We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by day one way, by night an other...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Maria Coral Park
Reviewed January 12, 2011

we stayed for 2 nights in october (low season) and were the only guests the 2nd night. the hut was basic, nicely furnished, okayish clean. the huge problem was sleeping at night: the first night we had millions of mosquitoes in the hut and under the mosquito net (which had holes), there were some animals running around and under the hut. the 2nd night we didn't get any sleep! there was a bush baby or rat or anything about that size that crowled INTO the hut and found some crackers inside my handbag. well, my own fault that i had food in the room (which i did forget about...) but the roof had a massive hole thru which the thing came in and ran out. the management gave us a discount on the room rate - but the fearfull but sleepless night was really, really disturbing!
during daylight however the hotel is wonderful! the white sand, the palm trees and the quiet empty beach were amazing. food was ok, price not really.
i would reccomend the hotel if your willing to risk some sleep and really get away from other people.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sissiibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

A totally relaxed beach experience, with thatched (recommended) or brick huts, and owners who seem dedicated to resisting the onslaught of the totally organised tourists who proliferate along the eastern coast of Zanzibar. Just chill out in a hammock, and watch a member of staff climb for coconuts. A place for travellers not tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Basically we thought this was a great little place up until the time of our departure. In fact as we were leaving it didn't really effect us but for anyone remaining it would have been a great annoyance. A group of locals turned up with a massive sound system and started playing African rap music at full volume. They even appeared to have sound desk and DJ! Not only this, they took over all the loungers on the beach so no one else could use them and proceeded to eat their own food brought from home. All of this appeared to have the approval of Coral Reef as they were using their power supply. When I asked one of the employees at the bar, he said that this was quite common at the weekend for wedding parties to head over to the east coast to celebrate. Indeed further down the beach there did appear to be another wedding party with a another large sound system. Now I guess that there would be little you could do if it had nothing to do with the Coral Reef but the fact that the hotel helped them is crazy!

Now having said all of that, I would still recommend this hotel but just avoid weekends maybe. It is also a bit difficult to go on and describe this place as a beautiful spot and an I island of tranquility but again up until that moment, it really was.

Accommodation was great, very clean and a reasonable size room. This wasn't luxury but we were very confortable. Our room had electricity but no hot water but this wasn't a huge issue for us. All the rooms were very tastefully deocorated in their own unique style and each had a veranda in front to sit out on.

Food was good, the usual fresh fish, chips and salad sort of thing. As someone else commented the lunch menu was pretty much identical to the dinner menu and if we'd been here longer than a couple of days the food would have become quite repetitive.

We arrived here from Matemwe. We travelled everywhere in Zanzibar by Dalla Dalla however they do not unfortunately run from Matemwe to Pongwe (only about 20kms). To get there by Dalla Dalla we would have had to go back to Stone Town. In the end we got to talking to a guy on the beach in Matemwe whose brother had a car etc but they showed up on time and took us to Ponge for the $20 as planned. Travelling back to Stone Town we got a Dalla Dalla as per norm. The guide books seemed to indicate that there wasn't a direct Dalla Dalla but we got one just outside, almost immediately. The Dalla Dalla station in Stone Town was however different to the one we left from.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrasul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Coral Park.

They have 5 bandas (huts) which were very simple but clean.
The plumbing was not the best though - the toilet took some fiddling with to get it to flush and the shower was a cool trickle.

The food was good but there was no change in the menu at all. There were no lighter snacks available so lunch was teh same as dinner. As a consequence we gave lunch a miss and just bough some things from the local village.

It is a very pretty bay, just around a headland from the Pongwe Beach Hotel - a nice walk at low tide. It is low tide most of teh time though - so you can only swim a couple of hours either side of high tide. There is quite a bit of seaweed around but it is cleared away in front of the cottages.

It was quiet at night - no real atmosphere except for the nightly bonfire and games of bau with local fishermen. The staff were friendly but distant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkaraBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I do not recommend this place. It is placed in a small bay. Most of the day time it is low tide wich mean you can't take a bath and you feel quite isolated. The food is really bad!! We decided to order lobster our first evening and got two small crab sticks with over boiled white rice..
The rooms/bandas are ok but nothing special, quite cute though. Every room has a bathroom, no hot water, electricity just during the dark hours.
The woman that owns this place does even own the neighbouring place Queen Shiba. It looks much nicer! Has a terrace with a beautiful view and the water is amazing! I don't think the food is much better though...

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Gyllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

If your looking for a secluded beach hotel with rustic charm, where you can lie in a hammock undisturbed, this is the place. Very casual and rustic, with a minimal capacity of approx. 16 guests, so you won't be surrounded by tourists.
Santa Maria is located on the east coast of Zanzibar, right on the beach of the tourqoise Indian Ocean close to neighbouring fishing villages.
Guests stay in simple wood huts, called Bandas, that are equipped with a small bathroom. Each Bandas has a small front porch.
At night the place becomes magical. Small lanterns line the paths and the trees are lit with white mini xmas lights. There is a small beach bar, and an evening bonfire on the beach tended to by a local member of the Masai tribe.
The food was excellent. We had the best Lobster and King Crab that we've ever exerienced. We ordered the seafood in the morning through the owner/manager, Anna. Her husband put in the request at the neighbouring fishing village.Later that night we had a feast, eating at a table set up for us right on the beach.
Santa Maria is by no means a luxury resort, if this is what you're used to. However, if you're looking for a break from the tourism of Stone Town this is a great, friendly yet subdued place to relax.
We sourced Santa Maria from the Lonely Planet guide. The ph# is 0747-432655 (-)

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 555smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongwe
0.8 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#3 of 6 in Pongwe
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tulia Zanzibar Unique Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Seasons Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Coral Park

Address: Pongwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pongwe
Price Range: $79 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering beachfront accommodation in Pongwe, Santa Maria Coral Park has a restaurant and bar on site and offers special diet menus on request. Guests can rent bicycles to explore the surroundings. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout. Each room has a private balcony, and mosquito nets over the beds. There is an outdoor seating area and a private entrance for each unit. The private bathroom is fitted, and the room offers sea views from the balcony. Santa Maria Coral Park has a beautiful tropical a garden. Services include a tour desk and free parking. Zanzibar International Airport is 45 km away and Jozani Chwaka National Park is a 30-minute drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Coral Park Hotel Pongwe
Santa Maria Coral Park Pongwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing