We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out snorkelling :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari Blue Tour

Safari Blue Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A full day excursion in the Menai Bay Conservation Area on traditional hand-built dhows. With guided snorkelling, dhow and ngalawa sailing, swimming in a lagoon, delicious seafood buffet lunch, tropical fruit tasting and much more.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out snorkelling :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went on the safari blue tour - guides excellent - top notch swimming and snorkelling on the reef- really good water visibility - guides extremely helpful, patient and pleasant even to ocean novices - lunch seafood BBQ was terrific with lobster, fish, calamari and chicken followed by a fruit extravaganza. Ride home via sail power - priceless :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ismail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at Safari Blue Tour, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review and positive comments Ismail. A great synopsis of the days activities and what we are trying to achieve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    190
    67
    32
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well looked after, great excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Safari Blue is a boat trip - great for snorkellers. There is a good combination of relaxing and doing things and you are looked after well, with drinks and snacks constantly flowing. Lunch is an experience too, a full-on seafood BBQ following by a tour of unusual fruit for dessert (literally you are given a piece at a time so you can explore new foods).

We snorkelled, explored, ate, was entertained, saw some dolphins and sailed back home. It was blissful and lovely.

Small gripe - boat could have been slightly more comfortable with some pillows to lay-on perhaps?

Also be prepared to wade through water up to your middle, regardless of if you plan to swim or not.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at Safari Blue Tour, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am so glad you found safari blue "blissful". I take your point about cushions on the boats but these don't work as they slip off the benches and are potentially dangerous. I agree that they day is a good combination of relaxing and being active. Exactly what we aim to achieve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Eleanor kindly arranged a lift for us from Stone Town in her supply truck - whizzing through Zanzibar on a truck full of coconuts was an exhilarating start to a wonderful day! The staff were professional and kind, giving us a snorkelling lesson in a beautiful mangrove lagoon before taking us out to the open ocean. Snorkelling over those exquisite coral reefs, seeing huge and colourful fish, ranks as one of the best experiences of my life. One of my friends was not a confident swimmer, and the guide Khamisi equipped him with a lifejacket to enable him to enjoy snorkelling along with the rest of us. Another friend became seasick on the dhow, and was looked after very well by the staff - we're very grateful. Later we landed on an idyllic sandbank, for a seafood barbecue which surpassed all expectations. Finally, after coffee and Amarula, the dhow sail was unfurled and the wind took us back to the mainland - fulfilling a dream of one member of our group, who had longed to travel in a real dhow. Thank you, Safari Blue!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank restlessvolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at Safari Blue Tour, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Happy that we fulfilled one dream! Thanks for your lovely comments about the staff being professional and kind. Welcome back restless volunteer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wow wow wow! The most amazing views, activities and food all in one day of fun :-) This is an absolute must do when you are in Zanzibar!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank morrieforrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great way to spend a day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Started slow, Tanzanian pace, but authentic dhows and clear blue seas with snorkelling and white sand beaches remind you to enjoy every minute.
Grilled seafood lunch with local fruits were better than expected

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Blue Tour also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to Safari Blue Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing