We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Nearby Hotels
$517
$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$681
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Zanzibar(Kiwengwa)
$241
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zanzi Resort(Zanzibar Island)
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$430
$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveler rating
583
35
14
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
35
14
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest walkcoconut crabeco tourismrobinson crusoeday tripperseco lodgeclamshermit crabsmarine lifeforest tourovernight stayjohn kingmbweni ruinsrain waternight walklow tidesolar power
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 641 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I must admit, we do research out our trips thoroughly and therefore tend to stay in good quality places that are highly rated. Chumbe Island is no exception - in fact, it is likely the best place we have ever stayed in our many travels. We thoroughly enjoyed the island and it was my wife's favourite part of our trip to Africa.

We were very lucky with our first night as we had the entire island to ourselves. It was surreal to have such a wonderful place with only the staff around - felt like royalty. The food was sublime - we enjoyed everything and overate at every meal. We also did every activity that was offered - only the snorkeling disappointed but this was due to the rain and wind that had rolled in earlier in the day, muddying up the water.

To top off our wonderful stay, the crew did a special event for our anniversary. They organized a boat trip and also set up a wonderful personal bbq. I can't express enough how special that was for us. The crew will feel like friends at the end and we hope one day to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looseendsmakeknots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We absolutely loved our one-night stay on Chumbe. The snorkeling was the biggest highlight, with an incredible amount of marine life to see. Everything else was fantastic too - the knowledgeable and friendly staff, the delicious food, and the whole eco-tourism experience. For complete relaxation and a once in a lifetime experience, choose Chumbe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AST163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed one night and also stayed for extra snorkeling the next day (they had an opening). We came from an all inclusive resort on the east side of Zanzibar to this Eco-lodge. Totally different experience but just as fun. We love snorkeling and did Mnemba atoll and Chumbe. Both were great, the coral at Chumbe is seriously impressive. And it's right off shore-about a two minute boat ride. The food was excellent, best octopus I've ever had. The staff is fun and obviously excited about what they are doing there. The night walk to see the crabs should NOT be missed. The bungalow experience was a once-of-a-kind for us. But it was really great. And not only are you paying for your stay but for reef preservation.

Room Tip: We were in Bungalow 2. excellent view. The boat to Chumbe leaves from the Mbweni ruins hotel. Our taxi driver was not too informed, so maybe make sure your cabbie knows where it is. It's not far from the airport. We spent one night and then paid the "day trip" amount to snorkel and stay during the next day, taking the 4:30pm boat back. So glad they had availability.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peabody69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

to be than Chumbe island.
Snorkling in combination with the island experience was the finest possible.
Great reef and corals, beautiful fish and turtles.
Extremely friendly personal and fantastic food, served on the beach.
Great to sleep in eco-bungalows from which you know that they don't negatively impact the environment.
Great time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed three nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are special and a lot of fun, food is excellent, there is lots of space for yourself and great nature. We recommend the intertidal walk and of course snorkling is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews