We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, good dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vitrac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent one night here in a spacious, quiet and pleasant room with a nice view of the river and bridge. We were at the furthest end of the hotel from reception – a long walk along some sloping corridors where the lights were a little slow to switch on. It looks as though it is a while since the hotel was decorated. The tiles in our bathroom were crazed, but everything was clean and functional. We attempted to connect to the WiFi system without success, but stopped trying when we read in our information pack that it was not free.

Dinner, included with our half board package was excellent with a good selection of local food. A large coach party was eating in a separate room and we found a couple of the items we wanted to order were unavailable, having been consumed by the group.

Breakfast was quite good, however we had a little trouble with Madame in charge of the breakfast room. The coach party were having their breakfast in the separate room again, but serving themselves from the same buffet as other guests. The tables in our part of the breakfast room were not set and on trying to help himself to cups for coffee, my partner was scolded and rudely told to put them back because cups were on the table. Once she realised her mistake she was most apologetic and helpful, but the damage to our impression of the hotel’s staff was done by then.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 211 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Hotel Plaisance was a new choice for this area, having passed it over the years traveling back and forth to Spain.
It is a comfortable family run hotel, with slightly faded looking charms, slightly in need of period modernisation.
That said, the room was comfortable and the restaurant meal was well cooked. The patio outdoor seating areas was lovely to sit out in with a glass of red wine.
Cost were reasonable, for €91 for B and B for 2 and meal with wine for €78.
Pleasant nights accommodation. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had booked this hotel for six nights bed and breakfast with Logis after an extensive surf of the area on Trip Advisor (note the position of the hotel on google maps is not accurate, it is directly across the road from La Treille, at the bridge across the Dordogne).
We had arrived by train at Sarlat from Paris via Libourne (TGV Paris to Libourne brilliant, other train Libourne to Sarlat not so great but interesting), then taxi (10 minutes) to hotel.
Exterior of hotel was lovely however hotel reception did not give good first impression although receptionist was excellent, and room was well above expectations particularly en suite bathroom, both were very cleanand comfortable and appeared to have been decorated probably within the last year.
Breakfast was satisfactory and although we did not have lunch we did have dinner there twice. The menu as is the region is very heavily orientated to duck dishes which suited my wife, and although there were alternatives personally I would have preferred to have seen a little more options. The prices (for meals) at first seemed expensive but are on a par for the area and when we did eat there the quality and quantity were excellent.
One fairly minor point is that the wifi which appeared to be free was very patchy, however the pool which is a very short walk was excellentwith changing rooms and showers.
I would like to commend the staff of the hotel which I believe is still family managed, the older lady with had been friends with Josephine Baker was so very interesting.
All in all a lovely stay in a nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Having dinner at the Hotel Plaisance is an essential part of every family holiday in the Dordogne. We love the setting - in summer in the shade of the lime trees on the terrace - the friendly staff and the menu based on regional dishes. They all add up to a experience that is slightly old-fashioned, but in a good way. This year the 29 euro four course menu fully lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellingjenny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A good position overlooking the river. Very friendly and helpful people, good food and comfortable and very clean rooms. Parking at hotel could be tight but there is an overspill parking across the road. Lovely grounds at sports centre to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Overlook river and bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went with Friends and found the Hotel Vitrac to be a good location for exploring the area: the roads along the river, the castles. It's not too far from anything. Be sure to have your dinners at the Hotel -- on each of 4 nights we were never disappointed. The "Walnut Delight," "Apple or Pear Tart," duck dishes, all lovely. Special kudos to the house "fish soup" with additions (which could be a meal itself.) The heated pool is great and a very short walk from the hotel. It's refreshing and well worth the little detour. The hotel rooms we had were plain, a little dated, but clean and quite comfortable. The sun room on the second floor was a nice place to sit, play cards, write letters, etc. If you have a time, stop into the village where there is a lovely art gallery/cafe run by the artists. Most of the works are theirs, but their work is excellent and their cafe charming. English is not the strong suit of the owners, but between my absymal French and their desire to accommodate, everything was fine. Their young employees' English is adequate. If I travel to that region again, I would not want to experiment with another place. Hotel Plaisance was too pleasant!

Room Tip: Ask for the jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Materforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed one night at this popular Hotel with friends, having made the reservation through Logis. We all made use of the lovely heated swimming pool which is 100 metres from the hotel but an easy walk. It is certainly worth the effort. We dined on the terrace and all enjoyed our meals. The Fish soup was an excellent starter, followed by some good local dishes. The Cafe Gourmand was delicious. Some of the portion sizes were possibly too large, but the prices were good. The rooms were clean and tidy with nice views. We did not try the breakfast. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Vitrac area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plantsman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
4.5 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
688 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
367 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
317 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Plaisance

Address: Le Port, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vitrac
Price Range: $87 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Plaisance 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaisance Hotel Vitrac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing