We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING”
Review of L'Ombriere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vitrac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Ombriere
Ranked #2 of 7 Vitrac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had staying with Andrea and Barbara. What a wonderful home they opened to travelers. My room was so charming. The means were wonderful. They were wonderful historians of the area and gladly shared their wealth of information. Loved it! And would love to go back again someday! Thanks Andrea and Barbara!

Room Tip: I had a room on their top floor - very comfortable, large and inviting.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for L'Ombriere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Barbara and Andrea are perfect hosts. L'Ombriere provides a great base for day trips to visit this beautiful region of France. There is a lot to see whether you are interested pre-history, medieval villages or just want to visit the local markets. Definitely intend to be back. The staircase is a bit tight so try to limit the luggage, although Andrea is happy to help if needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a couple, what a place... Barbara and Andrea are angels and there are no other words to describe these people. The unplanned encounter with Barbara and Andrea was the most memorable thing that happened to us on our honeymoon trip. We got to L'Ombriere by accident and it was a priceless accident. I wish myself more accidents like this. The story itself does not matter. With a natural inner peace these very hard working people filled our hearts. We feel very lucky to have met them, and learn about true goodness and generosity.
As for the place itself - PERFECT is the minimum adjective to use. Simple as that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have never stayed in a bed and breakfast (and actually did not know we would be staying in one until right before the trip). But, I loved it! Barbara and Andrea are sweet, kind, and accommodating. Andrea was knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and would draw us maps and provide suggestions for each day. Their house is charming and has many nice touches they said they have collected during their 5 years owning the house. I would do a morning run each day and run through the neighboring hillside. I have never had views of castles while running!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor as they have more style and they are bigger than those on the second...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwilsononbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We cannot say enough good things about Barbara and Andrea, and their wonderful home at L'Ombriere. It was the perfect place for our short honeymoon offering us as much relaxation, rest, beauty and good food as you could possibly hope for. Barbara's breakfasts were divine, especially the raspberry muffins!, and we were so lucky to be given the opportunity to eat at L'Ombriere one evening. One of the best meals we had whilst in the region. Andrea is full of helpful information about the area, with lots of ideas of places to go and things to see whilst also up to date with any special events that might be taking place. His knowledge left us safely in his hands as we planned our activities! Definitely take notice of their recommendations on restaurants as well, they are all well worth a visit! Overall we felt so welcome at L'Ombriere and would recommend highly to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful break. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preciousholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Many thanks to Andrea & Barbara for a wonderful 6-night stay in April 2013. Everything written previously by other guests was spot-on. Our hosts were truly charming, kind and helpful and their B&B is run beautifully. Breakfasts with items provided by local producers (and the honey from Italy) were wonderful to behold both visually and gastronomically! Dinner was wonderful as well. We have stayed at many B&B's in the last 30 years and L'Ombriere rates with the best of them. With a whole world to explore, we rarely return to a spot twice but our stay here in the Dordogne, and specifically at L'Ombriere, makes us want to return very soon! Thank you for everything, Andrea & Barbara. Blessings, Dawn & Tyme

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was extremely spacious (as was the bathroom). Bed was super comfortable an...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillowandCordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. Andrea and Barbara are charming and very helpful hosts. We stayed in a top floor room which was very comfortable and spacious with a lovely countryside view. Breakfast included home-baked goods and local products and it was a very relaxed and enjoyable meal. The hosts also gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner in a local village and had many suggestions on places to visit which were all great. We cannot recommend this B&B enough to other travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitrac
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
2.9 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#2 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Barde
La Barde
#1 of 7 in Vitrac
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ombriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ombriere

Address: Montfort, 24200 Vitrac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Vitrac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vitrac
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing