We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional Instruction, Gets you right to the open water”

Rising Sun Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the Unexplored with Zanzibar's only 5 Star Gold Palm and National Geographic Dive Centre! This means that we offer you the highest levels of customer care and attention whilst encouraging you to conserve and explore the marine environment. We take divers from complete beginners up to professional level and have a massive variety of diving. Guaranteeing something for everyone. With our small groups of a maximum of 6 divers per guide we are able to offer you the chance to escape the large crowds and get the most from your dives. Rising Sun dive centre is located on the South East beach which offers some of the best diving on this side of the island with its 65km fringing reef and abundant aquatic life. We are situated in the beautiful resort of Breezes Beach Club and Spa, next to Baraza & Palms resort & Spa.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Professional Instruction, Gets you right to the open water”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We haven't been into diving before, just a little bit of snorkeling. They recommended us to read the book first which really helped during the 3 day course. The people are friendly and professional. However: you don't get the certificate for granted. It is work and the instructors won't let you pass if you don't show the required skills both in the water as well as in writing. I like it that way. We went on a guided diving trip with them the day after the exam. That was when the real fun began! The underwater world is unbelievable and our guide made all the difference. If we come back to Zanzibar we will definitely go diving with them!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gisbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The diving instructors are very professional and so much fun to dive with! Great variety of dive-sites too. Would recommend to take dives outside the reef, for best visibility and more exciting marine-life. Havent tried other dive-centers on the island, but it doesn't get much better than this.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FredrikBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“From rookie to certified in 3 days”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The team at Rising Sun made my introduction to scuba and subsequent certification fun, easy and relaxing. I had a great time and saw loads of amazing fish and coral, and was an experience I'll never forget. Rising Sun were great fun to work with and I thoroughly recommend them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
“Fun and relaxing!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was a great experience! After not diving for several years, the staff was more than helpful in getting me back in the water. They are great group of instructors. I will be going back there next time I am in Zanzibar!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Simplicity and Fun Diving!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The crew at the Rising Sun Dive Center will make your diving trip easy and enjoyable. The atmosphere is relaxing from the moment you step into the shop, to your first time diving in the warm Indian Ocean, until the end of your trip when you hop off the boat and walk onto the beautiful quiet beach in front of Breezes.
The boat is African style, which adds character to the trip while you are eating chunks of fresh pineapple and warming up in the sun on the hull after a dive. The crew loves diving, and their goal is to make it easy for you. They are great with inexperienced divers (since they are also instructors and can teach you how to dive from your first breath of air underwater).
If you don't want to haul your gear through Africa, they have plenty available. Definitely bring a camera to record your awesome memories, and remember to check out their Facebook Page!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun Dive Center also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to Rising Sun Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing