We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamour in the bush”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makweti Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Makweti is a very special lodge because of the attention to detail and care that owners Dawn and Alan and their team have for the lodge and for making every visitor's stay top notch. The safaris are magical for several reasons: the guides are enthusiastic, knowledgeable, fun and make guests feel safe; the reserve is large and the number of guests sparse which creates a very intimate game watching experience; the terrain is gorgeous and worthy of photo-ops itself; and the range of wildlife that is around every bend makes birdwatchers, plant lovers and animal afficionados alike swoon.

Guests can determine their own schedules each day for a real sense of leisure time mixed with exciting outings. Meals are not to be missed! The gourmet dishes are straight out of a world class metropolitan fine dining hub and the table settings each night are unique and stylish. We were thrilled each morning to hear our choices for dinner while going over our day's activities. One lunch was particularly memorable - an al fresco meal under a large fig tree in a nearby field with baboons, rhino and other wildlife in the distance, and bento boxes beautifully wrapped for each of us to enjoy before hopping back into the vehicles for our afternoon game drive.

Dawn's warmth of character radiates throughout the lodge. It is apparent in her hand-picked choices of jewelry and sundries in the gift shop; the Africology toiletries in each room; the luxurious hot water bottles and covers that warm the foot of the bed while guests are at dinner; the books and decor in the main lodge and bar area; and the joy on the faces of every member of the Makweti staff.

A trip to Makweti is not to be missed. I have been on safaris in East Africa and other countries in Southern Africa and this was the most personalized and elegant experience of them all. Game sightings are some of the best on the continent, too, with all big 5 inside the reserve.

We recommend Makweti to all of our family and friends and will be back ourselves!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtneyS200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 166 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved everything about Makweti from the moment we were picked up at the gates of the game reserve to our farewell by the staff that had become our friends. The huts are beautiful, we were lucky enough to have a pool wih ours, and the furnishings and toiletries are authentic and high quality. Every meal is 3 courses and everyday we didn't think they could top the day before but they managed to. The same can be said about the safaris-we saw all the big 5 and some of the experiences and photos we got were out of this world. It was a really nice touch sharing meals and stories with the staff and other guests.I cannot fault anything about this lodge, it was the experience of a life time that I know I will do again. I highly recommend it to everyone and want to extend my thanks to Jacques and the team for providing us with memories that we will cheirsh forever.

Room Tip: Any hut you get will be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My mother and I had a wonderful time in this lodge. It was her very time on safari in Africa and I will have a hard time convincing her it isn't always this great! We loved the rooms that were absotulely beautiful, comfortable and spacious. Yes, it does get hot during the day and there is no airconditionning, but at night the temperature drops enough to cool down the room. We loved the fact the lodge is not fenced so animals can roam freely in the area. An elephant paid us a daliy visit and even showed up at our balcony on the last day of our stay. Zebras, impalas and warthogs also visited the waterhole in front of the lodge. The food was superb, not inly the taste but also the presentation of it on the beautifully decorated tables. We loved the fact that the locations where we would have dinner also rotated throughout the lodge.

Our guide Johan really did a tremendous job tracking down the animals. We followed the tracks of a leopard for miles and miles for about an hour (I really thought this was going to be a waste of time), but our patience was rewarded with the sight of this rarely seen animal laying down in the grass about a not even a meter away from our jeep.

The rest of the staff in the lodge is also very friendly an welcoming: there's absolutely no remark to be made at all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvioflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Jacque and mareza were incredible hosts. Nothing was too much for them! We spent two nights in this surreal environment amongst wild animals, in absolute luxury. You get the great experience of a safari in a personal manner. The lodge only has 5 rooms, meaning there is alot of personal attention. We had a room with a plunge pool, giving us all the amenities to enjoy privately. We had a beautiful dinner on our deck alone, listening to animals roam the grounds around. Food was rich and my wife's only complaint was no fresh juice. Overall a perfect way to do a safari in luxury and style. We did 4 drives and on all we saw lots of animals, unfortunately we missed on the seeing few of the big 5, but it didn't matter. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobyJh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We were headed to Kruger when a friend recommended Makweti. We decided to take the chance and boy did we find a hidden gem. The park is stunning and around every turn there is a new animal or a totally different topography. Our guide Jaques was top notch and tracks everything. Also...this park is a self contained ecosystem...that means no animals are fed.
Our lodge was great for the bush, the food and staff was very, very good. We didn't have air conditioning in our room, not sure if others do. Having said that, the rooms were very luxurious, especially for the bush. We will surely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthurAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Wonderful stay at makweti. Staff very friendly. Super ranger who kept on going to find the animals you want to. No remarks. Food was very good, of course not superiour. For a lodge in the bush more then acceptable. Good winelist.

Room Tip: all room are the same, 3 ( of 5) have a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We have just returned from our holidays in South Africa and Mauritius and our 3 night stay at Makweti was a major highlight of our trip. In terms of the safari we saw a pride of lions, a cheetah, elephants, giraffes, zeebras, warthogs and more. The guides were knowledgeable and good fun too. We loved the special touches like the hot water bottles and blankets in the safari jeep for the early morning game drive, and the High tea or drinks you were offered on the afternoon drive.

In terms of the accommodation, the lodge (number 2) was comfortable, clean and spacious. Again it was the extras that made it. There was a log fire burning in the room when you got back from the afternoon drive and hot water bottles in the bed! Blissful! The food was outstanding too. You were offered coffee and home made muffins before the early morning drive, then returned at around 10.30/ 11am for a brunch of yoghurt and fruit, nuts and cereals, a selection of cold meats and cheeses and a selection of hot food such as bacon, sausages etc. In the evening there was a choice of two main meals and they were great when it came to special dietary requirements.

All in all, it was an amazing experience which we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaylovers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
7 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 2 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
201 reviews
18.3 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
424 reviews
5 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
125 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#4 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makweti Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makweti Safari Lodge

Address: Makweti Safari Lodge, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: $816 - $1,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makweti Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and luxurious, Makweti has five stone and thatch suites some with private plunge pools. Fine dining and an extensive selection of wines are available. Evenings may bring elephant, lion, rhino and other game right to your doorstep at the waterhole. Safaris in this big 5 area are conducted in open safari vehicles with expert guides. The camp is unfenced, therefore expect the unexpected! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makweti Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makweti Safari Hotel Welgevonden Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing