assistance of her staff, and especially chef Olivier Pons.For a gastronomic outing or a prolonged visit, you will rediscover the charm, both mysterious and familiar, of the Middle Ages.Meals are served in fine weather on the terrace shaded by centuries-old trees, or in one of the dining rooms with French-style ceilings and wood fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau d'Ige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Ige Hotel Ige

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing