We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Days of Chumbe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Ranked #6 of 172 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed on Chumbe Island for 3 nights after our Safari. The service and food were excellent. So many choices at all 3 meals. Staff were so friendly and helpful.
We stayed in Hut #7 which was more private, the composting toilet was not bad at all. The green snake visited us a few times over the 3 days, while startling at first I eventually got use to it.
The island was beautiful, beaches were amazing. I did not get to go snorkeling due to an ear injury sustained while diving on Zanzibar but my husband loved it and said he saw tons of fish, lobsters and turtles... Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Had Hut number 7 which was the furthest away, making it more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 619 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of our highlights on our trip to East Africa was our visit to Chumbe Island Coral Park... From the moment the boat picked us up until we were dropped off again 2 days later, we were looked after.. The staff are amazing! looking after your every need! Snorkelling was wonderful, the bungalows are rustic, comfortable, clean, tranquil, peaceful and fun. I really liked pumping the hand pump showers for my partner..lol although getting enough hot water was a bit of a challenge..Food was great!!! Thank you John!! The evening Dow ride we took was thrilling, fast and rough...big smiles the whole time!!
This is an adventure not to be missed if you go to Zanzibar...

Room Tip: We were in bungalow #5 in the corner away from the walking path..very private... although I think an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The excitement starts as the little boat arrives to take you there and continues for the whole stay. It is the most amazing place and also a wonderful project. It is not cheap but it is definitely worth the money especially as it is also supporting the project. Highlight must be the snorkelling on the fantastic colourful reef and swimming with a turtle in the wild, not forgetting all the fabulous fishes. How they cook the delicious food astounds me. The meals are great. The accommodation is unique and very comfortable. Lodge 7 and 8 have a delightful swing double bed that is worth trying for !Do stay the night if you can and make sure you see the crabs at night ! Prehistoric. I can't end without saying how special the staff are too. So smiley and knowledgeable and obviously passionate about their project. No one should go to Zanzibar and miss this. Book early as there are only 7 lodges.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had the most amazing expereince at Chumbe Island where we spent two nights with our 2 young children. On the one hand, it was a bit tricky with toddlers as there are lots of hazards for them. However, we were so desperate to experience Chumbe while in Zanzibar, we went anyway and, while it was stressful at times, we were so glad we did!

Vera (one of the ladies who works there) was sooooo amazing and insisted on babysitting for us on our first day while we went to snorkel. It was a real surprise and we grabbed the opportunity with both hands and were on the boat and out to sea in minutes!!

What makes this place so incredibly special is its wildlife, or namely, its endless number of crabs which scuttle about (mainly at night). From Coconut crabs to the adorable hermit crabs, you feel like you are in lost in another world within a Stephen King novel... it is so unique.

This place is Robinson Crusoe territory - breathtakingly beautiful with amazing beaches, nature and views to die for.. The treehouses are so amazing and well designed. . You are right in the heart of nature but in the comfort of a super king size bed, a mozzy net and a real loo (not something we expected in a carbon neutral zone like this!).

And as for the food, we actually cooked up a meal from the Chumbe recipe book just yesterday. The culinary experience here is enough of a reason to come here - it's excellent. And to top it, you eat under the most incredibly starry sky i have ever seen.... No light pollution so the visibility is something else.

We will definitely come back here one day. This island and the whole eco cause that drives its tourism is refreshing and reassuring. These people educate and inspire on a micro but also a macro level and so you can relax knowing you contributed somehow to conserving the beauty of your surroundings and beyond.

Room Tip: Hut no 6 is the best located but they are all a second's walk from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you want to get the experience of an Island paradise with amazing food then GO for it.
Stayed there for 3 nights (the bungalow is already an experience), snorkeling was fantastic although did not see sharks but maybe next time... All the best for the staff!

Room Tip: Looked like bungalows 6 and 7 had the best view and privacy but be prepared for the active sounds of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spent two nights on Chumbe island and I have to say it was magical in every way. Just being there, part of nature and away from all unnecessary city distractions was a delight. The island is very friendly and the whole concept of it to maintain and protect marine life makes every penny you spend and enjoy also worth more cause it contributes to a cause. The staff are friendly, the food is amazing and we had some of the best snorkeling experiences we ever had any where else. I highly recommend and would definitely go back some time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wessam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We loved out stay on Chumbe. The island is lovely, the snorkeling wonderful, the water gorgeous and warm, the little huts are quaint and sweet and rustic in a very appealing way. I even thought the long drop toilet was fun! It's not luxury though - be prepared for some bug bites, the heat - as there is no air conditioning (it's an eco lodge, after all) and the cottages are open air. We found that we needed to spend the afternoons actually in the water to stay cool - but the evenings were gorgeous as it cooled down. It's a bit dream like, actually, which was lovely.
The staff are amazing! We felt looked after completely - and we got to know the staff quite well, as there are only 7 cottages on the island and so a limited number of people there. Always a big smile for us and always an inquiry as to how we were doing. Great energy from everyone which made us feel that it was a truly special place.
And the food - just amazing!!! It was loads of fun to eat on the balcony's off the main lodge or on the beach in the evening, in candlelight.
My only small thought that would have improved our comfort somewhat would be that nicer bedding - I know, I sound like a princess but hear me out!! - would have improved our sleep. Being hot and sticky is much easier when you have nice slippery cool sheets to rest on:)
And yes, everything has to be loaded on to the boat in the water - so try to arrange to leave excess baggage behind, if at all possible.
We would go back in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
16.1 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
26.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,678 reviews
25.2 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
25.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
319 reviews
27.6 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumbe Island Coral Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumbe Island Coral Park

Address: Chumbe Island, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: $452 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumbe Island Coral Park 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning exclusive private island, fully managed nature reserve and marine park. Guided tours included through spectacular coral reef, forest and mangrove nature trails, historic lighthouse and visitors' centre. State-of-the-art zero-footprint eco-architecture (photovoltaic energy, rainwater harvesting, solar water heating, composting toilets). Free environmental education programs for local schools. Winner of British Airways Tourism for Tomorrow award 1999, UNEP Global500 award 2000, National Geographic Geotourism Challenge award 2008, finalist Aga Khan award for architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chumbe Island Coral Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumbe Island Coral Park Hotel Zanzibar
Chumbe Island Coral Park Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing