We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort on the planet”
Review of Zanzi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzi Resort
Ranked #2 of 170 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best resort on the planet”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

That was my best holiday I ever had. Lovely people, gorgeous atmosphere, amazing food, crystal shiny blue ocean. Oo Man You have to go to Zanzi resort. I’ll be back there as soon as possible.

Radek - Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radoslaw K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    27
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
298
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was here in november perfect place for relaxing and resting. Very friendly staff. Good cuisine.Top comfort nice villa. Beautiful garden. I told my frinends that they have to come to Zanziresort Kama. Will be back.

Room Tip: villa 4,5,6,7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WojtekWielkopolska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Zazni Resort is characterized by extremly intimate atosphere (private villa, private pool, private view on the sea). Perfect for romantic holiday, but families with children will find something for themselves. What is more important - staff and all Zanzi employees create unforgettable and unique atmosphere! Wine and fresh juices - worth a sin :)
I really hope, that in close future I will come back there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This summer we spent nearly two weeks in ZanziResort and it was really wonderful time for us!
ZanziResort is a luxury holiday camp situated between west coast of island and palm forest. Every villa has individual access to the sea and also private swimming pool and garden with beautiful tropical plants. The villa is beautifully furnished – there is exotic wood, sandy marble and many african local features. Our bed was every day decorated with flowers by our maid! The staff is up to the highest mark, every time very friendly, caring and discreet, the food is really excellent - it is served on request at any time you want. We spent very relaxing time in ZanziResort because of its unusual character - it is different from other hotels and holiday camps we saw on Zanzibar Island - it is calm and isolated, there is no crowd, noise or hurry. Ideal place for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed in ZanziResort for 10 days in August .
The hotel is new and truly beautiful. There is a lot of unique art-works around, bravo for the artist. We got Ocean Front Villa with private pool. That was a real fun because the pool has swimming machine, we loved that. The villa, terrace, swimming pool were just for us, nobody else was there. We adore that kind of privacy! There were stunning sunsets, we used to go to swim into the sea in that time, the ocean was warm and quiet, unforgettable experience!

The villa is spacious, tasteful decorated and well-furnished. The personal assistant was discreet,
helpful and very friendly. Excellent food. We loved having in-villa breakfast. The dinners were different each time. One time Louise, the manager made special dinner for us on the beach. That was more than we expected! Absolutely amazing.

Thanks for all of you. You all did the best for us and we will never forget ZanziResort.

PS
I think we've discovered a recipe for a perfect holiday.
:-))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

it is very new and very charming resort on zanzibar. i met there very friendly and helpful staff, they have good food and wine, but the most important thing is really great atmosphere! perfect pleace for couples and families, for romantic weekend or longer stay. would love to go there next holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tucked away approximately 1/2 hour west of Stonetown is a hidden gem. Zanzi Resort. Recently opened (July 2012), this classy place combines the natural beauty of Zanzibar (a private, secluded beach; gardens filled with thriving local plants) with the modern conveniences of the western world (high speed internet, delectable food) to facilitate a truly relaxing and enjoyable experience.

While we were there, the staff bent over backward to ensure that our stay was a satisfying experience.

Each private bungalow has its own pool and includes coconcierge service as requested, creating the perfect blend of luxury, rest and seclusion.

The beach is open to all (whether or not one chooses to stay the night), which provides an excellent day trip option for those who might want to enjoy a bite to eat at the restaurant along with a private beach experience. If you’re looking for rest and relaxation in an authentically secluded location, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank risraelkloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise R, General Manager at Zanzi Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank You for your time in reviewing our Property. We appreciate all feedback as this is how we improve our standards and service levels.

Your words are most kind and it was truly a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us on the island at the very beautiful Zanzi Resort

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back as old friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
13.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,539 reviews
23.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
23.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,557 reviews
28.0 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
13.7 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzi Resort

Property: Zanzi Resort
Address: Kama, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 170 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzi Resort is an elegant and charming private hotel situated on the shore of the Indian Ocean, 20 km from the historic town of Stone Town and 25 minutes from the international airport. Seven large and luxurious villas, offering an intimate environment, are perfectly equipped and finished with an artistic touch, as is the restaurant and SPA. The outside of each villa features a large private pool with a counter current/ hydrotherapy element, patio, shower, gazebo draped in a mosquito net, a lush tropical garden and private path leading to a secluded beach on the Ocean. ZanziResort's African Eco Villas are made of local materials like wood and clay. They are designed in african spirit with all luxury amenities. Villas have one big room and bathroom. Outside each villas has relax area. Close to those villas there is a big swimming pool. A personal butler takes care of our guests and fulfills their needs. The resort, spreading over six hectares of astonishing garden, along with its in-house restaurant and SPA, was designed in a romantic style, ensuring a sense of profound intimacy. Our refined and carefully chosen menu will satisfy the most demanding palates. Guests can have their breakfast, lunch or dinner either in the restaurant, in the privacy of their villas or on the beach. We offer international cuisine, fresh fish and seafood, all with organic vegetables and spices picked from our own Eco-plantation. A coral reef lies 80 metres from the shore. We offer an interesting package of sports activities and island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Zanzi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing