We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
262
162
84
32
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
262
162
84
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice swimming pool french countryside amazing food the owner excellent quality equestrian centre high quality comfortable hotel one night stay wine list high end horse riding relaxing break horses chateau lake hammam
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved the experience, the country side , weather, horse riding, the hotel itself, the food was exceptional and very delicious.. the staff are so friendly and helpful.. highly recommend. The horses are well trained and in a very good condition

Room tip: Lovely place highly recommended
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank mahajuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

Just finishing a holiday here, and compelled to write a review as we have had a glorious time. Beautiful old chateau in stunning setting with views for miles. My daughter and I came for the horse riding, which has been terrific - well cared for, sensitive happy horses, and the tuition has been spot on. Highlight has been a bareback horse ride and swim in the lake. We didn’t expect to have such amazing food, so this has been an unexpected delight. Beautiful colours, textures and flavours. Very friendly, accommodating staff, and the owner works so hard to ensure guests are happy. The chateau is a lovely shabby chic, so do not expect shiny and new, but this is part of its charm. Clean, nice swimming pool. Just great. Hope to come again soon.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 362rachelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

Fabulous place to stay, friendly staff, beautiful views and facilities, the horses are well cared for and the riding is wonderful . jP was a great instructor and was really interested in teaching and helping my daughter improve her riding and went out of his way to make our trip enjoyable

Room tip: We stayed in the cottage which is great for kids as they can go straight outside and run around
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank lianeshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

The Chateau is is beautifully set in the countryside and obviously equestrian based, and the staff were friendly, helpful and with a sense of humour. However our stay was not one of the most memorable and we will not be returning. Admittedly we did not choose the most expensive rooms, but with an aversion to stairs, we opted for a Garden Pavilion room which was very small, for example opening the batch room door cuts off access around the bed, the bedside table has to be moved to open one of the wardrobe doors, the toilet is small. The room was cold and the radiator took forever to warm up and so the solution was to open the bathroom door and use the heat radiated from the towel rail .
The indicator screen on the aircon remote was faulty so we could not see if it had reverse climate to act as a heater. The security chain on the door did bot have the end which fits in to the slot on the door. Spare pillows did not have pillow cases, wifi did not work until after dinner, either in the library or the room.

The food quite bluntly was pretty average and certainly not anything to write home about. From the Carte menu, the starers were OK, a ceviche and a Morel fricassee with asparagus were OK (soup like) as were the desserts of a chocolate sphere and mango and coconut. The main courses were poor, I had the rack of lamb • smoked in hay, which was 4 small lamb cutlets and root vegetables including a miniature leek, which was roasted but not washed and had grit, and my wife had chicken and shiitake ballottine, of very poor quality, again with the unwashed leeks.
We skipped breakfast the following day, and being unable to get out of the main door of the garden pavilion had to climb out of the window.
All in all, expensive meal at 150€ for 2 with 1 bottle of wine and glass of wine/gin tonic.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

We loved Chateau d'Ygrande for a horseback riding vacation in the middle of our summer European travels. The setting is beautiful, the views stunning, the food is "farm to table" fresh and authentic. It is a warm and welcoming place where the proprietor takes your dinner order and his hounds are lounging in the front hall. There is a horseback riding instructor, very high-quality horses, and state-of-the-art facilities. They had all the equipment we needed. Excellent destination for those who ride and for those who simply want an authentic country retreat.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews