We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mchanga Beach Resort
Ranked #107 of 172 Hotels in Zanzibar Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Mchanga Beach Lodge for a total of 15 days. It is a beautiful location with powder-soft white sand. On arrival it does feel like you have arrived at an exotic island! It was very enjoyable, the staff was very friendly and accommodating with all our various requests. A Special thanks to Kain, James, Rose and Jennifer! However there is a few areas for improvements. The beach strip gets quite dirty after high tide, with several clothing item washed out. The seaweed growth has rather taken over. The beach boys (vendors) becomes a real pain. I think for guests staying more than 7 days, the food gets very boring and repetitive. Not having any bacon or meat at breakfast was a killer! The liquor prices were exorbitant, as their wines come from South Africa but has a mark-up of more than 600%! As South Africans we felt this was daylight robbery. Their prices are most definitely set for their USA and Europe guests. Paying full board we sort of expected to have soft drinks as part of the package. The aircons are not efficients for the bigger rooms (room 1) and they should have an extractor fan in the shower / basin area, as this gets unbearably hot and humid. Also the twin-bedded rooms (10 & 11) have no shelve space and are situated right next to the aircons and staff quarters which makes it extremely noisy. My grown up children found it difficult to sleep with all the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have the best view. The older rooms (10 & 11) too noisy, but aircon works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrueSouthAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 170 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

After our first trip to Mchanga Beach Lodge in 2009 we spent another holiday here
from Nov. 11 to Nov. 19, 2012. During both of our visits we enjoyed every day at this phantastic and clean place,
and their high standard of services has even been improved since our first visit.
Guests are now provided with free and fast internet access.
Moreover, we enjoyed a relaxing professional massage at the newly built Spa.
Another highlight was and still is the delicious food they
are serving at the cosy restaurant, and the entire staff was always very friendly and helpful.
All of them seem to be well trained by the owners Gloria and Thomas who are also personally looking after their guests.
Our room was very clean and nicely decorated and it was a real pleasure to stay
at Mchanga Beach Lodge again. Many thanks to all staff members. We will not fail to recommend this lodge wherever possible.
It is our firm intention to visit this beautiful place a third time in due course.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uwe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after a two week safari in Kenya and Tanzania. If you want quiet, pure relaxation, isolated beach, good food, excellent service, comfortable rooms with air conditioning then this is the place for you. Rooms 1 or 2 have the best ocean views but all are fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geosand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

What more could you want? Gracious and attentive hosts; white sand beach on the Indian Ocean; delectable food beautifully presented; well-appointed and serene bungalows; friendly staff who work hard to make your stay enjoyable in every way. Mchanga was the perfect ending to our family reunion post-safari. It is in a peaceful secure spot amidst fishing villages, seaside homes, and a more boisterous resort. If you want access to nightlife, go elsewhere. The genius and the charm of Mchanga is the chance to settle into a beautiful day, every day, without a responsibility or care or distraction in the world. P.S. The very gentle and attentive spa services definitely helped with that relaxation!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms ate wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyRod_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night as we were enroute to another lodge, but we would have stayed longer. Perfect for a 'get away from it all' break. Yes it is remote & quite a distance from the other hotels, but that's what some people want. The service was friendly as were the owners. As vegetarians, we found the food to be fantastic, delicately spiced and unlike other beach lodges - they offered a vegetarian starter & a main course.

Room Tip: Lodge number 2 has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelvisithome2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had 5 nights here, parents with 2 teenage daughters. A quiet and small development to get away from it all and relax completely. Beautiful scenery - palm trees, bougainvillea around the traditional palm thatched lodges, all very restful with great attention to detail. Very friendly staff and food pretty good too. Beach right in front is sandy and swimming is good. On half board, you will find that the bar bill for daytime food will be a bit steep, in dollars and western prices.

Room Tip: Some rooms are set back from the sea view a little but all the settings are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemarkets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent the first few day of our honeymoon here and it was excellent. The food and staff were really good. Sand like powder and a very relaxed feel. It has everything you need without being over the top. I would recommend Mchanga Beach Lodge to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was on the left hand side if you are facing the water. It was spacious and cheaper than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
464 reviews
3.5 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
84 reviews
9.8 mi away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#3 of 6 in Pongwe
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
13.3 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
138 reviews
11.3 mi away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in Pongwe
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mchanga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mchanga Beach Resort

Address: Between Pwani Mchangani and Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Zanzibar Island
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Zanzibar Island
Price Range: $44 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karibu, Close your eyes, imagine silence interrupted only by the sea and the sound of coconut trees, white sandy beach and peace...welcome to Mchanga of Zanzibar. We are located 40 minutes from Stone Town on the north east of the island between the Matemwe and Pwani Mchangani villages where there is no presence of large hospitality establishments. Mchanga in swahili means sand, therefore our paths, the floor of our restaurant and bar is made with the same white sand of the beach....at your arrival you will be asked to remove your shoes and wear them again only at your departure. Our only purpouse is to make you feel comfortable and pamper you with the luxury of simplicity. Recharge your batteries by enjoying the tranquility of our location, the food of our restaurant, the selection of our cocktails and an extensive menu of treatments and massages. Every boungalow has been decorated with local patterns and motives made by locals; satellite tv, A/C, comfortable beds and all the amenities to make your stay even more enjoyable. We do provide a number of services such as private transportation from and to the airport, excursions to the various points of interest of the island...everything to make your stay hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mchanga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mchanga Beach Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing