We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Awesome Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngalawa Beach Village
Ranked #33 of 198 Zanzibar Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Totally Awesome Resort!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our wonderful hosts Joanne and Sadru took us under their wing as soon as we arrived. Joanne was very helpful in telling us about the area and what to do. We just wanted to relax after having climbed Kilimanjaro. The location is perfect and right on the beach. There is also a pool where we just read and relaxed. The food was to die for. I am a vegetarian and they outdid themselves in the presentation and variety of dishes. I even had crepes and maple syrup! My favourite. Our suite was cosy and comfortable with all the comforts of home. Joanne was very helpful when we ran into some issues with our booking and let us use her ipad (free app) to phone and resolve the issue. The goats (Tallula & Lexi) were an added treat and entertained us throughout our stay.

Thank you Joanne & Sadru for the wonderful conversations and hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseVanBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    24
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
47
89
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt at home and were treated like family by our wonderful hosts Joanne and Sadru - something you're unlikely to receive at larger commercial resorts. We stayed for five nights and it was the perfect way to relax and unwind after our two week safari adventure on the mainland. Ngalawa Beach Resort is hidden away in a secure, quiet location on the East coast and that is part of its charm.

Rooms - we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the honeymoon suite, but all rooms were clean and spacious and decorated with local Zanzibar touches. Massive four poster bed, large bathroom, valuables safe, fridge plus little touches like having the room set up each night, fresh flowers each day etc, were great. Plus it was a nice change not having a TV in the room which we didn't miss at all.

Facilities - gorgeous manicured gardens, beautiful warm and clean swimming pool, great bar overlooking the beach and free WiFi internet for staying in touch with home.

Food - a different set menu every day but amazing meals! It was a delight sitting down for each meal - top restaurant quality food, great presentation, great variety and with a number of courses for breakfast, lunch and dinner we were certainly never hungry.

Activities - onsite activities are limited and the beach although peaceful and quiet isn't the greatest. However there is plenty to do throughout Zanzibar, and Joanne and Sadru will go out of their way to organise activities and personal transfers for you. Much to our surprise, our favourite activity was to the spice and fruit plantation, but we also did the Safari Blue snorkeling day trip and Stone Town tour.

All staff were very helpful and friendly - with special mention to Tallula and Lexi who were very entertaining!! ;)

Thanks for everything - we will definitely recommend to others and will hopefully be back ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

How do you combine quirky charm with resolute attention to detail? Joanne and Sadru Teja are among the few resort owners to know the secret. This is as well-run a home-away-from-home as anyone could make it. The setting is gorgeous and the food is absolutely fabulous, with a presentation to rival any top-notch restaurant in the so-called developed world.
What separates Ngalawa even farther from the crowd, however, is Joanne's ebullient charisma. From a genuinely warm welcome to a sincere goodbye hug, this expatriate Canadian knows how to engage guests, whether over lively conversation in the bar, the spontaneous offer of a free iPad phone link, or a playful romp in the gardens with her pet goats, she demonstrates total commitment to her guests and a genuine concern for the local area and its people.
Chwaka Bay might not be the perfect white-sands-for-ever stretch of coastline of tourist brochures, but the swimming pool is pleasant and there are plenty of interesting local walks. We were only able to stay for two nights but wished for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne T, Owner at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Habari yako J !!!

What can we say !! You and your travel companion made it so easy for us !
We truly appreciate such well travelled guests as yourselves , and your valued review ,as you see everything in mulit dimension.

Once again to have guests who have such a hunger and appreciation for culture and , shall I say African reality is pure joy for us .
As you experienced , we are very connected to our "children" the staff and I do puff up with pride as they really do their level best.

As for Tallula and Lexi...our Goats who think they are puppies...they loved the attention from you both !!

We would love to have the pleasure of hosting you again !!

Very sunny greetings from all of us at Ngalawa Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at Ngalawa after a few days on safari and it was the perfect place to unwind.

From the moment we arrived we we were made so welcome by Joanne and Sadru, they literally could not do enough for us (or their other guests). On arrival we found that we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite, a lovely surprise. The suite was gorgeous with a spacious double bedroom, bathroom and separate living room and a private sanded area with sunbeds and shades overlooking the beach, a perfect place to watch the sunrise.

The complex was beautiful, landscaped gardens, huge (warm!) pool, lots of trees to take refuge from the sun, a hammock to relax in and a quiet area for reading. There was a small spa on site which I visited for the best massage ever! Lily' s Beach Bar at the Pontilla was a great place to unwind with a drink or have a game of Bao with the barmen who are more than happy to teach the uniniated.

The food - what can I say? Simply the best food we have ever tasted anywhere! A good choice of breakfasts including fresh fruit, yoghurt, French toast, eggs, cereal, the list was endless. Lunch was 3 courses including a soup course and dinner 4 courses, also including soup. Not being a huge soup fan I was a bit worried about having it every day - BUT - in 7 days we never had the same soup twice and every one was better than the last. Every meal was outstanding, we had food we'd never tried before (the kingfish was superb) and old favourites with a new twist (best rice pudding ever). Joanne is a chef and supervised everything that goes on in the kitchen, she has put together a team of talented people who would not be out of place in a top restaurant. Special mention must go to Sunny, the chef, a very talented individual.

I had a birthday while at Ngalawa and it was certainly one of the most memorable I've had! Coming back from the spa I found that the cleaning staff had spelt out Happy Birthday in flowers on my bed! Then following dinner in the evening, the kitchen staff and waitresses brought out a cake, sang Happy Birthday to me then I was treated to a traditional dance by the Maasai, incredible!

I really cannot rate this place highly enough, everything about Ngalawa was brilliant -accommodation, food, surroundings, staff, I could go on and on. Well done JoAnne and Sadru for creating such a wonderful place, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula121065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very special place. Jo-anne and Sadru the owners make you feel as if you are a long time friend. The rooms are spacious, complete with bidet, safe, fridge, toiletries etc, etc. Jo-anne and her chef make sure that you have the most amazing meals. Every meal is an adventure! Staff are pleasant but not intrusive. If you want a break to recharge your batteries this is the place. Combine the stay with the last day at their guest house in Stone Town (Pearl of Zanzibar) and you have the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very well kept resort with a familiar atmosphere. Everything works and looks fine. Staff is working all time but never intruding.
The rooms are spacious, very well equipped with all you need: from slippers, umbrella, beach towel, mosquito net around the bed, anti mosquito spray, A/C, fridge, safety box, etc. etc. Absolutely clean. Bathroom with all equipment in good working order.
Free WiFi.
The kitchen earns special appreciation. Both owners have a background in restaurant business and the chef is outstanding. The 4 course lunches and dinners we got could proudly be served at any many-star restaurant in any country. Everything from serving, presentation to taste is high class.
The beach is maybe not the best because of the big difference between high and low tide on Zanzibar. Swimming in the ocean is only possible during high tide. But there is a nice pool in the park.
An afternoon coffee or drink at the bar above the ocean is relaxing.
I used to finish the day with a glass of wine (wine available for purchase) on my balcony under the stars while the masai guards were watching the premises.
Don't forget to visit the Chwaka village, some 15 min walk on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eraenfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ngalawa Beach Resort was recommended by our hotel in Stonetown and we are so glad they did.
Joanne and Sadru do everything right in this gorgeous resort. Their friendliness make you feel as if you are a long time friend, come to visit. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely. Large, Clean, bright and extremely comfortable. Local artisans have been utilised to create the stylish Zanzibari beach look.
Now to the meals.... simply fantastic. Breakfast options, 3 course lunch and 4 course dinner, not to mention afternoon tea - all included in the room rate. Sensational food - fresh & flavoursome. We found ourselves looking forward to each meal as it was a wonderful surprise. Some of the best tasting and beautifully presented meals I have eaten anywhere in the world. Very reasonably priced wines as well!
Chwaka Beach is tidal and at low tide you see the local villagers going about their lives right in front of you, as they have always done- collecting worms for bait, seaweed to sell, collecting all the bounties of the sea. You can walk down the beach to the local village , watch the fishing boats and dhows sail serenely past. At first I thought that I might miss being able to swim in the ocean and both high and low tide, then realised that watching people go about their business was far more interesting - after all there is a great pool on the grounds available regardless of the tide.
I cannot speak highly enough of this resort. If you want to really relax, really take the time to enjoy this slower pace, really want the best and freshest food, and really take the time to enjoy life - this is for you.

Thankyou Joanne and Sadru for a fantastic and memorable stay - you are the best hosts ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.0 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
6.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngalawa Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngalawa Beach Village

Property: Ngalawa Beach Village
Address: Chwaka Bay (East Coast) | Chwaka Bay, East Coast, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar Island
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngalawa Beach Village Resort is a very nice Resort of 20 suites all with sea view and beach. The resort is located on the east coast of Zanzibar and overlooks the picturesque Chwaka Bay. All suites have a stunning view of the Indian Ocean from private porch and are very tastefully decorated with an eye for local and cultural theme in mind. The landscaping is professionally designed and the Resort is well lit in the evenings. All suites have attached bathrooms,bathroom towels and pool towels, air condition unit, fan, a desk, a safety deposit box, a kettle for tea or coffee, a full size 6ft by 6ft bed, mosquito net, a mini bar fridge, a day bed, hair driers and two Zanzibari style chairs in the balcony with ocean view. The Resort has a strategically located Swimming Pool with a wrap around pool deck, made from the finest Tanga Stones. Overlooking the Indian Ocean, there is a private sunbathing area and there is a path that leads to "Lily's Beach Bar" located on the Jetty. Bars & Restaurants The Dining room offers a friendly, casual atmosphere, good service and a fully equipped Bar. A very good selection of music to add to the ambiance. Occasional live performers. The main Dining Room also offers Special Menu for intimate private tables in a reserved area. Pool Side dining on special occasions. The Resort has a full service kitchen offering a la carte menu or buffets as planned by the Chef. The menu is prepared with fusion of spices, the cultural cuisines, and abundance of Sea Food in mind, also vegetarian or special requests. Fresh fruits in season and a variety of desserts. A visit to our Coconut Spa is a special time put aside for you to rejuvenate your senses. Choose from variety of massage products for your indulgence. Retreat to the cool shade of swaying palm trees or gently swing on the hammock with a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ngalawa Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngalawa Beach Village Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing