We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, Romantic”
Review of Clifftop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clifftop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our visit was from 09-12/08/2012 Lovely setting, amazing staff. Enjoyed the different settings for each dinner especially the wine cellar setting. The privacy of the suites are very good - unfortunately it was a bit cold to use our private pool on the deck or our outside shower. The views from the lodge are fantastic. The food was execellent but too much! Gerda enjoyed her spa treatments in the privacy of our suite while I could sip on a beer taking in the great view from our deck. Thank you Jan & Gerda.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanWolmarans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have been wanting to visit Clifftop for a looonnngg time and eventually my husband and I stayed there recently. It was really amazing, there is absolutely nothing i could say that we experienced that was less than EXTRAODINARY !
From the time we were collected by the gate by our amazing ranger, Odette, to the time we left, it was really a great experience.
The staff work extremely well as a team and it shows! management, ranger, hotel staff, everyone. They are there when you need something, yet they are not to be seen if you want a quiet moment to enjoy the most amazing view of this beautiful reserve.

The food was really great and more enough of it as well. Snacks if you dont want a meal as you were fend more than enough as it is, breakfasts, lunches and of course the extra special set ups we were given on both nights of our stay.

The room was amazing ! we were spoilt and upgraded to the honeymoon suite and wow ! I loved everything, the quietness, the decor and wow, the view !! The doors open onto a patio with a private plunge pool and if you stand on the edge of the patio, you are right in the reserve. The lodge is not fenced off from the reserve - you are literally right in the reserve and all its amazing animals ! Quiet exciting !

The game drives were really awesome. Odette really loves what she does and we experienced everything first hand. It wasnt the usual 2 hour game drive you normally get - we were really taken from point A to B to see animals.

The lodge is absolutely perfectly situated on the side of one of the mountains and you overlook the sterkstroom river. We were very lucky on arrival there was an elephant walking and grazing in his own time along the river bed for the afternoon.

The reserve is absolutely beautiful - the mountains, rivers and open plains all together makes this reserve something special ! Its beautiful and also majestic, really really something i havent experienced before !!

Overall, there is nothing bad to say about the lodge, the staff, the food,the reserve NOTHING !
We were treated with care, a genuine smile ! It makes such a difference !
It was a special getaway for us as we celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary and my hubby's 30th birthday and they made every second special for us, no doubt !

This lodge is very intimate and you are very secluded but to enjoy and experience, peace, quiet, relaxation and romance - you wont find any better place than this !

I would like to thank all you guys from the bottom of my heart for the amazing experience - Sue, Odette, Ursula, Advice, Joseph and all the staff that we didnt get to meet that work behind the scenes. You guys do well and work extremely well as a team ! The service was really something.
Thank you ! We hope to visit you again very soon !

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite - i didnt see the other rooms but this was just an amazing experience for us !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Situated at the top of a ravine overlooking a river, Clifftop is the perfect venue for a romantic breakaway. My husband and I spent two nights at Clifftop and absolutely loved it. The rooms are very private and set up for romance - with private decks, plunge pools and enormous baths. We didn't get to use the plunge pool but it looked fantastic. In the very cold weather, two of our game drives were quite flat but our second morning drive was amazing - the ranger's knowledge of the animals added even more value to the experience. Each night the staff set up private, romantic dining rooms for us - once in the wine cellar and once next to a roaring fire. All in all, very romantic, enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

To anyone who whishes to experience the ultimate Game Lodge Experience ,there is only one place to go to and that is the Cliftop Lodge in the Welgevonden Game Reserve. We spent 3 fantastic days in the company of exceptional staff , execellent food and experienced ultimate luxury . From the first reception on arrival to the amazing rooms ( we stayed in room 1) to the long very entertaining drives with our host "Mr Sivet Sebastian" who's passion for the environment and the animals in it rubs of on you instantaniously and lots of laughs. The time and effort the staff go to make each dinner time experience exceptional in a different venue each night was very unexpected but so appreciated our extra special thanks. To Ursulla , Sebastian and our butler that looked after us we Thank you for everything , we will definitally be back..for more

Room Tip: The signs on the high way are the new names for the areas for example" Modimole" once you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark and Dee T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Ok so some people on here don't rate this get a life your in the jungle. Our stay was five of us and it was amazing from the moment we walked in to wine and hot face towels every time we came off the drive was a amazing...Urusla was fab every time we went and came back she was there along with Joseph and a number of others. Our rooms were beautiful and I was lucky enough on a few occasions to have an elephant out side my room. Where do I start with the game drive Sebastian was also amazing every drive we went on his eyes were like the cats he found everything knowledgeable
and also fun. Thank you so much everyone for an amazing time... Xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Thanks to Sue, Sebastian and team at Clifftop, wonderful staff, great venue, excellent food and very accommodating to guest special needs. The rooms are fantastic and well thought out, you can congregate in the comfortable lodge or chill in your room with equal comfort. Game viewing was excellent and our ranger, Sebastian was patient and diligent in finding the best game for us to view. A highly recommended experience.

Room Tip: All wonderful and discreet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I spent weekend of 27 - 29 at Clifftop. Gorgeous setting, tranquil environment. But definately not five start. Well received, friendly hostess Sue and butler. Room not well cleaned (grime on floor), heater/airconditioner not working (meant six knocks on the door from the same poeple trying to sort problem - neva solved (heater necessity in the bush middle of winter). Food very poor - breakfast served cold on both day we were there. Staff not trained on personal boundaries and tended to overshare and be over friendly. Slippers not provided as standard - had to request. Take own robe is you are larger than UK14 - its a small lodge and they could keep one or two extra robes that are size UK16 - spending a weekend away at 5* with half fitting robe did not meet standards of the place. Game drive was enjoyable - rather too long (left 715am and returned for breakfast at 11:20 am with a muffin in between). Our game ranger was new so depth of knowledge very limited. No big five experince during our stay.

Positives - we had dinner first night in the wine cellar - lovely setting but food did disappoint (no creativity and starter of seafood platter tasted more like tinned mussels), 2nd night we were offered dinner set up in our own room - nice touch to it. And well appreciated. Room had amazing views and own plunge pool.

Place has potential but not yet there. Review is based on having paid nearly 45% less on standard price (paid R6200 for two nights as couple). Could not justify the reduced price based on experience. Hope the management can look at ways to offer better food, more clean rooms with crisp white towels (towels looked and felt old).

Sue the hostess is friendly and helpful. Butler was equally lovely.

Room Tip: We were offered the honeymoon suite which was nicely decorated, private and well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yonititi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWalker71, Director of Sales at Clifftop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway would like to advise that we have addressed all the areas of concern raised in your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns with Clifftop Exclusive Safari Hideaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
21.4 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
394 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
162 reviews
3.8 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
193 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#6 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
98 reviews
9.1 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifftop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifftop Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Game Reserve | East Gate Entrance, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: $474 - $764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clifftop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifftop Exclusive Safari Lodge is an exquisite bushveld hideaway, a unique resort, where service is understood and luxury is elegantly understated. The setting is breath taking and provides a beautiful African backdrop for a world of easy going elegance.All 8 suites have a private deck with plunge pool,thatched sala and indoor and outdoor lounges. The en-suite bathrooms have both indoor and outdoor showers, separate bath and bath consumables. The suites are non-smoking and have air conditioning, direct dial telephones, hairdryers, hotel stationery, mini bars, room safes, electric blankets and tea/coffee making facilities. Private Wine Cellar dinners are available by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in the 36000ha malaria-free Welgevonden Game Reserve in the Waterberg Mountains, offering the Big 5. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per night.Halaal, Kosher and any other special meal requirements are catered for by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clifftop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifftop Hotel Vaalwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing