We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful bush break - Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend”
Review of Jamila Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jamila Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Awesome, fantastic, Wonderful - We spent two nights in the company of Simon and Olivia and their staff at Jamila - what a lovely experience! It just so happened that we had the lodge and it's staff all to ourselves, which at first we thought might be somewhat irritating having doting hosts and staff in our faces....well it was not like that at all, yes they they were there on demand but left us to our own devices. The chef and guide were on leave at the time too, so these shoes were filled by Petrus and Simon as our rangers and Olivia as our chef - these guys are were amazing. Petrus and Simon were very knowledgeable about the bush and it's various residents - we even spotted Cheetah and her cubs, Rhino, Buffalo, Elephant great game viewing was had twice a day. The food was good too, Olivia outdid herself and pleased our tummy's with her creations. Great people, great lodge - we arrived as guests and left as friends!

The rooms were absolutely gorgeous, clean and neat, we stayed in Leopard with the best view of the lodge's water hole. The bed was a pleasure to sleep in, I wish there was more time to do just that. The rooms had everything one would need, from soap to good wine - fantastic!

All in all this lodge is great value for such an awesome experience - we loved it, so will you!

Room Tip: I think they are all great - just enjoy being there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent three wonderful days and nights at Jamila Game lodge during April 2013. The warm reception by Simon, Olivia, Justinus and staff gave an early indication of what to expect going forward. Just pure casual enjoyable relaxation. The service was non intrusive and consequently not disturbing. You are left in peace to relax and use the facilities to your own devices. For instance the bar was run on an honesty basis, the coffee machine was always there to use at your own convenience. Breakfast was sumptious with lovely fresh fruits,cereals and Olivia would prepare whatever cooked items you requested. Lunches were a pleasant suprise. We had a braaivleis one evening in the Boma which was a treat and a jovial social event. Dont expect an a la carte menu - it is not possible in a boutique bush lodge but do expect good well prepared and presented meals.
The highligt of the visit for us was the game drives with Justinus Mothabela. His knowledge of the wildlife including the Small Five, the Big Five and the Flora was most informative. His stories of African folklore and his own personal encounters were most entertaining. A more personable and informed guide you could not wish to meet. He knows just where to stop for early morning coffee to take in the sunrise or to have sundowners and snacks when the sun sets. Welgevonden has all the game that a tourist could wish to view.
The only issue we had was with the unbrella on the pooldeck but Simon arrived in quick time to get it sorted.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cheeta Lodge which had a lovely view over the water hole and beyond into the bushve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spent one night here attention to detail it was just a marvellous experience thanks to a great Lodge Manager Lourens and all his staff. If the owners of the Lodge read this review then rest assured Your Lodge is in more than capable good hands. I must return!!! We had dinner in the Boma it was just fantastic Lourens was present again and made the evening perfect.

Room Tip: There are only 5 lodges and we all have personal preferences but you would not be dissappointed whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenscliffe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went to Jamila for a friends 40th in May 2012.
The staff were fabulous and food really great for the price. Rooms well appointed and beds luxuriously comfortable. Great pillows and duvaes.
The Waterburg is truly stunning and the lodge went to great lengths to make all of us feel welcome and well fed.
Our trip was wonderful in every sense, and although the guide wasn't as well informed as some, he tried hard and found the game with fabulous sightings of lion and even a family of meerkats amongst many others.
In fact, most of the time those that stayed behind at the lodge saw more game at the waterhole right in front, than on the drives!! Great place and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: All the girls said their rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieMack21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 2 fantastic nights at Jamila. Very professional and personal lodge with attention to detail. We stayed in the massive Elephant suite which has an outdoor shower, private jacuzzi and a fireplace in the bedroom, very romantic and private. We had great game drives with Petrus who really went out his way to give us the best shots possible. The food was amazing! Great lodge, great value for money and highly recommended. Thanks Jamila for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Spent the weekend of 21 July 2012. What a awesome experience.From the parking the car at the west gate. Being met by guide "Justinas" and arriving at the lodge with a welcome drink and cool towel. We had a little car trouble on the way and the "lodge manager" Louren's informed us of a workshop nearby and he would organise to get it repaired and we must relax,unwind and enjoy our stay.Well what a stay it was. from the superb "lion Suite" with outdoor shower for the adventurous and the jacuzzi for late night drink's with a "vista" and clear skies to die for. A truly memorable experience. Food and drink is in abundance, from light lunch's, romantic and/or boma dinner's( the choice is your's) to sumptious breakfast's after your morning "game drive. Be careful or you will pile the kilo's..As a previous reviewer stated the game drive's morning and evening are a great experience with Justina's at the wheel. We saw Lion, Elephant, giraffe, Rhino,and the usual game but the elusive leopard outwitted us.The large gin and tonic's with snack's at sundowner time overlooking the bush was a wonderful way to end a a special anniversary.On the Saturday morning Louren's organised a " walk" with game ranger's "Kobus " and Andre" what a great way to see Welgevonden and understand what they are doing their to keep this place so special. We were informed that they can organise a star gazing evening with telescope's but you need to book in advance. Something to do on our next visit. The staff are all friendly and never intrusive but seem to be there when you need a refill or filling the "rusk and sweetie" jar's......We spend quite a few weekends a year at Kruger Park . But we certainly will be visiting Jamila again in the very near future.Well done to Louren's and your team there.
Room tip , Lion Lodge is superb with magnificent vista views.

Room Tip: Lion lodge with private deck Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmanJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Me and my wife stayed for 2days in February 2012. If you want to see the true "bosveld" (bushveld), then this is the area. Due to it's location, with many bushy thicket and mountainence terrain, it's not prime game viewing location like the Kruger, but it does feel more pesonal and special when you see this piece of heaven. Justinus, our game ranger had 7years knowledge of the area, and we had informative trips between the big 5&larger mammals, with smaller fauna and flora also. Lourens, our host at the lodge was friendly, always helpfull and he and his staff, made each meal special and different. Accomodation is tops, with your own jacuzzi on the pourch overlooking a waterhole infront of the lodge. We saw many animals, but leopard dung was the closest we got to this majestic animal. Highlights was the mock charges we had from the elephant herd (on youtube), and cheetah we had against our landcruiser. Two.points of concern, Welgevonden website staids that hippo can be seen, when in fact they are on another private lodge's dam, and owner is being spiteful, by declining or simply ignoring request by all other lodges for access to see them. The lodge is waiting approval to built shaded parking at the gates, so if other carports are taken, your vehicle will stand in the sun. Otherwise, for the price, and I have searched, you will not find better 4star bush lodge big 5 game viewing safari trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dirk_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
2.1 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 2 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
200 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Fifty Seven Waterberg
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
154 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 41 in Vaalwater
462 reviews
9.4 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#4 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamila Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamila Game Lodge

Address: Site 59 | Welgevonden Game Reserve, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: $497 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jamila Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamila, meaning "a place of beauty," is a spectacular game lodge situated in the northern part of the malaria-free Welgevonden Private Game Reserve, a pristine wilderness area which includes the Big Five! Surrounded by the Ancient Waterberg Mountains, abundant wildlife and unspoiled African bush, Jamila Lodge offers guests an intimate and relaxed safari experience. With five beautifully appointed chalets, the lodge can accommodate a maximum of 10 guests at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jamila Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing