We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise in its own right!”
Review of Milele Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milele Villas
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is probably one of the best hideaways on the Island. Magnificent view, Spacious and tidy villas, Friendly staff, Good food and above all it feels like home. Thank you Jasu for your hospitality!


Ahmed

Room Tip: Ask for the manager "Jasu", he is a wonderful person to deal with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rented Villa Lisa for five days the week before Christmas. We were a group of six about to embark on a three week adventure, and our first stop was Zanzibar. After a very long flight from Vancouver, we were all ready to relax and unwind ocean side, and the villa did not disappoint. Our jaws dropped when we arrived because the villa is A LOT BIGGER than it looks on photos. Everyone was very pleased.

The villa has three floors with six beds. On the first floor are two very large bedrooms and while the site describes them as doubles, they felt more like Queen size beds. Each of the rooms have their own en-suite bathroom and ceiling fan. The bedrooms are located across from each other and in between the two rooms is a larger, common area with two more beds, a crib and another full bathroom. I wouldn't describe it as a bedroom because it doesn't have the privacy of the other two rooms. However the beds here are large as well and could easily sleep another four people. Upstairs is an extremely large, open-concept floor plan with another two very large beds and an enormous vaulted ceiling. (Note, this room doesn't have a ceiling fan, but can get breezy if coming in from the right direction). There is only one bathroom upstairs, but the toilet and shower are separate so they can be used separately. There are two seating areas on this floor as well - one overlooking the pool and ocean which gets lots of sun in the late afternoon, and the other in full shade located around the TV. There is a small loft upstairs with a sofa, perfect for gazing out over the ocean.

The outdoor space on the first floor was well set up with a dining table and a small seating area, both of which seated six perfectly and located right next to the pool. We spent many a day and night lounging here taking our breakfast or lunch, reading books, having cold beers or chatting. Mornings and early afternoon are great here as they provide shade when you want it. In the afternoon hours we would move up to the second floor seating area for some shade.
We'd take our dinners at the large table on the sand located a few meters from the villa. Just a quick note here that the landscaping was well thought out, as it provided a lot of privacy and blocked any direct views to/from Villa Lisa which is next door on the same property.

For as beautiful and well appointed as the villa is, it's the staff that really makes this place shine. Jasu, the manager, is delightful and incredibly sweet. He went out of his way to make our stay fantastic, and provided service with a smile. He checked in regularly, but with just struck the right balance so as not to feel like he was always around. We definitely had our privacy and never felt intruded upon. He was our main point of contact for nearly everything from morning to late afternoon. Hajji is the other young man that took care of us once Jasu's shift was finished, and would take care of us through to evening time. Both of them always provided service with a smile, and helped us with our Swahili. Christina was there every morning to tidy the place up and take the laundry. She was very shy and sweet as well. Dodi, the chef, cooked up great food. Breakfast was fresh fruit and juices, delicate crepes and eggs. Dinners were spectacular feasts of fresh seafood, vegetables and local cuisine. In addition, we felt very well protected - especially at night - with the Masaii on staff who kept watch over the property and ensured the curious locals didn't linger around too long. And this was the just the staff's name which I could remember! There were more behind the scenes maintaining the pool and gardens, doing other behind the scenes work. I should also mention that most of the staff spoke English very well, and Jasu was exceptionally proficient. As our main point of contact, he set up our snorkeling and dive excursions with a local dive shop, and also chauffeured us to and from the shop. In addition, he arranged our taxi pick up and drop off from the local airport. In short, Jasu was the man and made sure we were very well take care of. In short, it was the perfect week of relaxation and beach time we wanted before our great adventure. We couldn't have asked for anything more and look forward to coming back again some day. I would highly recommend this to a family or group of friends looking to have a relaxing and private beach vacation.

A couple of notes to keep in mind if booking:

1. The beach isn't recommended for swimming as it's very shallow and very rocky. Perhaps you can go at high tide but we didn't venture out. However a 20 minute drive away is incredible Kendwa Beach, but you'll have to deal with the 'beach boys' as they refer to them locally. They will try to sell you all sorts of things or offer to be your guides.

2. Wifi internet is available, but it can be slow if multiple people are using it. Internet access can also be a little spotty at times.

3. As a previous reviewer mentioned, there are electricity blackout periods to help conserve power. Electricity is on in the mornings until just after lunch, and back on again in the late afternoon. Power is turned off at night, and the backup generator powers the fans.

4. For those that aren't familiar with the practice (as it's not as common in North America), tipping at the end of your stay based on the level of service is not required but recommended. The staff certainly appreciate it, and they go out of their way to make sure you are well taken care of during your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Myself and my wife have travelled fairly extensively and always ensure our reviews are fair. This is the first average review that Milele has received but hopefully the management will take this review in the context it is meant - it is not critism but more areas that can be improved.

The positives first:

- Accomodation is excellently maintained, the place is thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis, the gardens are also well maintained, the pool is cleaned daily.
- Food is excellent, the chef gives a varied menu and it is fresh and flavourfull
- Very peaceful and quiet, you are outside of the main resort areas but still have the beach and water on your doorstep
- Staff are all extremely friendly and courteous

Areas that could be improved on:

- The electricity was out more than it was on, they have a back up generator which they will run over meal times so it isnt a big deal other than at night when you can't use the ceiling fan to cool the bedroom. As it was very hot and humid when we were there we moved up stairs to an open air bed but if you are a big group using all the beds this wouldnt be available.
- The staff had little knowledge of activities on the island, you go to Zanzibar to relax so we were not planning on doing a lot but the staff were not able to give basic details of what activiites were on offer or details such as how long they would be, how much they would cost etc. We went down to the main beach at the neighbouring town and there are numerous companies running activities who were able to explain everything to us. To be fair when we came back to the villa and told the staff what we had decided to do they booked everything for us but the villa would benefit from someone putting together a list of the activities, prices and what you need to take with you (ie. if snorkelling is offered so take your swim stuff etc).
- The villa comes with a jeep which is available for the visitors to use. We wanted to visit stone town and the manager gave us the keys and said follow the signs! There were no maps or other directions other than the hotel name as to where we were to meet our tour guide in stone town. I know it is a small enough island but you can get easily lost. After some research on the internet it was widely advised that tourists do not drive in stone town as it is a bit crazy so we decided to get a taxi, this was the right choice as we would never have found our way around stone town, especially without a map. Again not a huge thing but if we had headed off in the jeep and not found the tour guide it would have been a waste of the day.
- There was a younger guy that took turns with the manager in being the host (they switched day by day) but his English wasn't great. I know we were in a foreign country so we shouldnt expect everyone to be fluent but it led to a number of frustrations when trying to organise things, times were mixed up, prices for activities were incorrect, evening food orders were a bit of a surprise. The manager has excellent English so this was not a problem when it was his day

Overall the property is nice and if you don't intend to leave it then you wouldn't really notice the majority of the improvements we have suggested above. It certainly is a beautiful place to stay but it is relatively new and it shows they still have a few things to put right.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Being there with a couple of friends, and we had the best holiday ever. What a wonderful place to stay, beautiful, quiet, and an amassing surrounding. I would visit it every year, if i could. The staff was amazing, friendly and part of our "family". The food was great and very tasteful.

Milele is located at a quite part of Zanzibar, but that and the marvelous views, make's it unique, no other hotels of loges! You have your own private beach where you can spend many hours swimming, walking, sailing and rowing without any interference. The villa is located also central to make day trips to the rest of the island or for a trip on the water.

Room Tip: The master-bedroom one the second floor is amazing, no windows but a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugeniekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had the most amazing stay, in the 2 Villa's on a beach were there was nothing more than the sea, the birds and a long beach: no other hotels/houses around : An incredible feeling of quietness! The staff was very friendly, cheerful and helpful. The local food cooked by a charming cook was fresh and tasteful. The huge master bed room is just amazing , overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julieverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a wonderful week in Milele with 12 friends, celebrating our 25 years of friendship. It was our fifth holiday together and we all agreed it was the best. Milele is located at a quite part of Zanzibar. The rooms are clean. The staff is friendly and makes you feel at home. Food is great. Best part of Milele is the location and the marvelous views. With its private beach we could spend many hours swimming, walking, sailing and rowing without any interference. It was very easy to arrange day trips to explore the island. Place I can recommend to anyone who looks for great views, trusty staff and lots of privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I loved this place so did everyone i went with. Its really great with friends to get away from the crazy buzz of city life. The staff was amazing not to mention the food...compliments to the chef!!
Definitely a place to be at....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
6.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
21.2 mi away
Chapwani Private Island
Chapwani Private Island
#117 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
94 reviews
15.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#4 of 19 in Nungwi
653 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
25.5 mi away
Milele Lodge
Milele Lodge
#4 of 8 in Michamvi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milele Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milele Villas

Address: Nungwi Rd | Fukuchani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: $661 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milele Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milele Villas Zanzibar is located directly at the secluded beach of Fukuchani on the northwest coast of Zanzibar. It is comprised of only two private beach villas with pool, Villa Lisa and Villa Tatu. Both of these villas can accommodate up to 20 people and provide its guests with a relaxed and extremely peaceful atmosphere in a breathtaking environment. There are no other hotels and accommodations around in the area and it is just perfect for a tranquil and private vacation in Zanzibar. The privacy of the resort of Milele Villas Zanzibar is suited ideally for families, honeymooners and for team building in groups up to 20 persons. The unique and separated location of the private villas enables a perfect place of absolute silence and privacy in Zanzibar. Due to our small size with only two villas we are able to provide great attention to a detailed and personalized service in a unique accommodation.Milele Villas Zanzibar is the first hotel on Zanzibar of its kind and stands out from all other Zanzibar villas! It is the first self-sufficient and environmentally friendly accommodation on the island! Electricity for our private villas is produced by solar panels and we collect rain water for using in our resort. Hot water is produced by solar heaters. Beside our eco-friendly concept we support the local community of Fukuchani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Milele Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing