We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveler rating
855
155
36
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
155
36
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brackish water seafood platter bush babies our honeymoon stone town every morning infinity pool palm trees indian ocean low tide captain ali sea breeze no air conditioning little touches masai guards absolute paradise sun hats
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018

This was our third visit to Pongwe and this visit once again didn't disappoint. The setting, amenities, staff and vibe are outstanding. The fact that we've visited three times and keep coming back speaks for itself. Thanks to the whole team for making our stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank greggG4250FG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your latest stay with us. We're so pleased that we are able to keep the good vibe going and that you enjoyed your time with us!! Warmest wishes from the entire Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Pongwe Beach Hotel was an incredible experience from start to finish. The resort itself is gorgeous and pristine, with stunning water, private bungalows, clean amenities, and tons of bonuses like beach bags and kangas in your room. The bar and food were excellent! And the hospitality was best of all, probably-everyone was so friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay great. They helped us with our Swahili, taught us to play Bao, and even sent sparkling water with ginger to our room when I was feeling sick from the sun. Edmund, Mary, and Fatma were all particularly wonderful, but everyone was fantastic. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaigeT224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments and compliments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!! And we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future. We will pass your comments on to all the Staff. Warmest wishes from everyone here at Pongwe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

What a gem!!!! This place is all about relaxing on the beach or around the saltwater pool, having a cocktail (Happy hour every night 5-6), and eating some amazing food. You can purchase a meal plan or play it by ear. They have amazing pizzas on Wednesdays and Saturdays for lunch. Because we ate later that day, we found we didn't need a big dinner so just ordered on their snack menu for a sandwich and salad.You come to Pongwe for the amazing staff, beachfront accommodations and incredible warm Ocean air. This is a 5 star accommodation on the best beach around. We stayed here 4 nights after our Tanzania safari and found we needed a place to chill. This was the ticket. The salt water pool was very inviting since the ocean water was so warm it really wasn't refreshing. Best hotel on Zanzibar!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments and compliments. We are so pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us and you got the rest and relaxation you wanted!! Warmest wishes from the entire Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

This is a gem of a hotel, an absolutely blissful relaxing place to stay on a stunning Indian Ocean beach. The food is delicious, lots of seafood and fish as you would expect but also decent vegetarian choices. The dinner menu changes every day - if there is lobster or crab on the menu, make sure to order it! The setting is very relaxing, the rooms are spacious and there are lots of little touches that make a big difference - complementary 2 large bottles of water in the rooms every day, kikois and straw hats in the room for guest use, complementary fruit brought around at 3pm to the pool and beach every day, complementary tea and coffee and cake in the bar/restaurant every afternoon .... Service is friendly and unobtrusive but efficient and the restaurant/bar area is lovely, very relaxing, beautiful views. We had our children with us (8 and 12) and the staff were very patient and sweet with them. Stunning views from the infinity pool and you can also eat in a little cabana beside the pool if you can't manage to drag yourself the 100 metres from the pool to the bar! Try the delicious fresh passion fruit daiquiris!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pts1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. We are thrilled that we were able to give your family an enjoyable holiday!! Warmest wishes from everyone here at Pongwe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018

A perfect place to simply do nothing but sit on the beach or by the pool with great rooms, staff and food. If you want to be entertained, want an extensive menu choice, pay through the nose for drinks - go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pedrogold1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONGWE, Manager at Pongwe Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us!! Warmest wishes from the Pongwe Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews