We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

After a warm welcome we went on a 'first safari' between the entrance and our Lodges. We were very lucky to see a lot of animals en some close encounters from the start on. Our stay was very nice as we were with a group of 7 persons. The whole lodge was ours and that was a unique opportunity. The main house was amazing with a nice pool with a view on the surrounding nature, a cosy fireplace, nice fridge facilities and a good cooking team.
Our lodges were nicely equiped as we didn't have any lacks. The rooms are luxurious, big enough and provided with WiFi!
The guide took time to seek for the animals, stood in contact with other guides and gave us a lot of information about the fauna and flora.
We would definitely recommend this to everyone who would like to live relaxed in nature, see some close encounters and have a nice experience together.

Room Tip: The room near the little waterfall is a realy nice and relaxing place with a very nice few!! It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ThibaultDeJaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin W, General Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2015

Thank you for the great feedback on Molenvliet Lodge.

We are grateful that we were a part of your trip to South Africa.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a Lodge. I took people from Belgium there, and on our way to the lodge we came across our first surprise....about 20 elephants. We also saw a new born baby elephant and Rhino and other animals and birds that you don't normally see at Game Farms. We were lucky enough to see a Cheetah Kill
The lodge itself is 5* and the staff is well trained. I will go back for sure because it is only 2 hrs drive from Gauteng with the Big 5 on your doorstep

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanXt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin W, General Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review us and sorry for the late reply!

We value your feedback and support to our establishment. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are not into bush-buffets with sad salads or group hysteria at a leopard sighting or sharing your lounge with ill-behaved tourists, this is the place to go. The Lodge has 5 cottages, thus allowing no more than 10 guests- perfect for an intimate gathering. It seems to cater for sportsmen's tastes and physiques- the lodge appears to have been built for Goliath. The expansive furniture invite nesting, not Sandton-perching. The decor is a great relief- no frivolous african beads or other artefacts in sight.
The manager Simon is a Harvard archetype for humble leadership. His staff adore him, which translates into attentive and creative service. The chef still has a heavy hand on the spices, but that is a matter of personal preference- he made delightfully unsalted meals for my daughter plagued by food intolerancies.
The game was typical for a dry winter, with even birdlife having migrated to sunny shores. even so, we had a spectacular incident with two juvenile bulls storming our vehicle- and hitting gold. Simon was as cool as a cucumber right through and kept us all safe, albeit with pounding hearts.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical, which prevents decor-envy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quintin W, General Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2015

Dear Andrea,

Firstly I must apologise for the very late response to your review, but thank you very much for such a well written and positive review on Molenvliet Lodge. The team are very proud of their work and your review put a proud smile on Simon's face.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Within two days these people succeeded in completely relaxing us, something which a three week holiday can hardly accomplish.
They really understand the definition of hospitality and truly practice what they preach. The game drives are intimate, you get to experience the wild and spend time with the animals like nowhere else. Furthermore the skilled game ranger made the game drives interactive and interesting, if you don’t like animals it is still worth going on the game dives just for the snack and drinks during the drives and warm towel afterwards. It is safe to say that each gourmet meal we had was the best of the particular meal we ever had. All the meals are skilfully prepared, well-presented and the personal interaction added the finishing touch. The staff along with the breath-taking setting and luxurious lodge left us quite emotional on departure. We would encourage each and all to go for experience and return a part of the MolenVliet family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the fourth time we have been to MolenVliet. We loved every moment of the trip. Private game drives with Simon as your own designated ranger make sure you get to see as much as possible. We were lucky enough to see lots of wildlife including. We loved the sundowners in the middle of the bush watching the sun set! MolenVliet was truly amazing. The suite is enormous with a very comfortable king size bed. The food was great and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. This lodge is great for a large family or a group of friends who could take up all 5 of the rooms available. It would make the whole experience very intimate. We had a wonderful stay.
They also serve a very special red wine and olive oil.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 367MaritaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The lodges are clean and all really tastefully furnished, very quiet and perfectly clean.
We have been lucky enough to see the big five, due to our fantastic ranger Simon...the staff was amazing and was always helpful ...reading our wishes from our lips - with a smile. We had really fantastic days with our friends.... very nice tribal dancing!!! in the evening in the boma...
Lunch in the middle of the bush :)..excellent cooking by Morgan!...We have traveled to over 60 countries and found this place very special, heartwarming and relaxing. We will definitely come back to this place.
Thank you very much to our hosts, Eric and Jenny and all the caring staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, named after animals and decorated accordingly. We have stayed in ZEBRA..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingeborg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spend a weekend at Molenvliet lodge to celebrate my dad's 60th. Coming from Europe Molenvliet offered us perfect relaxation in the instant that we arrived. We loved the game drives and seeing the big five, we enjoyed the very clean and luxurious lodge and the delicious food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMSE_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
0.9 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 2 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
201 reviews
13.3 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
424 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
166 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sediba Private Game Lodge
Sediba Private Game Lodge
#11 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty Seven Waterberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty Seven Waterberg

Address: Site 57, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0043, South Africa (Formerly MolenVliet Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: $478 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fifty Seven Waterberg 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated three hours north of Johannesburg lies Fifty Seven Waterberg, a gem nestled in the heart of the Welgevonden Game Reserve and home to the Big Five in a malaria-free area. The Waterberg Biosphere Reserve was declared an official UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2001. This magnificent five-star establishment is synonymous with tranquility, solitude and luxury; not to mention the surroundings of the breath taking panoramic views of the Waterberg mountains. Guests can unwind next to the infinity pool that overlooks a shallow valley and mountain stream that flows to a waterhole. The five spacious suites are placed strategically along the small hill to provide maximum privacy and intimacy. All are equipped with king-sized beds, fireplace and relaxing private deck where you can unwind while listening to the birds sing. The honeymoon suites have their own private Jacuzzi for the ultimate distressing pleasure or sipping on a glass of sparkling wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fifty Seven Waterberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing