We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical week”
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzi Resort
Ranked #2 of 170 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed 6 nights from March 22-28. What a wonderful experience: the location and property, the villa and gardens, the staff (especially Katherine, Ibrahim, Paul), the beach, all was exceptional. If you want privacy and relaxation this is the place to be. The resort is extremely safe, clean and quiet. The private pool, day bed, and private beach (rocky but with sand - perfect for swimming) were amazing. There is a small coral reef for snorkling right out front of the resort, perfect for a short swim. Anything that you want or wish to do is arranged for you with incredible ease. We will be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Villa seven was the most private
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdncouple77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Zanzi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 500 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 and loved it. The combination of privacy and luxury was amazing and really hard to beat. We hired a car one day and hurried back as the only place we wanted to be was in the peacefulness of Zanzi Resort. The rooms have space and everything you need and we just spent the days slowly moving to different spots in the garden and watching the world go by on the beach. The staff were fantastic, were so helpful and friendly. Highly recommend the Pina Coladas as sun downers. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had booked two villas in the Zanzi. When we arrived we were welcomed very warmly by the landlady and shown to all the facilities and our villas. Everything, restaurant, garden, rooms and private pools are perfect, staff members are very friendly, helpful and well managed. The kitchen puts emphasis on healthy food. When organizational issues like day trips, diving or flights had to be managed, Katherine, the general manager was of very competent and immediate support. We felt at home in every sense. Great resort, if not the best, in Zanzibar. On the last evening we had a private dinner at the beach, excellent ! In essence: to be highly recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetraveller631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Zanzi Resort is very well decorated, new, and clean. They have 7 villas in the resort and of 4 of the villias you have access to your own private beach. We stated in villa 7 and was secluded. We were so secluded we barely had interenet.

During the day, the ocean is typically on low tide. Water will depreciate about half a mile out into the ocean. Most of the floor is really rocky.... We were told if we swam a mile out to where the coral reefs are we'd be able to have clear visibility, but we had no luck.

If you are looking to just relax and recollect yourself-this resort will offer you complete quietness. Other then that, there is nothing to offer at this hotel. If you want to travel to stonetown, its 15km away and they only use a specific taxi company that charges $60-$100 per trip depending on the time of day and how long you will be out there.

The staff at the resturant are very kind, but of the whole week we've been there, there has not been once that they were able to get our orders correct. For instance, if you order coffee and juice, bank on just getting one or the other.

My recommendation to enjoy zanzibar is to be brave! get a rental car. We ended up getting a vehicle, and explored the whole island. Every part of the island had something unique to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank swtbublz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank You very much for taking your time and reviewing our Resort! We appreciate your effort. We are considering every single comment in order to see different ways of improving our service. All our villas are secluded from each other. Our focus is privacy therefore most of our guests are honeymooners. So that usually atmosphere in the Resort is very quiet, relaxing and romantic. However we do have fantastic events with life music, traditional and contemporary dances and other entertainment.
We do have free WiFi in all areas including every villa. The speed of internet depends on guest’s consumption. Usually if guests are not downloading or uploading big files we have very good connection.
Our beach is tidal as all the rest of the beaches on Island. Water goes away and comes every 6 hours. Exact time of the tide is always changing since it depends on moon. For convenience of our guests we have timetable of tides in every room so that one can easily plan his day according to that. However we are lucky enough to be on the west side of the island for difference between tides here around 50 m at the most. It has advantage in comparison with the east coast where water goes away for 2 km and it is literally impossible to swim there while at ZanziResort one always can reach water deep enough to swim even during the lowest tide. We have shallow reef which is a bit sharp, but we are providing our guests with special reef shoos so that they can enjoy marine life brought by tide – sea starts, crabs, divers shells. We have our own coral reef in 70 m from the shore which is beautiful and easy to access. Visibility is always the matter if weather conditions, wind and currents. Some things like tides and weather unfortunately are beyond our control. We are providing our guests with full sets snorkeling equipment so that they can enjoy marine life of Indian Ocean. Besides that we have windsurfers, kayaks, volleyball, badminton, bicycles, special Gym with onsite personal coach, massage room. So those who would like to spend their holidays a bit more active there is plenty of opportunity to do so. For those who prefer to explore Island more we are offering number of Island excursions and activities including diving, kitesurfing, horse riding and many more. As a Hotel we are not allowed to make excursion so that we are cooperating with the most reliable and reputable ground tour operator on Island who makes for as all possible excursions (including tailor made!) and transfers. One always can choose local cheap taxi, but on our view it’s not safe and not reliable – usually those drivers are not carrying any insurance, their vehicles are not equipped with AC, drivers do not speak English and moreover one cannot be sure of good technical condition of the car. We do not feel right to advise our guests this kind of service, but of cause one always can choose. The most expensive transfer/excursion which cost 100 USD per vehicle includes full day trip around whole Island which is quite reasonable.
Our staff is trying their level best to deliver our guests excellent service. There could be some mistakes since they all are human beings; however we are providing them permanent daily training in order to improve their performance. We are very flexible with our service. Even once you came in the middle of the night and requested complete hot meal we had delivered it to you and accommodated all your wishes even though the orders have been changed by the guest many times. Guests of all nationalities are coming from all over the world and sometimes have differrent dialects of English what gives some challenges to our staff as well. But they are trying to learn all of it so that comprehension between them and our guests are very clear.
Thank you once again for being so kind to review our property.
We hope to see you staying with us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

After a hectic Safari in Kenya Jon & I spent a week at the Zanzi Resort recovering from the early morning game drives and travel! It was a perfect location to relax, chill and just 'be'! The resort is beautifully designed and maintained with stunning grounds and wonderfully private villa accommodation, each with its own pool and piece of beach. The staff are amazing and really make this place perfect. Nothing is too much trouble and there is the right amount of friendliness. Marilu is the 'jewel in the crown'! From the moment we arrived until our departure she was continually available and there to make our stay special, particularly as our whole holiday had been to celebrate the 70th birthday of my partner. She organised a special meal for us and had made a cake, which was presented by a procession led by Marilu and the restaurant staff all singing and dancing to bring it to our table!
Privacy is highly respected at this resort and in theory you could have room service for every meal and be totally alone, but we preferred to go to the dining area which was never too busy and the service was second to none.
All the staff from the gardeners to the management are terrific but I would particularly like to mention with thanks, our lady cleaners (a wonderful job every day), Serengeti (bar), Ibrahim (room service & waiter) and Abdul, plus the kitchen staff for wonderful food and of course Katherine, who as the overall manager has a tremendous amount of responsibility for the administration of the resort.
If you are looking to totally de-stress and be treated as an individual, then this is the place to go, but be aware that this is a small, exclusive resort in an isolated area so there isn't any entertainment, large choices of food or the amenities of a larger hotel with gyms and spa facilities etc. There is a small 'outdoor' exercise area where you can have training with a martial arts feel, 1-2-1 Yoga or Pilates sessions and massage therapies are also available.
We were sad to leave and felt quite emotional as our taxi arrived and the staff lined up to say farewell! A truly special experience.

Room Tip: Villas 4 -7 are in the best position.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonV19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The photos do not do justice to how beautiful this place is! Our private secluded villa was perfect for our honeymoon! We loved our private lap pool, and the vegetation; the service was fantastic; the gourmet food was delicious (though if you're picky, there aren't many choices); the only downside is that it was VERY hot in January, so I ended up staying in the A/C indoors during the peak of the day, and the restaurant is not air conditioned; in addition, being on the west coast of the island there is no breeze, and not as many sandy beaches, though my husband did enjoy snorkling and kayaking off our private beach. If you're looking for privacy this place is great - if you're hoping for lots of amenities (i.e.gym, spa, buffet food dinner), its not the place for you.

Room Tip: We had a bit of noise from an adjacent property, but it was nice music so it didn't bother us...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for all your nice words and taking time to give us your feedback!
You are right - ZanziResort's main advantage is Privacy. This is what we are trying to provide to our guests at the highest level. And that's why newlyweds often choose our resort.
We are using only fresh ingredients in our kitchen, that's why we are not offering very extensive menu. Although, everyone should find something suitable!
Once again thanks for the review and hope you will come back to us someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Staff is what makes this place so great. Don't get me wrong, the accommodations are first rate and what most come to expect from a high star resort, but the Management of this hotel has truly done a phenomenal job of hiring, training, and retaining a very friendly staff that understands what higher end accommodation guests expect. The food was outstanding, the service was friendly and attentive, and the grounds and rooms very nicely kept. It's expensive, but as you look around and realize the standards this hotel is keeping to, you can quickly do the math and understand the cost involved.

Room Tip: Villa 6 and 7 have a private beach direct access. However, Villa 4 had a few more areas to lounge o...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
Our team really love their work and it is so good to hear that guests can see their involvement. If you are happy than we are happy!
We hope someday you will come back to ZanziResort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
13.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
23.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
13.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
27.9 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
13.7 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 170 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: $279 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. ZanziResort's African Eco Villas are made of local materials like wood and clay. They are designed in african spirit with all luxury amenities. Villas have one big room and bathroom. Outside each villas has relax area. Close to those villas there is a big swimming pool. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing