We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful place, nice holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mchanga Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mchanga Beach Resort
Ranked #107 of 171 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
München
1 review
“Beautiful place, nice holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was there for 2 weeks with my wife to honeymoon. We had a sea-side-view lodge which was on one hand lovely furnished and gave as on the other hand a nice view through swinging palms to the sea. We also enjoyed starting our day with a cup of early morning tea (and cookie) in front of the lodge to proceed then -barefoot walking through the smooth sand which is all around the place- to the restaurant to have breakfast. Lunch and dinner were in a positive way very special to us because the food they served there tastes so different but very very good. We are so happy that we didn´t miss to snorkel to experience how beautiful the sea around Zanzbar is. All in all a very nice place to be with friendly stuff and with Gloria and Thomas two owners who also have a lot of different idears how to experience Zanzibar in different ways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    24
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
85
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Mchanga Beach Lodge is a wonderful place for relaxing. We came from safari and we felt like in paradise. Gloria and Thomas are very hospitable and helpful if you need further information about Sansibar. All rooms are lodges. We had a sea view lodge, with a beautiful view to the sea.
The rooms are equipped with love to detail. We had booked half board, which includes breakfast al a carte and three courses menu at the evening. The food was incredibly delicious and fresh! The staff was very friendly and courteous, which is not common anywhere in Africa. We could recommend the Mchanga Beach Lodge to 100%.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

As I´ve been at Mchangabeachlodge 3 years ago I was very excited to show my husband this piece of paradise! White sand beach, healthy and delicious Swaheli Cuisine, lovely rooms and the most friendly service I remember - what else can you dream of in your holiday??
I enjoyed two very relaxing spa treatments. Perfect for the skin after a day on the beach! Where else on earth can you go for a walk on a white beach whitout meeting any other tourists? Incredible, romantic atmosphere!
At Mchanga Beach the traditional swaheli style fits perfectly with the comfort you wish in your holiday!Just to name one loving detail: the early morning tea served with delicious selfmade cardamon cookies!
Gloria and Thomas know a lot about Zanzibar and Africa and can give useful tips! So we saw the markets in Stonetown and went on a sailing trip with snorkling in the north of the island.

All in all we had a unforgettable, romantic and relaxing time! For sure not the last visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

As a family we really enjoyed our 6 night stay at Mchanga Beach Lodge. Our rooms looked out onto the sea and it was heaven waking up to the sound of the palm trees and the sea. The staff were all excellent and made sure at all times we had what we needed. It is a great place to unwind, get peace and quiet and enjoy the sun. The food was good and it was nice being able to eat when you wanted. Gloria and Thomas were both very thoughtful and took the time to get to know each of their guests. Great place for families with older children.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everything is going on the best possible and natural way for the client. Top service, top food, top quietness. Top staff, top owners.
The beautiful sand on the private beach as well as the pool are a good spot after days of safari.
Go there.
Bénédicte and François Rojas

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmotte102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A truely lovely place to stay set in gorgeous surroundings and a good location. The rooms are sufficient and very comfortable, although can get a little hot at night.
The grounds are lovely and in keeping with the setting.
The staff and owners a very nice, helpful and obliging.
Food was great, although not many options, and by the end of the stay I was desperate for anything but eggs for breakfast! Alcohol is a little pricey though....
The beach was stunning and pool lovely for when the tide was out, and there are other options for dinner / lunch by walking along the beach.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are right at the front, so have unobscured views of the beach, a definitely plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barley81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We wanted a warm, relaxing beach holiday and we got one. Easily the best we have been on. The lodge is right on a beach of soft white coral sand, fringed by palm trees. The rooms combine simplicity with good taste and comfort. The sea is clean and warm to swim in at high tide and the swimming pool is right outside the rooms.

We spent most of our seven days swimming, reading, eating fabulous meals and wondering how we would be able to leave. One day we took a trip from a nearby dive centre out to the reef for snorkelling and watching dolphins - easily arranged from the lodge.

The site has been cleverly designed to give the feeling that it is miles from anywhere and the nearby village never intruded. In fact, it was an asset to be able to watch local fishermen and seaweed collectors at work out on the reef. Local people are friendly and there is absolutely no hassle.

Gloria and Thomas are perfect hosts and the staff are friendly and efficient. Great chef!

I thoroughly recommend this lodge and would love to go back.

Room Tip: We had a beach view room, which really did have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menelik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#3 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
0.0 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#14 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
0.0 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mchanga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mchanga Beach Resort

Property: Mchanga Beach Resort
Address: Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibu, Close your eyes, imagine silence interrupted only by the sea and the sound of coconut trees, white sandy beach and peace...welcome to Mchanga of Zanzibar. We are located 40 minutes from Stone Town on the north east of the island between the Matemwe and Pwani Mchangani villages where there is no presence of large hospitality establishments. Mchanga in swahili means sand, therefore our paths, the floor of our restaurant and bar is made with the same white sand of the beach....at your arrival you will be asked to remove your shoes and wear them again only at your departure. Our only purpouse is to make you feel comfortable and pamper you with the luxury of simplicity. Recharge your batteries by enjoying the tranquility of our location, the food of our restaurant, the selection of our cocktails and an extensive menu of treatments and massages. Every boungalow has been decorated with local patterns and motives made by locals; satellite tv, A/C, comfortable beds and all the amenities to make your stay even more enjoyable. We do provide a number of services such as private transportation from and to the airport, excursions to the various points of interest of the island...everything to make your stay hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Mchanga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mchanga Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing