We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little village restaurant”
Review of l'Oree du Bois

l'Oree du Bois
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situated in a beautiful 17th Century half timbered building. We offer a wide selection of dishes, from deliciously filled crepes to fresh salads to juicy grilled Steaks and great seasonal recipes of Stephen Houchin owner Chef. Enjoy your meal on the shady terrasse or inside next to the roaring central fire, whatever the weather there is a table to suit.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little village restaurant”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Good French menu with reasonable prices. Wine list has half bootlegs of burgundy wine in the back, so don't miss them. Large portions of everything. Great crepe choice. The cheeries in custard was large enough for two. The proprietor's wife is English, so it was fun to converse with her.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    81
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dessert Crepes to die for”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

WE love this chef's food. He had been supplying us with salads and quiche and desserts all week on our barge cruise. So, when we were told we were eating at his restaurant we were drooling at the prospect. I highly recommend this restaurant! I love his homemade pate.The wine list is fantastic. But the best were the crepe desserts. My husband had the Brasilia and still can't stop raving about it. I had the traditional crepe suzette. If you are anywhere near here Go to this restaurant- Go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineLovinWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Always difficult to find in places which are tourist orientated, but probably the pick of the restaurants in Chateauneuf. We were there in low season (early October), with four tables in use (the Gallo-Belge, ie us, Americans, French and the Brits). Menu not massive but the home made saucisson is awesome and well recommended. The wine list is also very good. English spoken if needed, and the whole atmosphere is very welcoming. Open from March to Armistice week, except Tuesday and you might want to book in high season. The best place to eat in Chateauneuf.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank malcra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great surroundings, good food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

There are a few restaurants in Chateauneuf village but we were pleased we chose this one. We were a bit confused when we arrived as to whether we were going to be seated or if we were supposed to just choose a table but that was just due to the language barrier I think.

The restaurant itself is in a lovely room with a central feature fireplace. The service was a little slow to start with but overall was ok. There was a bit of disturbance from an occasionally repeated loud bang which sounded like it was from upstairs.

The food tasted great and the portions were very generous. Wine and food was at a reasonable price. The menu was varied, giving you the choice of traditional French meat dishes or savoury crepes, with plenty of desert crepes available also.

We had homemade pate and the smoked salmon salad for starter, both of which were excellent. For main we had duck, which was exceptionally well cooked and fell off the bone, and guinea fowl and vegetables which came with a really tasty sauce. We both had the apple and caramel crepe for dessert which was delicious.

We would definitely recommend the restaurant for lunch, dinner or to stop off for a crepe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great Burgundy lunch”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonderful old building in the heart of lovely Chateauneuf - we sat outside on the few summertime terrace tables, but the interior with a huge fireplace, old photos and ancient wooden beams makes me wish it was wintertime (we'll be back)

Very good burgundy lunch plate of local meats, cheeses and a leafy salad which they upgraded on request with pecans and Roquefort - yum - and only about 13 euros.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Oree du Bois also viewed

 
Pouilly-en-Auxois, Cote d'Or
Chateauneuf, Cote d'Or
 
Vandenesse-en-Auxois, Cote d'Or
Pouilly-en-Auxois, Cote d'Or
 

Been to l'Oree du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing