We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ngalawa Beach Village
Ranked #33 of 210 Zanzibar Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very relaxing, clean and friendly hotel. Owner managers live on site, which is a good sign. Staff where helpful. The food was fantastic and very creative, the chef was very happy to try to please everyone. The hotel's garden is stunning and very well cared for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyYorkshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    25
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
48
91
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at the resort after a 3 week safari through Africa. The ideal place to unwind and relax before returning home.

The room was clean and comfortable, everything worked as expected. The staff were attentive and very friendly. Food was excellent and varied, the menu changed every day and meals were very generous and innovative.

Location is secluded and away from the traffic and chaos of Zanzibar town and Stonetown which can be reached in a 40 min drive if you need to see the sights.

Recommended for a quiet getaway, and ideal to finish off a trip to East Africa. Flight from Dar es Saalam is only 25 mins.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hosts of this small resort will leave you with a vacation to remember. Beautifully situated and carefully planned, thought has gone into making every detail of your visit just perfect. Its only a short walk up to the village, by beach, but it feels like you are miles away from the world. The menus are five-star, with fresh seafood and exquisite home-made desserts, without being too much. Owners and staff alike are friendly and welcoming. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank country30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at Ngalawa beach village over the holiday weekend. The place is very quaint and secluded. The beach stretch is really quiet and one feels that they are on their own. The resort is managed by a Canadian couple, who take keen personal interest in ensuring that the guests are taken care of. The service and warmth with which hospitality is extended, is remarkable. The building is a cluster of rooms with nice views of the lush tropical garden and poolside, with a backdrop of the bay. Its a single storey structure and gives a very intimate feel. Whilst the place is lovely, the real deal is the fantastic food and beverage. Every meal is an epicurean delight. The flavours are subtle and the presentation is delightful. In depth thought has been given to the customer demographics, prior to a menu being finalized. Be it lunch or dinner, the food and the experience was fabulous. The chef has been trained well and the owners take special interest. Joann who is the owners wife, is a highly trained chef. Her knowledge of global cuisine is reflected in the food. The bar is also lovely. Its on a jetty and has sweeping views of the Chwaka bay. The local fishing village is not very far either. They also have a treatment room with a lovely view of the bay. Massages are available and are very nice and extremely reasonably priced. All in all, its a perfect getaway from city life. Lovely pool, great food, personalized service, comfortable rooms and quite cut off from everything. Its a change from the all inclusive established resorts and has a very boutique home stay feel to it. A very premium one at that. I would highely recommend Ngalawa beach. Its one of a kind!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddharth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days off on a working trip to Dar es Salaam. A friend recommended it.
It is quiet, with a beautiful view. The owners Joanne and Sadru gave us an excellent welcome. We ate well. Staff are friendly and helpful.
The food is REALLY good.
Rooms perfectly clean, very comfortable, nice big bed with a pretty, designer mosquito net. Excellent shower. Hot water. Electricity always worked. Good WIFI signal in the bar/restaurant.
You can get a massage in a hut looking out on the sea.
We mostly wanted quiet time and we hung out at the pool. It was perfect.
Not too quiet though. On our last night, a Friday night they arranged a cool party and there was a local band playing. It was a lot of fun, dancing in the bar, again with a splendid sea view.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddybone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The proprietors were amazing, very friendly. The resort itself is not very big (which I thought was a plus) but does have access to a great beach that is very quite. The food was fantastic and the staff were all very friendly. There is lots of opportunity to check out all the sites on Zanzibar or just hang out on the beach and enjoy the sun. The proprietors accomodate the needs of all the guests and tried to tailor the experience they offered to everyone. Next time I'm in Zanzibar I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I had to go to Dar es Salaam on business and decided to extend the trip for a couple of days to go and relax a little bit on Zanzibar. I was looking for something that was close enought the (only) airport, but also far enough away not to interfere with any of my relaxing time. A friend recommended Ngalawa and I booked for my 3 days, 2 nights. It was more than I expected!

The resort is small and feels very exclusive - I was personally welcomed by the husband/wife owner of Ngalawa. The rooms satisfied your every need and was extremely comfortable. I especially loved the fresh hibiscus on the bed every morning and the fact that when you returned after dinner your bed and mosquito net was prepared - you didn't even have to waste time thinking about it yourself!

Each meal was an experience - STUNNING presentation and amazing fusion of flavours! Absolutely yummy desserts and freshly squeezed juices available throughout each meal. The serving staff were always available without being annoying and it almost felt sometimes like they knew what you wanted before you did. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

The spa is built to overlook the ocean with a big window facing the beach. When you lie on the massage table it is the most spectacular view and experience! Definitely to be recommended. The deck with the beach bar is also built to overlook the beach and during high tide the water is actually underneath the deck so you are "sitting" on top of the ocean with the relaxing sound of the waves underneath you.

I went for early morning walks along the beach and watched the local fisherman brining in their catches. The beach is very serene and not commercial at all - which I absolutely loved. I also had a good laugh at the monkeys that provided entertainment in the coconut trees. After my walks I would go dive into the pool at Ngalawa for a refreshing swim before I went to go get ready for breakfast.

All in all it was the most relaxed I have ever been on holiday and that I think was due to the overall relaxed feel of Ngalawa. Everyone was efficient at doing what needed to be done, friendly and helpful with any queries. The owners were very friendly and they made you feel at home which cannot be said of a lot of hotels/resorts etc. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
4.0 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Ngalawa Lodge
Ngalawa Lodge
#142 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
93 reviews
20.9 mi away
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Azanzi Beach Hotel
#3 of 18 in Matemwe
333 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradise beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngalawa Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngalawa Beach Village

Property: Ngalawa Beach Village
Address: | Chwaka Bay East Coast, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Zanzibar Island
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngalawa Beach Village Resort is a very nice Resort of 20 suites all with sea view and beach. The resort is located on the east coast of Zanzibar and overlooks the picturesque Chwaka Bay. All suites have a stunning view of the Indian Ocean from private porch and are very tastefully decorated with an eye for local and cultural theme in mind. The landscaping is professionally designed and the Resort is well lit in the evenings. All suites have attached bathrooms,bathroom towels and pool towels, air condition unit, fan, a desk, a safety deposit box, a kettle for tea or coffee, a full size 6ft by 6ft bed, mosquito net, a mini bar fridge, a day bed, hair driers and two Zanzibari style chairs in the balcony with ocean view. The Resort has a strategically located Swimming Pool with a wrap around pool deck, made from the finest Tanga Stones. Overlooking the Indian Ocean, there is a private sunbathing area and there is a path that leads to "Lily's Beach Bar" located on the Jetty. Bars & Restaurants The Dining room offers a friendly, casual atmosphere, good service and a fully equipped Bar. A very good selection of music to add to the ambiance. Occasional live performers. The main Dining Room also offers Special Menu for intimate private tables in a reserved area. Pool Side dining on special occasions. The Resort has a full service kitchen offering a la carte menu or buffets as planned by the Chef. The menu is prepared with fusion of spices, the cultural cuisines, and abundance of Sea Food in mind, also vegetarian or special requests. Fresh fruits in season and a variety of desserts. A visit to our Coconut Spa is a special time put aside for you to rejuvenate your senses. Choose from variety of massage products for your indulgence. Retreat to the cool shade of swaying palm trees or gently swing on the hammock with a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ngalawa Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngalawa Beach Village Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing