We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great service”
Review of Tshwene Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tshwene Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Pro's:
Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful view, amazing (and LOTS of) food, great rooms with beautiful views and spacious bathrooms. The staff really were wonderful and ensure all our needs were catered for.

Con's':
We went for an anniversary and didn't get much alone time. As there are few guests, we all eat together at the table and go on game drives together. There are only about 3 hours between breakfast and lunch to relax by the pool, unless you opt to skip a game drive. We were just very happy to have an amazing group of people there with us and it ended up feeling a bit more like a weekend away with friends than a romantic weekend away.
It is a big 5 reserve and we had some great sightings, but due to the mountainous area, there aren't as many open planes and there are not many big herds of animals. We ended up driving quite far between sightings most of the time.

Room Tip: The rooms are really spaced out so it doesn't really matter. However, if you don't want to w...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Ashley S

Thank you very much for the comprehensive feedback both constructive and positive. We honestly appreciate all feedback.

It's always great to hear how friendly and helpful the staff are as they form the backbone of any lodge and they truly are an asset. We value their contribution enormously.

With regards to the cons you pointed out, I was disappointed to hear that you were not offered a private dinner or at least a dinner separate to the other guests. I will take this up with management. I do know that it's not always a possibility but in your case it should have been offered seeing as you were celebrating your anniversary.

We are busy looking at altering the daily routine in order to give the guests more time to relax between drives and your response highlights the fact that this needs to be looked at more seriously.

In Welgevoden we are fortunate to have a wide cross section of plains species and they are quite abundant. I am not sure what the circumstances were that you didn't get to see them in numbers but hopefully on your next visit will have the opportunity to experience this.

Thank you once again for your feedback.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Tshwene Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

First time to the Welgevonden Game Reserve and stayed at Tshwene Lodge. Arrived at Main gate and Ephraim our Ranger was already there with some snacks and cold beverages to welcome us - great after the two hour drive from Gauteng. Tshwene lodge arrival greeted by the small staff who worked together like clock work to make our stay most enjoyable. Tshwene is a small luxury lodge where you can really just chill out or take the game drives excellently done by the ranger Ephraim. Pool deck and outdoor showers is nice in the hot climate. As it caters largely for overseas visitors the focus is understandably on the big five - don't expect much if you are into birding. There are lots of birds though if you look out for them on your own. We added 4 new species (lifers) to our existing list of some 350 species. All in all a great experience and highly recommended. The birthday cake surprise for one of our party who had a birthday on Sunday was really a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dietvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Dietvb

Many thanks for your feedback. We were obviously very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Ephraim and the staff are really great and we receive numerous compliments from guests. It's always reassuring to know that our guests are being well looked after.

We really do cater for both local and international guests and we find that both are interested in seeing the big five. Obviously some are more interested in others. Be that as it may, it should have been picked up that you were interested in birds. I know what it's like as I myself am a very keen birder. I find what works is that if I tell a guide I am interested in birds it normally does the trick. Some guides need more reminding than others. I will mention this to Ephraim.

I'm glad you enjoyed the cake and hopefully we'll see you back at Tshwene Lodge to experience the birding we have on offer.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thanks to all the Staff and Agents at Tshwene lodge for an absolutely amazing weekend away in Welgevonden Game Reserve. The Chefs meals were an absolute treat after some exciting game drives and the rangers knowledge of the reserve and wildlife were exceptional. Every effort was made to ensure our stay was restful, romantic and comfortable. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swanny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Swanny81


Many thanks for your feedback. My apologies that I am only responding now but we have had endless uphill with the Tshwene account on Tripadvisor and have not been able to respond to the guests' posts. It finally seems to be sorted out.

We always love hearing about guests' stay at the lodge and how well they were looked after. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an excellent bush experince for the traveller who doesn't fancy the 5-6hr drive up to Kruger from Jhb/Pta. This was 2 and a half hours from Joburg by car - and another 45 mins from the main gate to the lodge on the big land rover. A decent drive, not too long. The lodge is well situated deep within the reserve and has 5 rooms overlooking a valley ( from our room we saw baboon and kudu). A beautiful structure perched in the trees, the main lodge is certainly luxurious, and the rooms were stunning. We had four staff on hand - the ladies in the kitchen helped us at meal times (we all took turns to cook). The game drives, early morning and late evening, were fantastic , mainly thanks to our eagle-eyed ranger, Ephraim (hope I spelt that right) who was excellent. This man was a machine - who can spot lions in the long grass from a moving vehicle over 700m away? The game reserve is over 35000 hectares, so we had plenty of alternative game drive routes to keep us entertained, and we saw 4 of the big 5 (tracked a leopard for 2 hours but missed him) and we had the fortune to spot a cheetah chase down an impala.
The whole experience was superb, and i would recommend the Waterberg - this was my first trip there. One thng to note - a parks fee of R75 per person per day is collected at the main gate when you leave, so make sure you've been to the ATM before you get there.
Finally, you'll have no cellphone signal there, you will really be out there in the bush - but isn't that the whole point?

Room Tip: They're all good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jozicelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Jozicelt

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are always appreciative of the fact that guests take the time to post feedback.

Well you certainly saw some fantastic game. It's not often you will see a kill and I know of many friends and family who have yet to experience this. Welgevonden seldom disappoints in the game viewing department and your experience is testimony to this.

Needless to say, the staff make or break a lodge and we are in the fortunate position where we have excellent staff members. By the way, you did spell Ephraim correctly. He really is a star.

I was interested in your comment regarding the gate fees and have brought this up with Welgevonden Management. The gate fees should ONLY be collected at the lodge on departure and not at the gate. Thank you for alerting us to this.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at Tshwene in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful lodge! The staff was excellent! The lodge very cosy and tastefully furnished. The cook spoilt us with wonderful dishes. Cara was a very experienced game ranger that took very good care of all our needs.
I really can recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Soulmam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont magnifiques
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Afritrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RareEarthZA, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
0.6 mi away
Ekuthuleni Lodge
Ekuthuleni Lodge
#8 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
63 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Jamila Game Lodge cc
Jamila Game Lodge cc
#7 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
106 reviews
7.1 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
190 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tshwene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshwene Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: $414 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshwene Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tshwene Lodge is a secluded oasis of romantic suites perched along the rugged valley of the Taaibos River. It offers peace and tranquillity for those seeking to get away from it all. The five strategically positioned suites all offer privacy amongst a canopy of trees while affording intimate views of the valley below and the hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, South African Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tshwene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing