We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Camping Resort Ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jellystone Park of Western New York
Perry, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Camping Resort Ever!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place was by far the worst place I have ever camped at for tents! We booked a tent site with water and electric. The sites are right on top of each other. There is almost no room to park your car. Absolutely no shade. The whole place in on a giant hill so if you wanted to go to any of the activities you have to walk up hill. There is only 2 bathrooms in the whole place. We did not get any sleep the whole weekend we were there. The people in the site we had behind us was very rude and loud past 11pm. They received well more than 3 complaints (after 3 you are suppose to be kicked out) and the campground did nothing about it. We requested a refund and staff only gave us a free day to use the water park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yeah619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    25
    13
    9
    13
See reviews for
104
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

was a great exsperince for frist time camper there was so many things to do everyone was very friendly.the bathrooms were being cleaned every 2 or 3 hours they do have some mold on the showers.I would reconmend this to anyone with kids that want a weekend getaway that is resonabley priced.
I would recomend more bathrooms we were down by the go carts was a 5 to 7 min walk not very pleasent in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: the cabins we thought were exsenisive so we stayed in a tent for $60 a night with water and eltetric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gettyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York USA
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Overall I would say this is a good family value / Park was clean, help & owner were friendly and helpful / our site was on a hill & it was not completly level (D1) & could not get trailer level without making it dangerous / breaker kept kicking off / Sites overall are small & folks are packed in like sardines / barely enough room for a car let alone 2 cars / not a lot of bathrooms or showers & what they had were very small / bathroom up by the store needs a good sanitizing & had an "odor" about it / several features on newer waterpark did not work / Main Pool very small but seemed clean / don't bring bikes unless you stay to bottom of campground - hills are brutal & gravel not friendly to knees / Rent a golf cart - it's worth it although pricey / Lots & Lots & Lots of kids / Lots of activities for kids / because you have to pay a fair amount to get in it appears to keep a lot of the riff raff out / I would recommend this anyone / going back in July

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We are new trailer owners and started booking campsites this April for pretty much every weekend at different places thru the summer plus plus. We read that this campground was a 5 star on Woodalls so decided to give it a try and booked June 8 for 3 nights with myself, hubbie, 8 year old daughter plus friend and dog. I prefer 5 star campgrounds with all the amenities and full hookup(little spoiled from nice hotels). After reading some of the previous reviews we almost cancelled our reservation but since Woodalls gave it a 5 star we decided to give it a try. Well let me say we were so pleased we didn't cancel because this was a fantastic campground! From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful. Park was very clean including washrooms. Staff always working hard to keep the resort clean and running smoothly. The kids woke up at 8, out the door by 8:30 for flag raising, hay rides, crafts, laser tag, mini golf, swimming, water park, planned activities and I could go on and on. By 10:00pm every night my daughter was asking to go to bed! We never thought we would hear those words. The water park was awesome for both kids and adults. Lots of water activities and two water slides, plenty of lawn chairs(they do fill up quickly like all places but you can always bring your own) and a sandy beach with swimming & non-motorized boat rentals right next to the water park. I should mention you get a wrist band to wear for the length of your stay which gets you all the amenties for free including use of the canoes/kayaks, water park, laser tag etc. There is also a pool beside the office. A couple activities for the kids in the activity centre had an additional cost but most were free. When you first pull into the campground the activity centre is on the left. The girls who organized the daily activities were fantastic, a lot of fun & great with the kids. Every hour from 8am to around 6pm there was something organized for the kids. They even had pizza lunch with Yogi Bear & friends for a small fee, $4.99. You get pizza, drink, cookie, Yogi souvenir and time with the characters. Kids had a blast, well worth the additonal cost. We also had a great time on the sing along hay ride with Yogi. You can take pictures with Yogi at end of ride. The camp store, second level above office, seemed to have everything you would need and lots of souvenirs and treats. They also have a lot of hot food on the menu you can order and heard they even deliver to your campsite. We brought enough food for an army so didn't try anything but it sure looked good. There is also a games room right beside the office. We rented a golf cart for 24 hours for $50 which was a lot of fun to boot around in. Everything is in walking distance though. There are two ponds that are stocked if you like to fish. You can hear the bull frogs in the pond at the back of the park at night which was pretty cool and lots of little chipmunks running around. Our campsite had a nice concrete pad for the trailer as well as a patterned concrete patio, grass and a few trees for some shade. The campground is on a gradually sloping hill but campsites are level. One other feature I really liked was garbage pick up at our site twice daily and wood delivery. I'm very surprised at some of the negative reviews. Power outage in the middle of a hot summer is understandable as these things happen once in a while but to put down the whole campground because of it is just plan silly. Staff were very accommodating so don't understand the negative reviews about them. I think a few people have a chip on their shoulders and need to chill out and relax. This is a very well run family resort. I understand why they well not put up with any campers trying to change this which gives me more reason to visit again. Thanks for a great experience Yogi & Staff!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smaydinli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Our Grandkids love this place so we decided to return for the Memorial Day weekend. Our site, although sloped and hard to level our rv, was wonderful overlooking the fish pond and volleyball court. We did have a major problem with electric power the first night but I believe it was a power company problem which was corrected the next day. I was pleased that although the campground was almost to capacity, the place quieted down and was quiet by 9:30 pm. I know nothing about the owner as has been mentioned negatively in some reviews but every staff member we were in contact with we're polite and congenial. Yes, the bathrooms are tight but they were cleaned periodically throughout the day. We plan a return trip in August.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneakaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The staff is new every year becasue the owner get foreign students with all kinds of promises to take them to the Falls, Galleria etc and does not follow thru. He booted all the seasonal campers (the ones who made that place what it is) because he is money hungry and rude. Wife too. They had a wonderful manager Amanda who was fired for telling the truth to the campers. The hottesst weekedn of the year they lost power (no AC) which is not uncommon....and then no water, which in turn made the water park close early....they kicked out the seasonals to bring in more weekend campers becasue they spend more $$ in the stores. They started the year with a laser tag game at the playground, afterit was a hit they started charging the kids to play :-( They will yell at you when its late for talking too loudly but there is no curfew for ppl driving around on those stupid golf carts all night long, and kids def < 16 and going way faster than posted sp limit.
Even the staff drives those things like idiots.
If something goes wrong during your trip do not expect anyone to care!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were giant lovers of this campground (see my previous review to prove it!) but not anymore. We always brought our own RV but one weekend rented and had a nightmare of a rental. Doors were broken, leaked constantly, smelled awful, woke up to flooding in the bathroom roof vent twice. Management was less than helpful. When we checked out, we were told that had we complained more they would have gone repeatedly to our unit to fix things. I replied that he did 3 times and did want to camp and not spend our weekend waiting on management and staff to fix concerns. Regardless, gave us a one night credit. Went to book our own RV site a few months later and were told that we were blackballed for leaving a TRUTHFUL negative review. Funny thing is, I was positive about the activities and other areas of the park) but god forbid you be honest about the horrible experience you had. We didn't get a credit and will never be back with friends or otherwise, and we are sure to tell others of our very poor experience. He lost 3 sets of families that day for his lack of response and poor customer service. Shame on the management!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelinMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Java
22.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn East Aurora
Hampton Inn East Aurora
#1 of 2 in East Aurora
449 reviews
21.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Chaffee Lodge
Chaffee Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chaffee
11 reviews
21.2 mi away
Oramel Inn
Oramel Inn
#1 of 3 in Caneadea
16 reviews
4.6 mi away
Biggest Loser Resort Niagara
Biggest Loser Resort Niagara
#1 of 2 in Java Center
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jellystone Park of Western New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jellystone Park of Western New York

Property: Jellystone Park of Western New York
Address: 5204 Youngers Rd, North Java, NY 14113-9737
Location: United States > New York > North Java
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Java
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jellystone Park of Western New York 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jellystone Park™ of Western New York is the perfect location for your family vacation. Whether you're searching for that perfect vacation spot, weekend get-away, or an ideal location for your organization or family gatherings, Jellystone Park™ of Western New York will suit all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Jellystone Park of Western New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Hotel North Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing