We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzi Resort
Ranked #1 of 166 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kigali, Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Privacy at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Zanzi resort 3 nights as family with a 2 year old child. If you are looking for privacy, relax and the quietest place ever this is the place for you. The villas are big and have private swimming pool, gazeebo and access to water and beach accessible with low tide. The Chef is superb and both the presentation and the quality of the food excellent. Extra are not overpriced, many come for free, with the compliments of the management. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be served in our villa which makes it ideal if you really want to enjoy your own privacy. For a family with a 2 year old we opted for this option at dinner when our little one was already asleep. Staff is extremely helpful and ready to accomodate any request. The garden is marvellous, you feel in the middle of a tropical forest and yet can enjoy the comfort of your villa.
Greatly recommended for couples as well as families

Room Tip: Villa 6 is perfectly located at the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisaRadisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again.

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    19
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
217
25
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin. ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having thoroughly enjoyed a week at the Zanzi resort in March 2013, I would definitely recommend spending some time here if you are planning a visit to Zanzibar. It is located about 30 minutes from Stonetown, a good distance in that you are away from all the hustle and bustle of the main town but can easily visit should you want to. The drive to the resort is fascinating as you get to see some of the real Zanzibar.

Zanzi is perfect for those looking for complete relaxation and privacy. The villas are located only a short walk from the main restaurant/bar area but feel very secluded. We spent hours just lying out in our double outdoor bed reading and watching the ships sail by beside a private pool. Just sublime. We were lucky enough to stay in the honeymoon villa. The interior of our villa was fitted to a very high spec and kept immaculately clean by housekeeping. Louise ensured that the villa was allergy friendly too (non feather etc – as I am asthmatic so this is a very important consideration). All the villas are nonsmoking which is hard to find. Every day our bed was covered in gorgeous flower petal designs and they made a special effort for my birthday, which was wonderful. There was a working TV in our villa but we never used it (I noted someone else mentioned it in their review).

The staff at Zanzi couldn't be friendlier. You always feel very well looked after and any small issues that did crop up were swiftly dealt with by the resort manager Louise or her assistants. We found the staff in the restaurant fantastic - particular thanks to Jamal (and his game!), Asha and Immanuel as well as all the others who made our stay so very pleasant. The staff arranged a wonderful moonlit dinner on the beach on the night of my birthday, which I will always remember.

For us the only two aspects could possibly be improved on. Firstly, the cost of access to the main town (this may not be related to the hotel as there may be a monopoly on taxis etc on the island). Secondly it would be nice to have a little more choice on the dinner menus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Zanzi Resort. It's truly the perfect place to relax and enjoy the amazing surroundings the resort provides. The villa, private pool, restaurant, food, waiters, cleanliness were above all expectations. Absolutely every single person who works there has been a pleasure to meet. They are all very friendly, helpful and wonderful people. Even fun too:-)

If you look for relaxation in a calm, beautiful and private environment - this is the place to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irhuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again.

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We could have asked nothing more of a holiday! It was amazing. The accommodation, resort gardens, the service, the food - 10/10. What makes it even more special is the individual attention of the excellent staff. Nothing is too much trouble. If you want the holiday of a lifetime, Zanzi Resort is the place to go! Private, peaceful, perfect.

Room Tip: Villa 4 - on the little headland, totally private, fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again.

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is the best place I stayed at on Zanzibar (I stayed at the Mauru Mauru, the Hilton, and the Seacliff). Its gorgeous, food is great, and a really nice property. Its well managed also. The only downside was that the TV was not working, and the air-conditioning in the main part of the villa was not working, and the staff had to have an electrician come at night while I was at dinner. Well, when I cam back, he and five others were still there, and they reaked of sweat and really smelled the place up, and this was at like 9pm, so not a good ending to that day. Otherwise though, it was really a beautiful villa and you've got to expect a hiccup like that now and then. I highly suggest it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner and I had a really great stay at Zanzi resort. We were looking for somewhere to relax and this was simply perfect.
The staff were amazing; so friendly and helpful, they made us feel so welcome and like a part of their family.
The food was fabulous!
The villa was great; very modern, clean and comfortable and the private swimming pool was amazing!
We really had such a great stay and have already been recommending it to all of our friends.
Thank you Zanzi staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal N, Director of Sales at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again.

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We are impressed with the quality of the resort. Very quiet and relaxing place. Not too many villas which offer great privacy. It's moving the level of resorts in Zanzibar to a whole new level. Very professional and friendly staff. Katia, the hospitality manager is very friendly and professional and taking care of everything including the finest details. We highly recommend it and sure we will come again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahinoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate your feedback.

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us, you have brought a special kind of magic to Zanzi Resort and we hope that you will choose to visit us again

Karibu Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
13.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
23.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
23.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
13.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
24.9 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Property: Zanzi Resort
Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 166 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. ZanziResort's African Eco Villas are made of local materials like wood and clay. They are designed in african spirit with all luxury amenities. Villas have one big room and bathroom. Outside each villas has relax area. Close to those villas there is a big swimming pool. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing