We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't say enough good things about this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jellystone Park of Western New York
Reviewed July 28, 2009

07/28/2009
An excellent place to camp with young children! They have activities scheduled all day to entertain kids of all ages. Their waterzone is full of fun. A safe depth for the youngest of swimmers but full of water cannons and giant slides for all the older kids and adults. My 1, 3 and 6yr old loved every second of being at this camp. With 3 days we didn't have enough time to do 1/3rd of the things they offer.

Their customer service is also top notch. At one point our firewood was wet. Even though it was after hours they delivered new dry wood to our camp site. Clean restrooms and a friendly staff, I highly recommend this place! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snlhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Jellystone Park of Western New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

Jellystone Camp in Java, Ny

Heavy road construction and equipment and diesel smell all morning, afternoon and evening though out the stay!

We made reservation several months in advance. Upon arrival on Sunday (in torrential rain storm) we were not advised of new construction along side our camping site. Only after setup (we own a pop-up camper) and easing of storm did we realize the situation! After 4 complaints we were offered another site. This was not an option since the noise was throughout the camp grounds (besides, setting up again would've negated the few good weather hours available). There was little or no safety concerns for children or adults as heavy trucks and earth movers roamed up and down the site lanes. The noise lasted from 6:30 am to 9:30 pm everyday and only after several complaints from other campers did they not start until after 8:00am.

Was there a solution? I don't think so. During an altercation with "ranger" Al, it was apparent that they were behind schedule and they must be completed by the July 4th weekend onslaught of customers regardless at what inconvenience to existing customers. Could "ranger Al handled the situation better? Yes!

What we might have expected...1st, a total apology (not just an early noise problem), perhaps a slight discount (10% - 15%), or maybe one or two free days for a future date in which case we most likely would've bought several more days to extend the future stay. (Everybody loves a freebie, it makes us feel good).

On the plus side I will say that the bathrooms, showers, water rides and playgrounds were well maintained in spite of the inclement weather. Park employees were friendly and accommodating as far as they were allowed. This could be and will be great place BUT management needs people training and skills.

I doubt very much if we or our large number of camping family or friends will came back again! Lesson learned, ALWAYS ask about construction and if all facilities are in working order.

PS...not an issue but advertised Internet service is spotty at best!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This was a mini vacation for us. Usually we are tent campers but this time we decided to spend a long weekend in a cabin. We choose this park and very glad we did. The cabin was comfortable, the showers were hot, and the location of the cabin was right on the lake. What impressed us most was the deligence and customer orientation of the staff; from the owners Sue and Scott right down to the man who picked up the garbage. There was plenty to do and we found it. Would recommend this to folks of all ages not just families with kids.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopeful54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed at Yogi Bear over the labor day weekendand had a wonderful time. We have camped at many campgrounds and found this one to be one of the best. The small lake with the swimming beach is great for the kids as they can jump and dive in the water as they cannot do that at the pool. I was amazed at how clean the rest room and shower facility was. I have read many of the reviews about the extra cost of paddle boats/ peddle bikes and mini golf, this is not out of the ordinary as every other campground does the same. I like that the staff all had identifiable shirts that identified them as staff so you could see them, I have not seen that at other campgrounds. I have not ever camped at a campground that has sites back to back with other camper but we had a great time with our new friends and neighbors behind us.We are planning our next summer vacation week at Yogi bear. Several reviews talk about the slight hill to get to the store or activity center,walking never hurt anyone.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank barland2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed 2 nights in Cabin #4 on the lake/pond. Nice campground. Very clean and well kept grounds, except our cabin had months of dust on the shelves with the dishes. Floor needs good scrubbing. Bunk beds not comfortable - felt like sleeping on a narrow board. Suggestion: Put in cabinets for the dishes and a small counter space. Very difficult to cook and wash dishes with no counter space.

Felt a little nickel and dimed to death with many things costing extra - canoe, paddleboats, mini golf, golf carts ($25/5 hrs) - you don't pay near that at a regular golf course! At nearly $150/night I felt everything should have been included.

Outdoor pool was nice, but chilly. Campground is situation on slight hill, so be prepared for lots of walking to activities.

Hayride was lame...didn't go far at all. Costumed Yogi Bear was a nice touch for the younger kids.

Overall, okay stay. For the $ might consider a resort next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We have stayed here a number of times, at least twice a year. We have always been quite pleased with the property. We do stay in our own RV. RV properties beyond the large castle playground are close together so you do end up with other people's campfire smoke in your RV. Many sites in this area are also not level, unless you head farther down the hill, which is quite far away if you do not rent a golf cart. Be forewarned that you will spend far more money here than at other state or private parks on activities. This is also not a park where you will relax if you come with children-you will be running from activity to activity here. I highly recommend, especially with smaller children getting a golf cart rental. They are very expensive but worth it so that you aren't constantly leaving 20 minutes early for the next activity. With a golf cart you can zoom up and then zoom back! Rental is expensive, however, at $45 each 24 period. Tent sites are great here because they are not marked. You just stake your claim in an area, which is awesome. Activiites are great, although they repeat them too often. If you go often you will end up doing the same things again and again. The last time we were here we were not at all impressed wtih the new activities director. She was NOT meant to be around children! She was impatient and rude to us and our children, and clearly couldn't handle manage even a small crowd of children. I am hoping management watches this closely or we will begin looking elsewhere for a new favorite Jellystone park. Overall, great park!

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank TravelinMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

My husband and I decided to buy a camper because then you have the freedom to go anywhere instead of buying a cabin where you feel obligated to always go to this one place. Well, we bought our camper and Jellystone, North Java is the place we always go back to.

We have been going to Jellystone, North Java a few years in a row and ALWAYS enjoy ourselves. We have gotten to know the staff there, we enjoy the activities, the playgrounds, pool, beach, paddleboats, heyrides, putt putt, handing out with Yogi, Boo Boo and Cindy, ice cream shop, arcade, Halloween weekend, etc...

We have been there on hot, sunny weekends and on weekends where it never stopped raining and there was always plenty to do and we always had fun.

Our kids our 2 and 4, they love it there and they miss it come wintertime. In fact, we have already booked our first weekend out as soon as our camper comes out of storage.

I highly recommend Jellystone, North Java to anyone with children. Every year the owners make more and more improvements and we can't wait for this coming camping season.

Stayed: September 2006
Thank happycamperfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Java
22.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn East Aurora
Hampton Inn East Aurora
#1 of 2 in East Aurora
476 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Inn at Houghton Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground
21.2 mi away
Oramel Inn
Oramel Inn
#1 of 3 in Caneadea
18 reviews
23.1 mi away
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mount Morris
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jellystone Park of Western New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jellystone Park of Western New York

Address: 5204 Youngers Rd, North Java, NY 14113-9737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Java
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Java
Price Range: $136 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jellystone Park of Western New York 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jellystone Park™ of Western New York is the perfect location for your family vacation. Whether you're searching for that perfect vacation spot, weekend get-away, or an ideal location for your organization or family gatherings, Jellystone Park™ of Western New York will suit all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jellystone Park of Western New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Hotel North Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing