We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau d'Ygrande
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ygrande
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“pleasant enough”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Room very small and the toilet compartment was so small if you are bigger than usual thenyou cannot place your arms by your sides .The door has been removed to to allow room for the knees

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room ,perhaps in the annexe as most reviewers seem to like them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank confit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    124
    67
    26
    12
See reviews for
69
291
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had an excellent one night stay at this wonderful château. It has exceptional views stayed in comfortable but small rooms in the garden annexe. Dinner was of a high quality and breakfast
had home made jams , pasties and bread. A good choice for an overnight stop en route south. Detour from motoway well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Spend a night here en route north in an area which has few good hotels. A bit of a drive off the Autoroute but easy to find. Hotel has a superb position looking over its estate and the whole area. Well maintained and quite grand 19th century chateau with nice terrace and pool area. Good walks in the fields around. Bedroom at front fine and large, though plumbing a bit old-fashioned; comfy bed. Very peaceful. Staff very efficient and friendly and dinner in two dining rooms good.Excellent breakfast. Space to sit inside. Only drawback was the number of flies attracted by the equestrian facilities.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstclassSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

When we were at the chateau, we stayed at a comfortable room in an annex, but had easy access to the hotel, the restaurant and the terasse, We had excellent diners, with knowledgable staff, good cook and a great panorama from the terasse. Between meals we were in the nice pool or made some promenades. The place was really quiet and there was no need to leave the premisses. when we need some rest,and good French cooking, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Me and my partner had a standard room - which it was, nothing extraordinary but with all the comforts you would expect from a standard room; comfortable bed, small en-suite shower, no AC, but fan, which was sufficient, clean.
Service very friendly and polite.
The coup-de-coeur of this place is first the location in the beautiful Bourbonnais farmland landscape with rolling hills, groves of trees, and fields surrounded by hedges - obviously modern farming techniques have not been allowed to ruin the character of this part of France. Secondly, this place has very good food. Both dinner and breakfast served on the terrace, very nicely set tables.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stopped here on our way to the south of France, to relax and do a little horseback riding.
The room was nice, with a very nice bathroom (no airconditioning). The hotel is beautiful, especially the terrace & the view over the countryside.
The restaurant was nice, as was the fact that they had two menus - "brasserie" and the formal restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mirirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

After staying at the Chateau in 2007 (see our review below), we vowed to return, and did so for three nights in June 2009. We were not disappointed. This time we had room 16, looking out over the valley. It was small but very nice, with a beautiful and spacious bathroom (see photos) and separate toilet room.

Although there were two less-costly menus available (and one higher), we decided to splurge on demi-pension options for each of our three dinners (at euros 50 per person, this is a very costly demi-pension), but we are glad we did so, and now are all the more impressed by the cooking of chef David Martin.

Each night before dinner we enjoyed a special aperitif that we had here two years ago and which, we’ve since learned, can be found only in this area: “Pelou.” It’s a splash of Liquor de Châtaignes (chestnuts) in dry local sparking (or still) wine. Very distinctive, and we love it.

The service had a few glitches, reflecting something that we’ve seen at other restaurants in France at this time of year (early June): training of new staff, or summer interns, who are students at various restaurant schools throughout the country. It was amusing, and sometimes a bit painful, to watch these earnest youngsters go about their tasks, under the supervision of course. But, we figured, everyone has to have a first experience with real customers, and it did not bother us that we were part of their learning process.

During our stay we walked the beautiful grounds; chatted with M. Tissier and played with his Weimaraners; rode horses (and took a lesson) at the nearby stable (arranged through the hotel); visited the Chateau d’Ainay-Le-Vieil (aka “Petit Carcassone”) and toured its amazing interiors and gardens; visited Abbaye de Noirlac (a well-preserved Cistercian Abbey dating from 1150); and visited the Forrest of Tronçais. For lunch dining, we enjoyed, and recommend, Auberge de l’Abbaye de Noirlac and Le Tronçais -- each was “tres agreeable.”

We never did jump into the chateau’s pool -- apparently, that’s for the next trip.

--Jake (http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com/ )

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ygrande
4.5 mi away
Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand
Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Tall...
#1 of 2 in Bourbon-l'Archambault
146 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chateau de Villars
Chateau de Villars
#1 of 2 in Villeneuve-sur-Allier
14 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#1 of 8 in Moulins
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
#1 of 1 in Coulandon
148 reviews
17.2 mi away
Le Clos de Bourgogne
Le Clos de Bourgogne
#3 of 8 in Moulins
68 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel le Troncais
Hotel le Troncais
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bonnet-Troncais
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau d'Ygrande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau d'Ygrande

Property: Le Chateau d'Ygrande
Address: Lieu Dit le Mont, 03160 Ygrande, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Ygrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ygrande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau d'Ygrande 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Ygrande is a charming hotel situated in the heart of the beautiful hedged countryside of Bourbonnais (department of Allier, Auvergne region). We also have a gastronomic restaurant. Activities : horse riding, hammam, beauty treatments, walking, warming outdoor swimming pool.....We are member of the chain "Chateaux Hotels Collection". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau d'Ygrande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing