We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mtoni Ruins tour and Taraab Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mtoni Palace Ruins

Mtoni Palace Ruins
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mtoni Ruins tour and Taraab Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We did the Mtoni ruins tour and taraab show on a Tuesday night. Starting with Saidi, our wonderful guide, telling the history of the palace and the Sultan, his wives, mistresses, children etc and explaining how the palace was when it was built, we then entered the palace ruins for the show. It is just magical inside the Palace - all set out with antique furnitures and beautiful oil lamps giving soft lighting and above you the stars! Saidi and the musicians explain about how Taraab came to Zanzibar and then we got to hear this wonderful music from the band with singers and dancers showing how taraab progressed through the years. Half way through we break for food and had a traditional array of Zanzibarian specialities - sambusa and snack foods like bhajia and potato with fish (like small fishcakes) served with wonderful fresh coconut chutney and a very hot fresh chilli sauce(!), with chapatti (traditional Zanzibari flat bread) then to mishkaki (small skewers like mini kebabs) of fish and meat. The plate was full of taste sensation and we and other guests sat together to eat and discover more about each other. After the savoury food we sat for the next part of the music show and fruits and traditional sweet bites were brought round. During the second half we were encouraged to get up to dance and we all had great fun dancing to the Taraab music with the professional dancers and waiters and everyone joining in! It was a great night with a mix of history, music, food, dancing and a great atmosphere! The palace at night is just magical and we all had a wonderful evening. I would highly recommend you go to this show it's a MUST!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FastChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Palace Ruins, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the concert and dinner at Mtoni Palace.
It is a great feeling to know that our efforts and dedication towards the palace are being recognized and appreciated.

In addition to that, we are pleased to know that you had a wonderful night at the palace and that you enjoyed the food and the performances as well. As for the dancing, I totally agree with you! It was a lot of fun :)

We look forward to having you again for many more magical nights.

Thank you!

Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    21
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A most memorable evening performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was recommended the evening performance at Mtoni and it was really worth a visit! It started with a guided tour through the ruins and explanation of the ongoing restoration project by the person who is responsible for the work.
Then we were offered a really generous dinner buffet that we could enjoy while listening to live traditional music (included in price). Beer, wine, etc. was also available.
The program then went on with more music and dance performances. All on an open courtyard under a warm, star filled night-sky.
Highly recommended!
(And the income goes to the restoration project.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank eraenfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtoniM, Public Relations Manager at Mtoni Palace Ruins, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment.

We are very pleased to know that you had a lovely time here at Mtoni Palace Ruins and that your evening was one that could be cherished and made memorable by Mtoni Zanzibar.

We hope you will visit us soon again. It was a pleasure having you.

Regards
Shahzmah Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gitarama, Gitarama, Rwanda
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a wonderful night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Every Friday (and I believe Tuesday) night, this group turn the Mtoni Palace Ruins into the must go place in Zanzibar. There is amazing live music, dance, a entertaining guided tour and delicious food. With some cloth, a hand full of furniture and brilliant yet subtle lighting (mostly done with candles) they create an enchanting atmosphere for a perfect Zanzibar night out.

We loved our evening at the palace and highly recommend it - a must do if your in Zanzibar!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Palace Ruins, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to heir out your opinion and giving us a feedback about your your experience at the Mtoni Palace concert. We are very pleased to know that you had a good time and that it was a memorable event for you to cherish. We are happy that our efforts are being noticed.

We hope to have you again in future so we could entertain you once again. Its been a pleasure having you at the Mtoni Palace, we say Karibu Sana!

Thanks
Shahzmah Tim
Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Definitely a must-do when in Zanzibar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This truly must be, in my humble opinion, on the top 5 things to do/see/experience when you're visiting Zanzibar!

This evening was amazing, enchanting, awesome and simply just magic, and i feel so blessed, that i am so fortunate to have experienced this.

The guide was charming and very knowledgeable and has a sincere devotion to this site and it's history.

The ruins was magic, and when the sun set, it became even more stunning.

The concert, with it's beautiful music, capitvatiting dancing and singing was simply just undescribeable - it has to be seen with your own eyes and heard by own ears,

To me it was magic, i was spellbound.

Just do this!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoaMzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Palace Ruins, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Mtoni Palace Ruins.
We are pleased to know that you had a good time and that you feel you could magical with the experience at the palace.

We welcome you to join us again, hopefully soon!

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Interesting talk about the history followed by great music with a performance and a lovely meal! Beautiful views of the sky as there was no roof.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank T-shirtLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtoniM, at Mtoni Palace Ruins, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting. Indeed the history of the palace goes way back and it feels great to know that you found the history interesting. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed gazing at the sky while listening to the music.

Looking forward to having you with us again for more concerts :)

Best Regards
Shahzmah Tim
marketing@zanzibar.cc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mtoni Palace Ruins also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Mtoni Palace Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing