We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great fun”
Review of Safari Blue Tour

Safari Blue Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A full day excursion in the Menai Bay Conservation Area on traditional hand-built dhows. With guided snorkelling, dhow and ngalawa sailing, swimming in a lagoon, delicious seafood buffet lunch, tropical fruit tasting and much more.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, great fun”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We did this trip as part of our honeymoon and were pleasantly pleased at the cost. As part of a large group on several dhows we had a great day and met some lovely people. Snorkelling at the sandbank and the seafood lunch were definitely highlights. I would highly recommend this all-day trip. Only word of warning is be aware that if the sea is rough the itinerary will change - we were only able to do one snorkelling trip. The trip from the small island back to Zanzibar under sail was brilliant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at Safari Blue Tour, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for the review and i am pleased that you met some friendly people on your safari blue trip. We find this often happens. The weather conditions are not always ideal but we do try our best to offer all the activities if we can and as you say, our guests and we have to be flexible, as we always pay attention to safety first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    200
    75
    32
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice snorkeling, but bad equipment”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

had to try a number of masks until found one that was not leaking - and they did not warn us about stinging plankton in the water either. music at lunch time was more of a nuisance than entertainment as it would just not stop

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank UteBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at Safari Blue Tour, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
I must apologise for the fact that you had a problem with our snorkelling equipment. i can assure you that we have some brand new equipment and it is all in good working order. i am not sure why you had difficulty finding equipment that suited you and did not leak. Most of our clients really enjoy the local musical entertainment which we sometimes bring along - sorry that it was not to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable trip”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We did plenty research before booking the trip with Safari Blue and we were not disappointed. We planned the trip after 5 days at the Double Tree Hilton resort in Nungwi. We booked out and were picked up by the Safari Blue transport to Fumba at 8am. All the staff were outstanding..from the shuttle driver who was so informative during the drive from Nungwi, on arrival at Fumba beach we were fitted with the correct size flippers and divided into groups for the different boats. At all times we were informed where we going and what the plans were. We all thought the length of time spent in the water snorkeling was quite sufficient. The seafood lunch was great and really enjoyed the fruit tasting dessert. After the trip our shuttle was waiting for us with our luggage and drove us to our hotel in Stonetown! Were very relieved not to have to travel back to Nungwi after a pleasant but tiring day on the water! Definitely recommend this excursion! Well done Safari Blue and your excellent friendly and accommodating staff!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank erleenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at Safari Blue Tour, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for your positive and complimentary review. i appreciate your comments about the information given by the staff and their friendliness. I am glad that Safari Blue helped to make your holiday a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Vendrell, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A different day!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you love the sea and the animals you could spend a really good day in the Safri Blue! It was amazing for us!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best excursion in Zanzibar”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Glad we did the safari blue trip. The people who enjoyed to snorkel loved the wonderful sea life. Enjoyed the stop at the sand bank. We were fortunate to see several dolphins. The lunch with lobster was very good. We also got to see the giant boabab tree. The round trip by bus was a bit tiring taking around 3 hours from our hotel in Nungwi. All in all a lovely day in nature.

Helpful?
Thank Hctal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Blue Tour also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Safari Blue Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing