We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
138
22
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
22
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshour drive from joburgspent nightsranger guidetop classcomfortable roomsmemorable staythe main housesouthern africamade us feelpure blissevery mealhis knowledgeattention to detailour honeymoongreat sightingswonderful experiencesafari experience
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 162 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Loved this lodge!
Easy 3 hour drive from Joburg. All our transfers were handled smoothly from airport to coordination to the lodge from the west gate.
Our room was amazing!! Loved the huge deck overlooking the bush. And the lovely bathroom, bathtub and the fireplace.
Bed was heavenly.
Game viewing was superb. Thanks Jonathan!. We saw Elephants, Girafe, Lion, Zebra,Warthog, Wilderbeast and many more. We went out at 6.30am for 3 hours in the morning and 3.30pm for 3 hours in the evening all included in the price.
The food was excellent!! Soups, salad, Steaks, creme caramel ..perfectly thought out and nicely cooked.Thanks Miriam!
Drinks onsite were very reasonable and good selection.
The lodge was so tranquil!
Very luxurious without being pompous.
Exceptionally clean. Lovely staff.
I cannot recommend enough!
They cannot do enough to ensure you have an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROTOVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

We stayes in July for 3 days at the Nungubane Lodge and had a wonderful time. The lodge was perfectly equppied and had everything provided you can think of. The room was really comfortable and perfect for our honeymoon. Our Driver for the game drives was a perfect gudie. The staff was lovely and the Food absolutly amazing. We wished we had stayed longer.
We saw a lot of animals and they made us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

Great host - sophisticated/great food - lovely service - knowledgeable top ranger - attention to detail - best sightings in a long time - beautiful pool area with view on waterhole. Diverse nature reserve !

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Nungubane. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent! And very tasty. We were very fortunate and got to see the Big 5! The highlights being the lion, leopard and elephant sightings! The lodge and chalets are top class and very comfortable. Each chalet has its own deck looking out into the bush. We liked the fire places! The lodge has a swimming pool for summer relaxation. Nungubane is great value for money. Welgevonden is a hidden gem that must be explored!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank GR_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

This was a very laid-back, quiet place with only a few guests; ideal for the end of our three-week journey in southern Africa. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable, the food very good, the rooms wonderful and the game drives were quite good. We even spotted a aardwolf and some bush pigs which are apparently quite rare in this location. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews