We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back without a doubt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ngalawa Beach Village
Ranked #31 of 230 Zanzibar Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

14- 21 January 2014
I have thought long and hard about what to say regarding my experience at Ngalawa Beach Village and can truthfully state that it was the very best experience I have had in all my travel experiences and for this priceless memory there is no words to describe the bliss, but let me try some pointers:

We were originally booked in a Hotel on the north of the island, where you can spend ± 24/7 at the beach if this is all that you want to do during your trip to Zanzibar. Fortunately both me and my husband is somewhat of adventurers/explorers and 2 or 3 out of the 7 days in the sun was more than enough for us and for that purpose the beach at Ngalawa was perfect, safe (I want to stress the importance of the safety issue - swimming together without worrying about your stuff on the beach was a bonus for us coming from South Africa) and without anyone walking past trying to sell you something from their small mobile shop they carried with them.

Now for the "VALUE FOR MONEY" part: Our fully inclusive package, the 3 full day excursions together with all our beverages (and daily cocktails) was ± equal to the full package including the alcoholic beverage package that we would have received at the hotel on the North Coast. (The north coast excursion was one of the three excursions we had to experience the North first hand)

Then came the good food at Ngalawa - man alive this was to die for!!! JoAnne's special desert - "Joh-Joh-Joh..." you haven't tasted heaven if you have not tasted this!!! (I forget the name again - but would like to rename it to "a little taste of heaven" - JoAnne you should rename it!) Seafood platter yummy - and fish curry one can actually not single out dishes as all were great, I am still battling to get rid of those extra kilos around the waist that we picked up.

The best for last: You check in at Ngalawa as a stranger to both JoAnne and Sadru, but leave as Friends: They welcome you with open arms and let you feel right at home, amazed with their hospitality.

I turned 50 at Ngalawa and will never forget the best Birthday of a (half) century! Surprised and again amazed to the lengths that the whole Ngalawa village will go to, to make it special for me - a band and party on the deck was arranged and voila - festivities to the highest extend!!!

My advice to all reading this review is: Go and experience it for yourself!

Did I mention the friendly staff? - I end with a big thank you to each and every one of you that made our holiday unforgettable!

YOU ROCK!
Etienne and Nelda Rousseau

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nelda1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting in Stonetown, Zanzibar and last minute decided to take in the East Coast. Staff at the Pearl of Zanzibar hotel in Stonetown were able to set up private taxi and accommodation at Ngalawa Beach Village at an unbelievably reasonable price. It was only about a 45 minute ride from Stonetown. The place is exceptionally clean and very well maintained. The air conditioning and free wifi were great amenity, as most other beachfront properties we compared did not have them. Hosts Joanne and Sudra have thought of everything from fresh flowers on the bed to complimentary slippers & a sun hat for the beach. Meals were a very pleasant surprise, as you would see in a five star restaurant. My fiance and I have traveled the world, this place is definately not to be missed.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Kkig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Ngalawa for one night, beautiful place, well designed and so quiet and peaceful, the bar is located just above the water with amazing view of the bay, the restaurant offers unique and high end service, food is excellent !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Attention!!! You site is great, but customer service... not so good! I've tried to send you numerous emails to correct this false information: I noticed before the review was published, that the name of the hotel was wrong!

Still I havent heard back from you! So, PLEASE correct it quickly, honors to whom it belongs!

Ngalawa Beach Village:


If you are looking for a peaceful place, along with excellent food, this is your must-stop!

The operation is small, so you can really rest and relax here.The intimate atmosphere makes you feel right at home. Beach goes on for kilometers, there is a nice pool in the lush garden, spacious rooms are comfortable and clean, the stuff and service very good and food by far is the best I've enjoyed in any hotel in Zanzibar.

The only downside is, that after you have eaten here, you'll have to go to a gourmet-restaurant to get a similar experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Greetings from Zanzibar Michael p.

I see what has happened here...THE FIRST PART OF YOUR REVIEW IS FOR THE HOTEL NEIGHBOURINB US WHERE YOU STAYED !!!

I believe the only way to rectify this is to write to trip advisor and they will sort it out for you.

The review itself BELOW is about us at Ngalawa Neach Resort !!!

However...we are so happy you came up to our little hideaway for your meals and enjoyed our beautiful gardens and the pontilla !!

Thankyou very much for your kind words about our service , food and ambiance.
It was a pleasure to have met you !

You are most welcome to Ngalawa any time !

All the best

JoAnne and our entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were disappointed with our beach experience in Zanzibar. Traveling to the other side of the planet to discover that our hotel was located in a bay where the tide is huge was a real disappointment. As a consequence, there is actually no sea to bathe in most of the day. And even when the tide is high, the sea is very shallow and full of seaweeds, so bathing is not a pleasurable experience. If you want to relax by a turquoise blue sea, you either need to pay around a $100 for a one-day excursion… or just stay somewhere else!
The hotel itself is nice enough. The garden around the pool is very well taken care of and a relaxing place. Food at the restaurant is good. Rooms are OK if unremarkable. Bathrooms could use a renovation at this point.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Pierre L :

We have been thinking about you both , and hope you managed to get your beautiful hand carved Zanzibar chest back to New York undamaged !! I empathize , its a long journey home .

Please , on behalf of our staff ,Sadru and myself thank you for chosing us.
It was a short stay but after such a hectic safari relaxation was required it seemed , happy we could provide that for you !

1) you arrived , and included in your package was ..complimentary airport transfer and return...

2) full board , meaning breakfast , 3 course lunch , tea time , and 4 course dinner

3) Im not sure as to where you spent 100.00 U.S.D. on a taxi. Especially when the drivers we use charge 17.50 per person each way...so the total would have been 70.00 . For the entire day...they even stay so you can have a sundowner in town....long day .I do feel it is inaccurate imply " stay somewhere else" when most hotels are around the curcumfrance of the Island , and each hotel seems to vary in taxi charges .


4) The rooms....I think "unremarkable" may be your personal decor taste, which Im sure is outstanding. We are in Zanzibar so we do try to represent that. The rooms are 32 sq meters..extra large and airy. All the furniture is hand made by the local craftsmen. One piece at a time, the cushion covers all hand tailored by a woman we trained in the village to improve her earning power..she now has trained more people ,so there is a lovely chain reaction..plenty of space for luggage and 2 closets ,beautiful balcony with cushions on the chairs...massive Zanzibar beds with fine linens from Pakistan.... A day bed adorned with cushion for lazying around or reading a book.

5) ..The bathroom...I do daily inspections including during your stay, and im not sure where we missed a step...spotless, paint fresh , shower and tiles sparkling shiny..nothing broken....bidet great water pressure..huge mirrors .

6) Thank you for you keen eye regarding the pool and gardens...we have wonderful gardners all from the village .

7) yes the food, we have passed on your compliments to our executive chef Sunney and his team.


We hope you have incredible memories of your entire adventure in Africa , and thank you for making us a part of it !!

JoAnne and the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

An amazing hotel, if you are looking to relax and disconnect from all the stress, this is your hotel to spend your holidays... The owners are fantastic people ( Johana and Sadru ) they are take care for you at all time, the stuff is super nice and friendly.
If I am coming back to Zanzibar for sure I will go back to this hotel.

Pablo & Lorella

Stayed: January 2014
Thank pablo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Jambo jambo Janneke and Jacques !!!!

What can we say when the guests are as amazing, sweet and so excited about life !!!
You are missed .

What a pleasure it was to host you ...and to celebrate with you as well.
Canadian Lemon Meringue Pie martini will be forever in your memory!!

I must say you both enjoyed everything ,not only what Ngalawa Beach has to offer , but Im so thrilled to see how you embraced the village life and culture. The village residents love to share their stories, time, and are a very humble people..who can resist the babes???

Thank you as well for the daily praises for the staff . Your smile was contagious and they adored serving you both !!! they all felt you are family . It was so impressive to see you personally compliment the Chef and the rest of our "kids"

All the best , and we truly hope to see you again !

JoAnne, Sadru the team...and the girls :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Fabulous, and simply awesome that is how we experienced Jo-Ann and hubby Shadrew (excuse my spelling) hospitality and their friendly staff. Clean crisp linen, towels and the divine food!!! We will definitely return to this village. Our 8 day stay was to short. Everyday was a food experience. We have never experienced that the owners are humble enough to spend a few minutes with the guests. This simple gesture really makes you feel welcome and leaves you with a sense of belonging and they really take care of all their guests. The in prompto beach party at Lilly's bar with a Canadian lemon meringue pie cocktail and new found friends makes one want to stay longer and drink in the atmosphere. Then there is Sunny's delectable absolutely fabulous food. You are pampered!!. This is an absolute must, a golden star amongst the rest. Janneke and Jacques Botes

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janneke12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
4.0 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Moonshine Uroa Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
452 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
20.9 mi away
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Azanzi Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Matemwe
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngalawa Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngalawa Beach Village

Address: | Chwaka Bay East Coast, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: $160 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngalawa Beach Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngalawa Beach Village Resort is a very nice Resort of 20 suites all with sea view and beach. The resort is located on the east coast of Zanzibar and overlooks the picturesque Chwaka Bay. All suites have a stunning view of the Indian Ocean from private porch and are very tastefully decorated with an eye for local and cultural theme in mind. The landscaping is professionally designed and the Resort is well lit in the evenings. All suites have attached bathrooms,bathroom towels and pool towels, air condition unit, fan, a desk, a safety deposit box, a kettle for tea or coffee, a full size 6ft by 6ft bed, mosquito net, a mini bar fridge, a day bed, hair driers and two Zanzibari style chairs in the balcony with ocean view. The Resort has a strategically located Swimming Pool with a wrap around pool deck, made from the finest Tanga Stones. Overlooking the Indian Ocean, there is a private sunbathing area and there is a path that leads to “Lily’s Beach Bar” located on the Jetty. Bars & Restaurants The Dining room offers a friendly, casual atmosphere, good service and a fully equipped Bar. A very good selection of music to add to the ambiance. Occasional live performers. The main Dining Room also offers Special Menu for intimate private tables in a reserved area. Pool Side dining on special occasions. The Resort has a full service kitchen offering a la carte menu or buffets as planned by the Chef. The menu is prepared with fusion of spices, the cultural cuisines, and abundance of Sea Food in mind, also vegetarian or special requests. Fresh fruits in season and a variety of desserts. A visit to our Coconut Spa is a special time put aside for you to rejuvenate your senses. Choose from variety of massage products for your indulgence. Retreat to the cool shade of swaying palm trees or gently swing on the hammock with a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ngalawa Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngalawa Beach Village Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing