We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and wonderful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Nice atmosphere and wonderful beach”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed with our 3 kids here for 4 nights in African rooms. Nice and clean rooms, even thought it was a slight smell of mould in the air. Friendly staff, slow - but that's a part of the atmosphere. Our children loved the wonderful beach, with a variety of shells to pick and crystal clear water - this is the place to just relax and do nothing. In the evenings this was a place for young people, but that didn't really disturb us, it rather gives the place a lively touch! A place for relaxing, even though you somethimes feel kind of prisoned and have to stay inside the hotel area for safety. On the beach there are a lot of people trying to sell you stuff, but try if you try to communicate you can have a nice discussion or a good laugh from meeting these people with an open mind. Try Kendwa - you will problably love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinemoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    185
    147
    59
    47
See reviews for
38
188
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wanted to stay in a place which had the most amazing beach in Zanzibar and this was definitely it. There were very few beach boys and the hotel security prevented them from coming further up the beach.

Hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful. I was used to African Timing by the time I reached here- but food and drink generally takes a long time.

With this being my first solo trip, I was a little apprehensive about getting lonely at a beach resort, but I met lots of people here and had a great time. I stayed in the Uganda room for one night and then moved to a beach bungalow for 3 nights. All rooms were lovely and clean. I also had my own little veranda area and hammock to rest. I would recommend paying online for the rooms beforehand if you can, as the staff seemed to think that I was due to check out a day earlier, but as I'd already paid, they couldn't dispute anything.

If you want to go for a relaxation/rest break, this however may not be the best place, as it's possible to hear lots of noise till the early hours of the morning. They are also building a "club" which is due to open in a couple of months and I assume that will add to the noise a fair bit.

NB. There are hotel security guards dogs at night (whom you should definitely not run from!!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-o-holic200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsm
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I did not stay in this hotel but just been there to enjoy the so called party that rocks 'Full Moon Party'. It's amazing and electrifying experience ...over 1000 people gather here to have fun.

It's start at 11pm till early morning...following info:-
Wear simple outfits like T shirt and shorts with flippers, no cash at counters as you have to buy a card and use tht in all drop shots bar - good system, entrance fee is 10,000/ Tzs, beware of pick pockets and of course keep a distance with Rastas unless you know them personally, music is fantastic...check their web site for party schedule. Try not to miss this event if you happen to be in Zanzibar during those dates...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beautiful beach and a lots of fun and I had a great time here, but mostly not because of the hotel and staff.

First the bar: Many of the bartenders almost seemed annoyed when I requested a drink. Many of the bartenders are not really bartenders as they dont know what an irish coffee is or how to make a drinkable long island.

Restaurant: my impression was that none of the waiters had a single clue about what the menu consisted of or how the different dishes taste. Give your staff a taste of the menu god d***it!

Room: our toilet had a
window in the door with the shi*ter right in plain view.No covers. Guess it makes for a good laugh...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olavespedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have no interest in checking it out during the full moon parties but it is actually a very pleasant place during the other days. Helps to be a weekend or some time when there are at least a few people around, but the facilities, themselves, make this a really nice spot. The dorms are obviously reasonable enough and we (4) stayed a night in one of the mid-hill bungalows. As 4 of us, the value for money was actually pretty amazing. Terrific little cottages. Really relaxing, hammock, etc. The beach and bar/restaurant are well maintaned and serve some nice drinks/food at a bearable price. The place is just really really beautiful. Would be expensive to spend a long time (and there are certainly cheaper places around), but a nice way to spend a day or two.

I just wish they could use something other than an armband for ID that makes you feel like you are a kid at a waterpark.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

During my stay at Kwenda rocks I slept in two different rooms. The first three night in a simple room, which I do not recommend to stay in for a longer period of time. The rooms are quite small and you have to share three toilets and showers with the rest of people that booked a simple room. Furthermore, the simple rooms are located near the entrance gate of Kendwa and at night the guards or however it may be can get quite noisy.
Luckily we transfered to the Yemen room for the major part of our stay, one of the suites at the Kendwa resort. This room was very nice and clean and was located closer too the beach.

The personnel at Kendwa rocks is very friendly, this goes for the people at reception and the staff in the restaurant and bar area. We had a great time with Anita, Malina, and Abubakar. Since we were with a larger group of people ordering food took quite some time, but after two weeks in Dar es Salaam we already got used to the This Is Africa waiting times. The bar closes around 11 - 12pm during weekdays, on saturday there is a big party on the resort which goes on for a long time. During the weekdays the sunset resort located next to Kendwa is a nice place to have a drink and play some pool, but watch out for the guard dogs at Kendwa when you return at night. Tip: DON'T RUN AWAY!

By the way, when returning from Kendwa to the Ferry in Stone Town you shouldn't pay more than 10.000 Tsh for a shared van.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfbkrebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent more than 2 weeks in Tanzania, and kendwa rocks was by far the most unpleasant experience of our trip. We arrived at Kendwa Rocks around 4pm and we asked to see an available room mentioning that we were willing to spend from 3 to 5 nights (we did not make any reservation). We saw a nice room by the beach and agreed to stay for at least 3 nights at 100$ a night. The day after, we were suddenly asked to check out and to move from our room because "they had a previous reservation". They gave 2 other options: a stinky room and/or a more expensive one. At the end, they couldn't find us a similar accomodation for the price we had agreed upon, and we were forced to leave and to look for another place, practically wasting a day of vacation because of an error they had committed and for which they did not take responsibility. the manager of the hotel doesn't know what "costumer service" means, and her maximum effort was to offer a 10% discount. Bad costumer service, and negative experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan_Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonia k, Front Office Manager at Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We’re very sorry that you and your girlfriend felt that Kendwa Rocks was the most unpleasant experience of your trip. Since we’re one of the most popular hotels in Zanzibar, especially during high season we’re full almost all the time. We reserve and guarantee the room to everyone who book and pay it either advance through our online booking system (you can access it from our website at www.kendwarocks.com) or book and pay upfront all the nights they want to stay in our hotel upon arrival.

When you arrived, you didn’t mention how many nights you wanted to stay. You only booked and paid for one night, since you wanted to talk to the manager the next morning about discount before extending your stay. We apologized multiple times for any miscommunication or confusion from our side, and showed you other obviously limited amount of rooms we had available since we were almost full. We apology here again for any miscommunication from our side that the room you stayed in was only available for one night, but nothing more was ever promised or agreed. Since we’re so popular, and you didn’t even want to look at our nice (cheaper) garden rooms, and didn’t want to pay more for our beautiful Beach House rooms even with 10% discount, unfortunately we couldn’t offer you a room of your liking for the next unpaid and unbooked nights. We’re glad though that you liked our upbeat atmosphere, which you recommended to others in your review of Gold Zanzibar Beach House and Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zanzibar Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Kendwa
Sunset Kendwa
#145 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natural Kendwa Villa
Natural Kendwa Villa
#2 of 6 in Kendwa
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mocco Beach Villa
Mocco Beach Villa
#4 of 6 in Kendwa
27 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 43 in Nungwi
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kendwa Beach Villa
Kendwa Beach Villa
#2 of 4 in Kendwa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel

Property: Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
Address: Kendwa Beach, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendwarocks Bungalows Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing