We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cape Peninsula National Park
Post
Inbox
Search
  
Ways to Experience Cape Point Nature Reserve
from $147.94
More Info
from $211.72
More Info
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
10
11
2
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
11
2
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape point entrance fee walked down beautiful place south africa lighthouse baboons flora world number steps reach bays tip diversity rocks land
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 29 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2019

It’s ZAR76 for locals to enter and ZAR303 for tourists - that’s 4 times more expensive for the people who are bring SA much needed income.
I lived in South Africa for a number of years and feel ashamed of this outrageous gouging of tourists. Stop it.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Airportroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed a whole afternoon there but could easily have spent the whole day exploring the area. Nature is awesome and the flora beautiful even in the winter, we would have liked more time for hiking in the Park. There is so much more than the point - although that was awesome. We found several ostriches, and other animals that had evaded our safari.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Traveler22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019 via mobile

Most people complain about the entry fee, South Africans pay about R220 less than people from outside the country are expected to pay, this I believe is a way to promote tourism amongst us, its sad to have all these beautiful places in your backyard but haven’t visited them due to high prices, I think R78 is a fair amount. I cannot comment about the R300+ tourists pay.

The drive is long and feels like you driving to the end of the world. We opted to walk to the lighthouse instead of paying another R80 for the cable car. It was a manageable walk.

You do get to experience all the beauty of the place without having to go all the way up to the lighthouse, so if your knees are complaining, obey them, you won’t miss anything by not going all the way up. You will thank me later

The cape of good-hope was a more exciting experience even though there isn’t much to do there as well.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Tsatsawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

The view was amazing, truly is. But at some point it was not worth the money for tourists especially when you even have to pay more to get on a short cable car for the lighthouse.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Nly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Visiting the Cape Point Nature Reserve was an unforgettable for my partner and I. Absolutely stunning views and what a thrill to climb and reach the high points of the mountain. Would more than recommend.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank mrsbhengu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews